![]() |
Pacers-Hawks
There was interesting foul situation during tonight's Pacers-Hawks game. From the Associated Press: "...D.J. Augustin, who had 10 points, drove to the basket and the officials spend eight minutes reviewing the play to determine that Horford committed a flagrant foul on the play and Augustin was called for a technical."
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/eSTtT81jK3A?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> Essentially, DJ drove to the rim, elbowed his defender (offensive foul), and then got hammered by Horford. The end result was ATL shooting 1 technical free-throw, the Pacers shooting 2 for the shooting foul, and getting the ball. All in all, a very weird situation. Anyone have any idea why it was penalized this way? |
They didn't call D.J. for an offensive foul.
They called Hordford for the flagrant foul penalty one...as such, they went to replay. After review, they saw the elbow by D.J. Agustin and assessed a technical foul against him. As such, they shoot the T for the technical foul, then shoot the two free throws for the flagrant foul penalty one...and the Pacers retain possession of the ball and have a throw-in at the free throw line extended with a fresh 24. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Under NBA rules, when reviewing a flagrant foul they may review any unsportsmanlike acts that occur immediately prior to and after the call. |
Quote:
Random mechanics question not worthy of a new thread: in the NBA and some NCAA games I have noticed the new Trail (after a made FG) point to the middle of the court. Why do they do this? Are they signalling two (or three) points? Are they signalling the new direction? |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
And at least in the NBA, you'll see that used as that's that official's particular mechanic for chopping time in...it's not needed unless the clock is stopped (say after a made shot inside of two minutes of the 4th quarter). Also, you'll see it used more in NCAA-M when after a close play and it's a kind of "play-on" signal. |
I reread your post...yes, you can call an offensive foul on any foul called on the offense that is neither a flagrant/punching/unsporting foul....I never said you couldn't.
My only point initially was that the call on the floor never included calling DJ Augustin for an offensive foul. You would have seen the lead come out and punch it (and pretty emphatically might I add). |
Quote:
When I saw the play in real time, it looked like a flagrant all the way, and looked as though Horford got accidentally hit in the pubic region. I did not think that a tech was warranted for the elbow, but I realize now that they can penalize that. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08pm. |