The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 268
We all agreed last night on the fact that poor commnuication led to this mess in the first place.

But to play along, what if you did slip up once and let 6 on the court when you handed the ball...would you T for 6? We were kind of split as a group on what we would do. Us candy-asses said we wouldn't T because it was our fault for letting 6 on the floor. The hard asses said T because the book says so.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 01:10pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by egj13 View Post
We all agreed last night on the fact that poor commnuication led to this mess in the first place.

But to play along, what if you did slip up once and let 6 on the court when you handed the ball...would you T for 6? We were kind of split as a group on what we would do. Us candy-asses said we wouldn't T because it was our fault for letting 6 on the floor. The hard asses said T because the book says so.
I've done two different things that I can remember:

- issue the T (I dislike this because I check 99.99% of the time, and the 0.01% of the time that I don't check is when there are 6 on the court)

- kill the play just as the thrower-in has the ball given to them, or as they quickly pass it, as I claim that I hadn't yet given my ready to go signal


Ultimately, the coach is responsible for providing only 5 players. By rule, it's a T. But preventative officiating does say we should have a strong method of preventing this from happening.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Preventive officiating is to count the players, and all of us should, but it's still up to team to be within the rules.

If the ball hadn't been release for a shot, then the basket would not count by T's whistle, otherwise it would. Give the team a technical foul, and then play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by egj13 View Post
But to play along, what if you did slip up once and let 6 on the court when you handed the ball...would you T for 6?
I'm assuming you included the margin in the game for a reason, and for that reason, I'm letting it slide.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 05, 2013, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Had a situation similar to this the other night; on a dead ball my parter calls for subs with no whistle (and no horn from the table), I put the ball in play since I didn't realize this was going on as the 6th player was running off the floor. Partner and I whistle at the same time, I was just going to readminister the inbounds since it was on the opposite endline, but partner whistles them for a T. I quickly confer with him and we call coaches together and agree that it was our mistake, so no T. Everyone was happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1