The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What do you have? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93883-what-do-you-have.html)

egj13 Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:45pm

What do you have?
 
So we had our study club last night and a few interesting game moments were brought up and interested to see how people on here would handle them. Here is the first one (I'll put the second in another thread because they are longish)

4th Quarter, Team A up 7 with 5+ to go. A1 drives to the basket, is fouled by B1 shot does not go in. Official goes to the table to report foul and is notified that it is B1's 5th foul. He turns to coach, informs him that it is the 5th, turns to tell B1 who is walking to the bench but B1 proceeds to rip his shirt out of his shorts and throw his hands up. Official whacks him. Coach asks for an explanation for the T (calmly) so the official walks over to discuss with coach and B1. C and L look over and see the talk going on and start administering free throws. A1 hits first two and then hits both for the T...4 for 4. T finishes explaining, turns to beckon in the sub for B1 and realizes that the shots were administered with only 4 B players on the court.

So the question from our district administrator is two fold. First, do you wipe the 4 throws and re-do or just leave them and play on. Second, is the T on B1 counted as an indirect to the HC of team B. I'll let you know what the crew did in a little bit but want to see all of your responses first.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:49pm

Play on. Depends on the specific timing of "telling the coach" vs. "earning the T"

egj13 Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 877137)
Play on. Depends on the specific timing of "telling the coach" vs. "earning the T"

He informed the coach first, then turned to tell the player who objected and earned the T.

johnny d Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:53pm

count the free throws. indirect to head coach. player became bench personal as soon as the head coach was informed the player had fouled out.

rockyroad Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 877140)
count the free throws. indirect to head coach. player became bench personal as soon as the head coach was informed the player had fouled out.

Agreed.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 877134)
So we had our study club last night and a few interesting game moments were brought up and interested to see how people on here would handle them. Here is the first one (I'll put the second in another thread because they are longish)

4th Quarter, Team A up 7 with 5+ to go. A1 drives to the basket, is fouled by B1 shot does not go in. Official goes to the table to report foul and is notified that it is B1's 5th foul. He turns to coach, informs him that it is the 5th, turns to tell B1 who is walking to the bench but B1 proceeds to rip his shirt out of his shorts and throw his hands up. Official whacks him. Coach asks for an explanation for the T (calmly) so the official walks over to discuss with coach and B1. C and L look over and see the talk going on and start administering free throws. A1 hits first two and then hits both for the T...4 for 4. T finishes explaining, turns to beckon in the sub for B1 and realizes that the shots were administered with only 4 B players on the court.

So the question from our district administrator is two fold. First, do you wipe the 4 throws and re-do or just leave them and play on. Second, is the T on B1 counted as an indirect to the HC of team B. I'll let you know what the crew did in a little bit but want to see all of your responses first.

I'd leave them and play on.

Yes, the T is an indirect for the reason johnny d outlined.

bauzer714 Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:09pm

Points stay, know your correctable errors.

As others said, indirect to coach.

egj13 Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:11pm

Well this was too easy for you all. We were split as a group last night. I said leave them and play on (we all agreed on the indirect T) others said wipe them because B had an illegal player on the court.

By the way...The crew at the game wiped all 4, made the kid re-shoot which he luckily made all 4 on more time.

ballgame99 Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:16pm

So they would wipe 4 FTs from the shooting team because the officials didn't ensure the 5th player from the non-shooting team was on the floor? In a dead ball situation (ie shooting a T)? That's ballsy.

grunewar Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 877151)
That's ballsy.

I can't think of several other words.....:rolleyes:

egj13 Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 877151)
So they would wipe 4 FTs from the shooting team because the officials didn't ensure the 5th player from the non-shooting team was on the floor? In a dead ball situation (ie shooting a T)? That's ballsy.

That's what they did. The crew wasn't from our pool so this was all passed on through our admin. I would love to ask for their explanation on things.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 05, 2013 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 877150)
others said wipe them because B had an illegal player on the court.

From the description in the OP there weren't any illegal players on the court. The officials realized there were only four memebers of Team B on the court. Had B1 not left the court or was he on the bench but his sub hadn't come in?

bob jenkins Tue Feb 05, 2013 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 877160)
That's what they did. The crew wasn't from our pool so this was all passed on through our admin. I would love to ask for their explanation on things.

NCAA (W at least) interp, I thinks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1