The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   alternate possession error correctable? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93869-alternate-possession-error-correctable.html)

chicodork Mon Feb 04, 2013 09:16pm

alternate possession error correctable?
 
The five correctable errors mention nothing of AP mistakes. However, the rule book states that a coach may call a timeout to check with the table about AP mistakes.

Question, Team A is awarded the ball after a held ball, and the ball is inbounded. Table buzzes, or coach calls timeout, and it is determined that team B should have been given the ball.

Is it correctable?

jeschmit Mon Feb 04, 2013 09:28pm

I don't have the HS ruling, but here is the NCAA case play:

Quote:

A.R. 194. Team B is entitled to a throw-in under the alternating-possession procedure. An official or the official scorer makes an error, and the ball is erroneously awarded to Team A for the throw-in.

RULING: Once the ball touches or is touched by an inbounds player or touches a player who is on the playing court and causes the ball to be out of bounds, this situation cannot be corrected; however, Team B shall make the throw-in when the next alternating-possession procedure occurs. Team B does not lose its alternating-possession throw-in opportunity as a result of the error.
(Rule 7-6.10)


SAJ Mon Feb 04, 2013 09:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chicodork (Post 876964)
The five correctable errors mention nothing of AP mistakes. However, the rule book states that a coach may call a timeout to check with the table about AP mistakes.

Question, Team A is awarded the ball after a held ball, and the ball is inbounded. Table buzzes, or coach calls timeout, and it is determined that team B should have been given the ball.

Is it correctable?

Once it has been inbounded, it's not correctable. (NFHS)

Case Play 6.4.1 Sit. D -- It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternating possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A (a) commits a throw-in violation, or (b) releases the ball on the alternating possession throw-in, but before the ball is legally touched inbounds, Team A or Team B commits a foul.

Ruling: Once the throw-in ends - it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession. In (b), the alternating possession throw-in did not end when the foul occurred. Therefore, the alternating possession mistake is corrected and the arrow now favors Team B; penalize the foul appropriately.

RookieDude Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:00pm

...I believe M.P. came up with this years ago...

"Sorry Coach, we missed it...so we are going to give you get the next 2 out of 3.";)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1