The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error or Bookkeeping Mistake? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93867-correctable-error-bookkeeping-mistake.html)

tazzeroo2002 Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:14pm

Correctable Error or Bookkeeping Mistake?
 
I've been studying the correctable error aspects of the rule book recently, and had a situation in a game recently that got me thinking. Consider the following hypothetical situation.

Final seconds of a tied game and a held-ball is called. Officials look to the table and the scoreboard, and both indicate possession belongs to Team B. Officials award Team B a AP throw-in. Team B runs a last second play and scores a goal and the final horn sounds. After the final horn, and before the officials leave the court, Team A's coach asks the official to check with the official scorer about whether the arrow was set incorrectly. When you discuss the situation with the scorer, it is discovered the scorer has a record of the running AP. The book indicates that Team A should have been entitled to the previous AP throw in.

I realize that awarding the wrong team the ball for an AP throw-in is not a correctable error. However, could the actual wrong setting of the AP arrow qualify as a "bookkeeping error", and thus be corrected anytime? If so, how would you correct?

I'm guessing there isn't anything you can really do if you follow the letter of the rule, but I'm curious how others might view this.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:18pm

Too late.

If it's fouond before the throw-in ends, then you can fix it.

It's neither a correctable error, nor a bookkeeping mistake.

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tazzeroo2002 (Post 876897)
I've been studying the correctable error aspects of the rule book recently, and had a situation in a game recently that got me thinking. Consider the following hypothetical situation.

Final seconds of a tied game and a held-ball is called. Officials look to the table and the scoreboard, and both indicate possession belongs to Team B. Officials award Team B a AP throw-in. Team B runs a last second play and scores a goal and the final horn sounds. After the final horn, and before the officials leave the court, Team A's coach asks the official to check with the official scorer about whether the arrow was set incorrectly. When you discuss the situation with the scorer, it is discovered the scorer has a record of the running AP. The book indicates that Team A should have been entitled to the previous AP throw in.

I realize that awarding the wrong team the ball for an AP throw-in is not a correctable error. However, could the actual wrong setting of the AP arrow qualify as a "bookkeeping error", and thus be corrected anytime? If so, how would you correct?

I'm guessing there isn't anything you can really do if you follow the letter of the rule, but I'm curious how others might view this.

Nope. Nothing to do here.

BillyMac Mon Feb 04, 2013 05:21pm

It's A Sure Bet ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 876901)
Too late. If it's found before the throw-in ends, then you can fix it.

If it had happened earlier in the game, then you could have just told the coach, "Sorry. I promise that you'll get two out of the next three possession arrows".

ref3808 Mon Feb 04, 2013 06:12pm

Not a correctable error no matter how you slice and dice it.

This is just one of the reasons that I don't like alternating possession.

Maybe I'm old school, but a jump ball here avoids any of this.

BillyMac Mon Feb 04, 2013 07:31pm

Has Anybody Ever Seen Them Together In The Same Room At The Same Time ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ref3808 (Post 876941)
This is just one of the reasons that I don't like alternating possession. Maybe I'm old school, but a jump ball here avoids any of this.

How is Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. able to post under ref3808's user name?

CMHCoachNRef Tue Feb 05, 2013 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref3808 (Post 876941)
Not a correctable error no matter how you slice and dice it.

This is just one of the reasons that I don't like alternating possession.

Maybe I'm old school, but a jump ball here avoids any of this.

You are old school! One of my partners has a hard enough time tossing straight up once in a game, asking him to toss 15+ times in some games.....Oh the Humanity!!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1