![]() |
bonus free throw
Watched a jv high school game yesterday, can't figure out if what the ref's did was correct.
Red in 1 + 1 bonus, but ref's signal 2 shots (double bonus). Red shoots the first free throw and misses, ball is picked up by white (I think). Ref blows whistle and realizes something is amiss. They get together, realize their mistake, and go to the position arrow. Was this the correct procedure? |
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point.
RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am. |