The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93757-over-back.html)

evictor24 Tue Jan 29, 2013 07:33am

Over and back??
 
I can't find this in the NFHS book, hopefully someone can clarify:

Last night during a JV game, the ball was being dribbled in the teams backcourt. A1 threw the ball towards the division line to A2, who jumped with both feet FROM the frontcourt, caught the ball in the air, and landed with one foot in the backcourt. I called a backcourt violation, and the coach was less than impressed. Can someone back me up on this?

Oppositely, I believe it's the same ruling if A1 is dribbling in his front court, passes backwards to A2 who jumps with both feet FROM the backcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands with both feet in the frontcourt. Violation as well, correct?

Thanks for your help!

scrounge Tue Jan 29, 2013 07:42am

violation in both cases as I understand it....player had frontcourt status in the former and backcourt in the latter. Coach must be thinking of the jump from the frontcourt exception on throw-ins.

JetMetFan Tue Jan 29, 2013 08:33am

You were correct on both for the reasons scrounge gave.

grunewar Tue Jan 29, 2013 08:55am

Haven't heard it in a while......
 
You are where you are, until you get where you're going.

packersowner Tue Jan 29, 2013 09:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 875277)
You are where you are, until you get where you're going.

Or in other words, your place on the court is established where you last touched the court.

maven Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 875277)
You are where you are, until you get where you're going.

Try this version:

"You are where you were till you get where you're going."

Scans better. :)

The OP needs to review "Player Location," 4-35, in order to understand the basis for grunewar's apothegm.

zm1283 Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:40am

We need a separate subforum just for backcourt violation threads. We're on pace for about three a day right now.

tjones1 Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by evictor24 (Post 875262)
I can't find this in the NFHS book, hopefully someone can clarify:

Last night during a JV game, the ball was being dribbled in the teams backcourt. A1 threw the ball towards the division line to A2, who jumped with both feet FROM the frontcourt, caught the ball in the air, and landed with one foot in the backcourt. I called a backcourt violation, and the coach was less than impressed. Can someone back me up on this?

Oppositely, I believe it's the same ruling if A1 is dribbling in his front court, passes backwards to A2 who jumps with both feet FROM the backcourt, catches the ball in the air, and lands with both feet in the frontcourt. Violation as well, correct?

Thanks for your help!

Had that in my college game on Saturday - coach didn't like my call either.

Adam Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 875368)
Had that in my college game on Saturday - coach didn't like my call either.

I don't remember a coach really questioning this call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1