The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Grasping backboard or basket and playing the ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93737-grasping-backboard-basket-playing-ball.html)

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 28, 2013 02:16pm

Grasping backboard or basket and playing the ball
 
1) Didn't there used to be an article in 10-3 that dealt with grasping the backboard to gain an advantage? (Like holding on to the backboard with one hand and rebounding the ball with the other hand.) I can't seem to find it.

2) There is a case play, 10.3.3 Situation B, that says there's no penalty for grasping the ring to prevent injury. The only penalty would be if the ball contacts or passes through the basket while the player is still touching the ring. What if a player grasps the ring to prevent injury, but then plays the ball (outside the cylinder)? That can't be legal, right? But it's not a T for grasping, and it's not BI because the ball's outside the cylinder.

If there were still a citation for #1 above, I would apply it to situation #2 and call a technical foul. But I'm at a bit of a loss.

And btw, #2 actually happened last week in a high school game around here.

Scratch85 Mon Jan 28, 2013 02:27pm

10-3-4(a)

A player shall not illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

Penalty: Player technical

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 28, 2013 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 875058)
10-3-4(a)

A player shall not illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

Penalty: Player technical

Thank you! How the [bleep] did I miss "backboard/ring"?!?!? :mad: :confused:

Adam Mon Jan 28, 2013 03:08pm

Happened in a game here Friday night. A t was called.

BillyMac Mon Jan 28, 2013 05:30pm

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 875055)
Didn't there used to be an article in 10-3 that dealt with grasping the backboard to gain an advantage? (Like holding on to the backboard with one hand and rebounding the ball with the other hand.) I can't seem to find it.

It's the "Ralph Sampson Rule".
http://ts3.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.46046...66650&pid=15.1

Camron Rust Mon Jan 28, 2013 05:45pm

Had it happen just over a week ago. Called it. Coach wasn't at all pleased...but that isn't anything new.

He was suggesting that it was a judgement call and I didn't have to call it. He was right if he was talking about the original hang...which I had judged to be legal since there were several players underneath his player when he tried to dunk the ball. I informed him that once his player grabbed the ball again while hanging that, it ceased to be a judgement call.

Scrapper1 Mon Jan 28, 2013 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 875129)
It's the "Ralph Sampson Rule".[/IMG]

Exactly. Which is why I was so sure that it was in there. I have no idea how I overlooked the exact wording that I was looking for. Geez.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1