![]() |
Making sure... or not
A driving for layup... B tries to block but hits the backboard in the attempt making the board and rim vibrate... ball hits rim but doesn't go in - I have nothing - correct or incorrect?
(I've got a bet for tacos with my parner:):D |
Legitimate attempt to block a shot and then striking the backboard is....nothing. Play on (and ignore the howler monkeys).
|
Correct. If the contact is part of a block attempt, it is not illegal.
|
Enjoy your tacos. Not BI, backboard is not part of the rim. Not a T if it is done in an attempt to block the shot.
|
Who You Gonna Call ???
http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg
Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul. |
Can't believe this is still debated by anybody who reads this board. And also can't believe anybody wins a bet based on our uncited information. What if that other guy asks somebody else they say it is basket interference or a Technical? What breaks the tie?
|
All in fun...
Thanks
|
Had a similar play in a game the other night. JV Boys. A1 attempts a layup, B44 comes from behind and takes a mighty swing at the ball in flight. Misses the ball, slaps the backboard. I've got a whistle, but only because B44 fouled A1 in the process. A's head coach is clapping, thinking he's got basket interference plus a free throw. I call the foul, coach is going nuts because I tell him that slapping the backboard, in this case, is nothing. He calls timeout to discuss it further. I explain the rule, he refuses to believe me. After we shoot the free throws for the foul, I hear him yell to his team, "Hey, slap the backboard every time they try a shot from now on."
Fortunately, this was a JV game, and team A had not a single player that could come close to touching the backboard, so we didn't have any further issues. (In hindsight, I probably should have whacked the guy - a noted local "howler monkey" - but it was the first game of a three-game night and I didn't see any sense in making the situation worse.) |
Quote:
Coach already made it worse. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
"That's not a technical, Coach. That's not the rule." No argument from that point. Not sure whether he didn't know the rule, or was looking for an easy T. My guess is, the former. |
Quote:
Come to think of it, the last two games went as smoothly as any I've had all year. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07am. |