The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 03:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 221
Technical on Coach with ball in flight

Second half, GV, visiting team puts up a 10' jumper, just as visiting coach says to center official, "you suck" Official T's up coach, then the ball goes throught the basket. (first time for me, with a T during a shot made good) didn't count basket, coach went and sat down. I'm pretty sure this is right in not counting the basket due to the whistle killing the ball and it was not an airborne shooter situation. If I'm reading 6-7 correclty I believe this was correct. Timeline of event: shot goes up, "you suck", whistle for T, ball goes through basket. Correct?
6-7
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 03:16am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If the ball was in flight, the T does not cause it to be dead. Count the basket.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 03:16am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Ball is released: Count the basket
Before the release: No basket
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 03:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the ball was in flight, the T does not cause it to be dead. Count the basket.
D*mmit, thanks! Been bugging me, felt odd.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 09:51am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,412
Once a try is released, the ball does not become dead until
  • the try ends
  • a player control foul is committed
  • the offense commits an elbow-swinging violation.
I think that's it. I also thought of BI/GT is committed, but that would also end the try. So I think I have it covered.

Any other kind of foul does not cause the ball to become dead; the horn does not cause the ball to become dead.

In your situation, you'd still assess the technical foul, obviously; count the basket; then award the FTs and possession to the offended team.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 10:27am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Next time, if you can, wait until the try is over, then whack.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
Next time, if you can, wait until the try is over, then whack.
Bad idea. What if the shot is missed, an offensive rebound is made and you hit the whistle just before A2 puts a layup in. No need for that to happen.

This isn't a team on a fastbreak, in which case you should hold the whistle. This is a shot in flight. The whistle has no bearing on whether the basket is counted or not. It counts if it goes. Either way, we're going to shoot FTs as soon as the shot ends.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 11:32am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Bad idea. What if the shot is missed, an offensive rebound is made and you hit the whistle just before A2 puts a layup in. No need for that to happen.

This isn't a team on a fastbreak, in which case you should hold the whistle. This is a shot in flight. The whistle has no bearing on whether the basket is counted or not. It counts if it goes. Either way, we're going to shoot FTs as soon as the shot ends.
Fair point. Yes I was thinking of a fast break. Also trying to avoid confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Bad idea. What if the shot is missed, an offensive rebound is made and you hit the whistle just before A2 puts a layup in. No need for that to happen.

This isn't a team on a fastbreak, in which case you should hold the whistle. This is a shot in flight. The whistle has no bearing on whether the basket is counted or not. It counts if it goes. Either way, we're going to shoot FTs as soon as the shot ends.
You should ABSOLUTELY wait until the play is over...THEN...wack! Doesn't matter if the T is called immediately after the coaches' comments...hold the whistle, then assess.

If you can stop it before the missed shot is rebounded by the offensive team, great. If not, doesn't matter - the coach is getting a T either way. No need to be so quick to blow the whistle while the shot is in the air.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 11:40am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
You should ABSOLUTELY wait until the play is over...THEN...wack! Doesn't matter if the T is called immediately after the coaches' comments...hold the whistle, then assess.

If you can stop it before the missed shot is rebounded by the offensive team, great. If not, doesn't matter - the coach is getting a T either way. No need to be so quick to blow the whistle while the shot is in the air.
So, what's the point in waiting?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
So, what's the point in waiting?
There is no need to interrupt a scoring-opportunity-in-action by calling the T at that exact moment. You make things a whole lot easier by waiting a few extra seconds.

This is most certainly true when:
- a T on a defensive player would wipe out a scoring chance by the offense. (why penalize the offense for the opponents transgression?)
- a NCAAM game where the resumption of play is POI (if you call the T while no team control, you've got to go the arrow).

By waiting a few extra seconds, it becomes a "cleaner"/easier penalty administration.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
There is no need to interrupt a scoring-opportunity-in-action by calling the T at that exact moment. You make things a whole lot easier by waiting a few extra seconds.
In the OP, the shot was already in the air. This wasn't a "fast break" situation.

Here, call the T immediately, imo.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 12:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
There is no need to interrupt a scoring-opportunity-in-action by calling the T at that exact moment. You make things a whole lot easier by waiting a few extra seconds.

This is most certainly true when:
- a T on a defensive player would wipe out a scoring chance by the offense. (why penalize the offense for the opponents transgression?)
- a NCAAM game where the resumption of play is POI (if you call the T while no team control, you've got to go the arrow).

By waiting a few extra seconds, it becomes a "cleaner"/easier penalty administration.
Neither situation applies to the OP, unless his GV games are done with NCAA rules. And POI in the OP would NOT be the arrow.

So again, why wait?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 12:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
There is no need to interrupt a scoring-opportunity-in-action by calling the T at that exact moment. You make things a whole lot easier by waiting a few extra seconds.
The T is on the team trying to score. I'm not interested in the status of their opportunity.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2013, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Neither situation applies to the OP, unless his GV games are done with NCAA rules. And POI in the OP would NOT be the arrow.

So again, why wait?
My response was intentionally general enough to provide officials with various thoughts to consider.

Since you ONLY want to consider this situation in a GV game....my response to you is: "enjoy your career of working GV games. Call every violation/foul/infraction the exact second you see it. I'm sure you'll do well."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upward Flight Johnny Ringo Basketball 18 Sun Aug 26, 2007 07:22pm
Double foul while the try is in flight Jay R Basketball 19 Tue Oct 19, 2004 07:58am
Who Watches Flight of Ball? carldog Basketball 2 Wed Jan 07, 2004 07:50am
foul off the ball while shot is in the flight timharris Basketball 6 Sun Dec 08, 2002 08:25pm
What is "in flight" t2nyval Baseball 6 Fri Sep 27, 2002 10:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1