![]() |
Technical on Coach with ball in flight
Second half, GV, visiting team puts up a 10' jumper, just as visiting coach says to center official, "you suck" Official T's up coach, then the ball goes throught the basket. (first time for me, with a T during a shot made good) didn't count basket, coach went and sat down. I'm pretty sure this is right in not counting the basket due to the whistle killing the ball and it was not an airborne shooter situation. If I'm reading 6-7 correclty I believe this was correct. Timeline of event: shot goes up, "you suck", whistle for T, ball goes through basket. Correct?
6-7 |
If the ball was in flight, the T does not cause it to be dead. Count the basket.
|
Ball is released: Count the basket
Before the release: No basket |
Quote:
|
Once a try is released, the ball does not become dead until
Any other kind of foul does not cause the ball to become dead; the horn does not cause the ball to become dead. In your situation, you'd still assess the technical foul, obviously; count the basket; then award the FTs and possession to the offended team. |
Next time, if you can, wait until the try is over, then whack.
|
Quote:
This isn't a team on a fastbreak, in which case you should hold the whistle. This is a shot in flight. The whistle has no bearing on whether the basket is counted or not. It counts if it goes. Either way, we're going to shoot FTs as soon as the shot ends. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you can stop it before the missed shot is rebounded by the offensive team, great. If not, doesn't matter - the coach is getting a T either way. No need to be so quick to blow the whistle while the shot is in the air. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
This is most certainly true when: - a T on a defensive player would wipe out a scoring chance by the offense. (why penalize the offense for the opponents transgression?) - a NCAAM game where the resumption of play is POI (if you call the T while no team control, you've got to go the arrow). By waiting a few extra seconds, it becomes a "cleaner"/easier penalty administration. |
Quote:
Here, call the T immediately, imo. |
Quote:
So again, why wait? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Since you ONLY want to consider this situation in a GV game....my response to you is: "enjoy your career of working GV games. Call every violation/foul/infraction the exact second you see it. I'm sure you'll do well." |
Quote:
If I was to suggest you Google "Wil Wheaton's Advice," that would have been more obvious than the "general" nature of your response. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Good grief...I honestly can not think of anyone else who is as consistently wrong on this forum as our buddy twocents.
Are you seriously saying that you are concerned about the scoring opportunity of the team whose Coach just told your partner or you that you suck? There is absolutely no reason to hold on calling a T when THAT team has the ball. And then to compound the error, he throws a derogatory GV comment out...nice. Makes me miss Jurassic today. :mad: |
I don't see a real issue with handling it either way.
|
Quote:
It seems like when anyone says anything about girls basketball they are being arrogant or a jerk when many expectations of girls basketball is very different than boys basketball. Peace |
Quote:
True, but not in the case at hand. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Instead he made a comment which made no sense (calling a T with the ball in flight has no effect on the scoring opportunity since the play posted WAS a GV play under NFHS rules) and he took a chance, then, to make a gratuitous swipe at GV basketball which had no place in the thread. And the expectations and the outcomes *are* far different. Nobody said otherwise. |
Just asking. I just commented on a trend.
And I agree with BNR, that pretty much would have been my take. Peace |
Couple of problems here. He went off on another tangent about waiting and not stopping the scoring opportunity, if the T is on the defense. While this may be true in those other situations, not only is there no benefit to waiting here, as pointed out by Tony, the opposite may be the case. The offense may have a quick rebound and putback attempt, or there may be a foul by the defense on the rebound. That's the last thing you want here, is for the offending team to have any kind of chance for something positive.
|
The "d-bag factor" of his comment really doesn't have anything to do with Girls basketball. The fact is that twocents again posted incorrect information, and then when called on it, told a very accomplished official that that official wasn't good enough to do anything but GV ball. You could substitute rec league, Church league, Jr. high, or several other things for the GV part of twocents post, and it would still be a d-bag post.
|
From my personal experience, the official calling the T should also be the official to determine if the ball was released before/after T. The other official(s) are not expecting this and when you get the T sorted out and ask them 1 or 2 minutes later whether the ball was released before or after the whistle , good luck
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03pm. |