The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 01:10am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
Correctable Error?

Got a phone call last night.

Intentional foul on a made basket. Crew gets together and shoots 3 free throws. 1 for the and 1 and 2 for the intentional foul. Now I know right off the bat this is a big screw up. My question. Is the first free throw correctable? If so, does it have to be caught before the first of the 2 intentional fouls they gave or after the first dead ball after the throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 01:12am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
First dead ball after the clock has properly started.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 01:14am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
First dead ball after the clock has properly started.
That is what I thought. Now say that free throw was made, we are taking the point off the board correct? Man I just know that would be a nightmare thing to have happen.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 01:15am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Got a phone call last night.

Intentional foul on a made basket. Crew gets together and shoots 3 free throws. 1 for the and 1 and 2 for the intentional foul. Now I know right off the bat this is a big screw up. My question. Is the first free throw correctable? If so, does it have to be caught before the first of the 2 intentional fouls they gave or after the first dead ball after the throw in?
They have until during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started to correct, so they can absolutely wipe the incorrect 1-and-1 off the book.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 01:16am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
That is what I thought. Now say that free throw was made, we are taking the point off the board correct?.
Yep.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 01:17am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
That is what I thought. Now say that free throw was made, we are taking the point off the board correct? Man I just know that would be a nightmare thing to have happen.
Yes, point comes off the board. Not really that big of a deal, when you consider everything else the offended team still has going for it here.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
If the 3rd FT is missed. Do you still have a CE situation?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 11:18am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
If the 3rd FT is missed. Do you still have a CE situation?
Triad Zebra:

Your question goes to the heart of the OP. The penalty for an IPF is two free throws unless the foul was committed against a player who was in the Act of Shooting an unsuccessful three-point FG, then the penalty would be three free throws. The penalty for the situation in the OP is only two free throws, the Correctable Error was the awarding of the third free throw. Just A Ref told us the proper way to handle the situation. If the third free throw was successful, wipe the point out of the Scorebook, and if it was unsuccessful, no blood no foul ().

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,127
Just to make sure we know which shots we are wiping, as the posts are getting crossed in my thinking...

Three shots are awarded incorrectly when there should be 2.

You are wiping either
A)The "and 1" (first free throw)
B)Second of the the 2 INT free throws(third free throw)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 11:51am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Just to make sure we know which shots we are wiping, as the posts are getting crossed in my thinking...

Three shots are awarded incorrectly when there should be 2.

You are wiping either
A)The "and 1" (first free throw)
B)Second of the the 2 INT free throws(third free throw)
I was thinking the same thing. It could matter, and should be based on what the crew said they were doing (amongst themselves, then to the table, then to coaches).
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
I was thinking the same thing. It could matter, and should be based on what the crew said they were doing (amongst themselves, then to the table, then to coaches).
Agreed.

As described the first FT was the error, not the third.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 12:44pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
Yes. The first free throw was the error, as they said it was for the foul on a made shot. They then awarded 2 for the intentional foul. I just don't understand why they did it. All I know is that it wasn't corrected and they played on. If caught, it would have to be corrected after the throw in on the first dead ball, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 12:49pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Yes. The first free throw was the error, as they said it was for the foul on a made shot. They then awarded 2 for the intentional foul. I just don't understand why they did it. All I know is that it wasn't corrected and they played on. If caught, it would have to be corrected after the throw in on the first dead ball, correct?
Yes.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 12:52pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Saw the exact same call made at the local high school here, perhaps ten years ago. The official's explanation: "One for the foul, two for the intentional."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 04:56pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,875
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Agreed.

As described the first FT was the error, not the third.

Bob:

I disagree. A1 should have been awarded only two free throws and he was awarded three free throws. It does not matter if in the minds of the officials (insert half wit joke here, ) that he was awarding one and then two free throws, A1 was only entitled to two free throws and he received them; the third free throw that he attempted was the free throw to which he was not entitled to shoot. If A1 made the second and third or only the third free throw, the third free throw will be canceled.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable error? slow whistle Basketball 15 Fri Dec 19, 2008 04:43pm
Correctable Error? budjones05 Basketball 24 Fri Dec 12, 2008 09:17pm
Correctable Error? Stat-Man Basketball 7 Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:12am
correctable error cloverdale Basketball 12 Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:19am
Is this a correctable error? Jay R Basketball 2 Sun Nov 16, 2003 05:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1