The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   is this a violation or a good no call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/9355-violation-good-no-call.html)

timharris Mon Jul 14, 2003 08:57pm


a=offense b=defense

can someone clear this up for me; here in virginia we are having a major problem with this. team(a) has the ball in their front court out of bounds for the throw in; on the throw in the balls hits off a player on team(a) and goes into the backcourt, the team(a) player recovers the ball in the backcourt. is this a violation of backcourt? are a good no call? the guys here are calling this as backcourt and i recall
seeing and article where this is not backcourt. any help will be appreciated.

thanks
tim

Dan_ref Mon Jul 14, 2003 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by timharris

a=offense b=defense

can someone clear this up for me; here in virginia we are having a major problem with this. team(a) has the ball in their front court out of bounds for the throw in; on the throw in the balls hits off a player on team(a) and goes into the backcourt, the team(a) player recovers the ball in the backcourt. is this a violation of backcourt? are a good no call? the guys here are calling this as backcourt and i recall
seeing and article where this is not backcourt. any help will be appreciated.

thanks
tim

BC violation only can happen when the team violating has control of the ball. There's no team control on a throw-in. In your play the throw in ends when A2 touches the ball inbounds but team A does not gain control of the ball, so there's no BC violation.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jul 14, 2003 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by timharris

a=offense b=defense

can someone clear this up for me; here in virginia we are having a major problem with this. team(a) has the ball in their front court out of bounds for the throw in; on the throw in the balls hits off a player on team(a) and goes into the backcourt, the team(a) player recovers the ball in the backcourt. is this a violation of backcourt? are a good no call? the guys here are calling this as backcourt and i recall
seeing and article where this is not backcourt. any help will be appreciated.

thanks
tim


This play is neither a backcourt violation or a no call. It is nothing but a legal play. There is no team control during a throw-in and Team A did not establish team control until A1 gained player control of the ball in Team A's backcourt.

mick Mon Jul 14, 2003 10:15pm

What Dan and Mark T. said.

Mark Dexter Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
What Dan and Mark T. said.
I second that.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jul 15, 2003 01:39am

What everybody said,plus what the NFHS casebook says! Casebook play 4.12.6(b).

JugglingReferee Tue Jul 15, 2003 07:53am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
What Dan and Mark T. said.
Ya, what they said.

BktBallRef Tue Jul 15, 2003 07:59am

Quote:

Originally posted by timharris
can someone clear this up for me; here in virginia we are having a major problem with this.
Ouch!! That's pretty basic stuff, Tim. No team control, no violation. Are there a lot of officials having trouble with this or just a few stubborn ones? :(

bob jenkins Tue Jul 15, 2003 08:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by timharris

team(a) has the ball in their front court out of bounds for the throw in;

what everybody else said, plus there's no such location as you described above. ;)

w_sohl Tue Jul 15, 2003 09:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by timharris

team(a) has the ball in their front court out of bounds for the throw in;

what everybody else said, plus there's no such location as you described above. ;)

I think everyone, including yourself, knew what the poster ment. No need to nit pick.

RecRef Tue Jul 15, 2003 09:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by timharris

a=offense b=defense

can someone clear this up for me; here in virginia we are having a major problem with this. thanks
tim

We? Don't think so in NoVA.

mick Tue Jul 15, 2003 09:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by timharris

team(a) has the ball in their front court out of bounds for the throw in;

what everybody else said, plus there's no such location as you described above. ;)

I think everyone, including yourself, knew what the poster ment. No need to nit pick.

w_sohl,
Actually, I think that bob's post was a Point of Clarity:
<li> If we realize that a sideline throw-in is not FC, or BC, then, perhaps, it makes the back court rule, and how it pertains to the FC/BC on a throw-in, slightly easier to understand.

timharris was trying to better understand the sitch, and bob's post didn't hurt a bit.
mick

<HR>
If we get hit with a nit here, we won't get more on the floor there.

BktBallRef Tue Jul 15, 2003 09:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by timharris

team(a) has the ball in their front court out of bounds for the throw in;

what everybody else said, plus there's no such location as you described above. ;)

I think everyone, including yourself, knew what the poster ment. No need to nit pick.

Lighten up, sohl. Note the ;) at the end of the statement.

bob jenkins Tue Jul 15, 2003 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl

I think everyone, including yourself, knew what the poster ment. No need to nit pick.

If I were picking nits, I'd point out the improper use of "yourself" and "nit pick," and the improper spelling of "meant." But, I'm not, so I won't. ;)



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1