The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 violations (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93523-2-violations.html)

MD Longhorn Mon Jan 14, 2013 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 872181)
The NFHS rule book disagrees with Newton and says an AP throw in occurs when there ia a simultaneous violation.

Newton Who?

Rich Mon Jan 14, 2013 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 872181)
The NFHS rule book disagrees with Newton and says an AP throw in occurs when there ia a simultaneous violation.

He says Einstein and you quote Newton.

Simultaneous as mentioned in the rule book is a rulebook term and doesn't necessarily mean the actions occurred at exactly the same time -- for example, a simultaneous violation on a free throw.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 14, 2013 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 872175)
6-4-3. C

Ah -- thanks.

I guess I should read the rule book more. ;)

So, the answer to the test question in the OP is apparently "yes" (unless they are testing "double violation" vs. "simultaneous violation")

Rich Mon Jan 14, 2013 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 872192)
Ah -- thanks.

I guess I should read the rule book more. ;)

So, the answer to the test question in the OP is apparently "yes" (unless they are testing "double violation" vs. "simultaneous violation")

Doing a quick search on the rule book app for the phrases double violation and simultaneous violation, it appears that the NFHS uses both phrases. Almost randomly. :)

Don't feel I learned anything, but it's interesting nonetheless.

Freddy Mon Jan 14, 2013 05:31pm

Say It Isn't So, Ethyl!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 872192)
I guess I should read the rule book more.

:eek::eek::eek:
This session of the "Always Listen to Bob" Raving Admiration Society (ALBRAS) is temporarily recessed while we figure all this out. No, don't panic. There might be a reasonable explanation for it. He might have hit his head on something.

Scuba_ref Mon Jan 14, 2013 06:17pm

Too late, I have already panicked :eek:

just another ref Mon Jan 14, 2013 06:25pm

If the choices are simultaneous violations and the AP arrow or decide which one came first, I expect most of us will still listen to Bob.

OKREF Mon Jan 14, 2013 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 872204)
If the choices are simultaneous violations and the AP arrow or decide which one came first, I expect most of us will still listen to Bob.

I agree. I have never had a simultaneous violation. Someones whistle was first. Just pointing out the book does say this could happen.

ODog Tue Jan 15, 2013 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PP (Post 872148)
Referee rules a double violation, jump ball. The team with the alternating possession arrow gets the ball out of bounds. Are the officials correct?

No, they should have ruled held ball. ;)

Rich Tue Jan 15, 2013 01:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 872255)
No, they should have ruled held ball. ;)

Actually, it's neither a jump ball or a held ball. It's a situation which is resolved by using the alternating possession arrow.

Sharpshooternes Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 872153)
Is there such a thing as a a double violation? Wait? Should I look this up in my rulebook, and casebook, first, or can I just ask the question? I sure hope that my question doesn't get me in trouble.

Thanks Billy Mac, you are a fine example of forward thinking and progress on this forum.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1