The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Help me (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93508-help-me.html)

Terrapins Fan Sun Jan 13, 2013 06:15pm

Help me
 
I had a call I had to think about on Saturday.

I have home B1 push his team mate B2 into A1 on her way to the basket.

I call the foul on B2, but it happened because of B1. Was I right?

JRutledge Sun Jan 13, 2013 06:17pm

Can you call a foul on someone for not having any contact with someone (other than a T for unsporting behavior)?

That should answer your question.

Adam Sun Jan 13, 2013 06:20pm

You were right. B2 can take it up with B1 later.

Terrapins Fan Sun Jan 13, 2013 06:23pm

I saw another situation, B1 fouls out and there are 2 subs at the table for A. 8 seconds left on the clock in the 4th Q.

Table says " that's 5" ref tells coach and asks for 20 seconds on the clock, Coach from team A asks ref a question, answered, subs come in, Coach from B asks a question and ref answers Question.

Ref comes back to table and says All the subs in? Table says "Yes"

Shooter gets the ball for the 1st FT. Basket made.

Table sounds horn and says " B1 is still on the floor"

Ref says, " I asked you if all the subs were in". Tells coach, we need a sub for B1. Sub comes in.

Should there have been a "T" there? At this point in time, the game was 1 point for B with A1 shooting one.

A1 made the basket and the game went OT.

HawkeyeCubP Sun Jan 13, 2013 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 871973)
Ref comes back to table and says All the subs in? Table says "Yes"

Shooter gets the ball for the 1st FT. Basket made.

Table sounds horn and says " B1 is still on the floor"

Ref says, " I asked you if all the subs were in". Tells coach, we need a sub for B1. Sub comes in.

Should there have been a "T" there? At this point in time, the game was 1 point for B with A1 shooting one.

A1 made the basket and the game went OT.

Officials' responsibility to ensure the DQ'd player leaves the floor. Not the table's job to know who's replacing who. No T.

JRutledge Sun Jan 13, 2013 06:33pm

No. You should have made sure the player that fouled out came off the floor IMO.

Peace

PG_Ref Sun Jan 13, 2013 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 871973)
I saw another situation, B1 fouls out and there are 2 subs at the table for A. 8 seconds left on the clock in the 4th Q.

Table says " that's 5" ref tells coach and asks for 20 seconds on the clock, Coach from team A asks ref a question, answered, subs come in, Coach from B asks a question and ref answers Question.

Ref comes back to table and says All the subs in? Table says "Yes"

Shooter gets the ball for the 1st FT. Basket made.

Table sounds horn and says " B1 is still on the floor"

Ref says, " I asked you if all the subs were in". Tells coach, we need a sub for B1. Sub comes in.

Should there have been a "T" there? At this point in time, the game was 1 point for B with A1 shooting one.

A1 made the basket and the game went OT.

By rule yes ... however, the official did not ensure the entire replacement process was completed. It isn't the table's responsibility to say if a disqualified player's sub has entered. We have to make sure it happens.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 13, 2013 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 871973)
I saw another situation, B1 fouls out and there are 2 subs at the table for A. 8 seconds left on the clock in the 4th Q.

Table says " that's 5" ref tells coach and asks for 20 seconds on the clock, Coach from team A asks ref a question, answered, subs come in, Coach from B asks a question and ref answers Question.

Ref comes back to table and says All the subs in? Table says "Yes"

Shooter gets the ball for the 1st FT. Basket made.

Table sounds horn and says " B1 is still on the floor"

Ref says, " I asked you if all the subs were in". Tells coach, we need a sub for B1. Sub comes in.

Should there have been a "T" there? At this point in time, the game was 1 point for B with A1 shooting one.

A1 made the basket and the game went OT.

Assuming you didn't put the ball in play before the 20 second timer expired, yes, A1 participated after being DQ'd (the coach was informed).

If 20 second timer expired then you could either hit the coach with a T for not providing a player or for playing the DQ'd player.

Raymond Sun Jan 13, 2013 08:19pm

The official needs to tend to his responsibilities which include informing the player who fouled out and knowing which players left the game. But technically speaking it would be a technical.

Terrapins Fan Sun Jan 13, 2013 08:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 871977)
By rule yes ... however, the official did not ensure the entire replacement process was completed. It isn't the table's responsibility to say if a disqualified player's sub has entered. We have to make sure it happens.

I thought it was a good no call, because of the confusion.

But I think the coach may have been trying to pull a fast one if the table hadn't seen the problem.

Adam Sun Jan 13, 2013 08:52pm

This is why nothing happens until the DQd player is replaced.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 14, 2013 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 871973)
Table says " that's 5" ref tells coach and asks for 20 seconds on the clock, Coach from team A asks ref a question, answered, subs come in, Coach from B asks a question and ref answers Question.

"Coach, I'll answer your question as soon as I take care of this." (or, preferably, be more specific -- report the foul, get the sub in, ....)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1