![]() |
Kentucky vs Vandy
Hello all,
I decided to finally make an account, but did anyone happen to catch the end of this game. Kentucky player released ball for the shot around a full second after shot clock expired. I believe the ref said to the announcers its not reviewable. Why would that be? |
It's built into the rule. You can't go to the monitor to determine whether a shot was released before the shot-clock expired unless there are zeroes on the game clock.
|
It is not a reviewable situation under the rules, it is that simple. You can review a shot at the end of the half, but not to see if a shot was off before the shot clock expired.
Peace |
Anyone else think this is possibly a result of Vandy being different with the location of their shot clocks?
|
Quote:
Peace |
In the NBA this would be a reviewable play. The would review the shot at the next timeout or period break. And if the last mandatory timeout has been taken, they'll take a look at the first clock stoppage.
|
Quote:
The benches and coaching boxes are on the end lines, too. |
Quote:
|
I went to an SEC school for grad school and it baffles me that nobody ever forced Vandy to put things in the proper places.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I'm not making excuses for them. Quite frankly, it's insane that this isn't reviewable. The tool is there - let them use it. |
|
I just watched it again. Sounds on the telecast like the horn was after the shot left the hand. Could be the distance the sound had to travel, I guess.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I also have no problem with these being not being reviewable because you could do that every single time up the court. Sometimes we need to just officiate and video is not going to solve everything. I do not even see anything that makes me feel this was a slam dunk either way. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I just don't think that this situation comes up often enough to where it's be an issue. 90+ percent of tries come easily before or after the expiration of the shot clock and that 10 percent of the other tries wouldn't be enough, IMO, to where it'd be an issue. |
All I am saying is you cannot compare every situation to the NBA. And the NBA does not review the kinds of things that the NCAA does as well. They are too much apples and oranges in many situations and this is one of them.
Peace |
Looks like to me the clock showed "0" but the horn goes off a second later, which would mean to me that since the shot clock doesn't show tenths of a second, it's showing zero, but you still have 0.9 0.8 ...blah blah....until you actually get to 0.0 and have the horn. So even though the big red 0 was on the board i don't think you have a violation until you get the horn, which then the ball was out of his hands. Just my thoughts.
|
Quote:
I'm with Jeff that there are too many reviews. But, I'd expect there to be more. |
One thing is clear
Knight is sure in the dark. Wonder if Teddy V has sent him a nice tweet:p
|
This is not fair to the officials. You have a situation that is not reviewable so the officials have to use their ears to judge. He appears to release the shot just before the horn which is the only way the officials can judge. Then the rest of the world gets to criticize the officials but not taking into account the fact that the horn and the shot clock are not synchronized. In this world of HD/multiple replays ....., give the officials the tools to make the proper decision.
|
what about the C
Hey Guys,
First post, so go easy. Anybody think the center rotates out of this play? Maybe he thought the lead was going to rotate, but the C goes top side and by the end of the play they've got to T's. Not sure if this contributes to the "no call incorrect", but I don't think it helps. Thoughts? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Oddly enough, I don't speakers atm. So I can't watch the Deadspin account that Rich mentioned earlier.
BUT... if it's true that the SC reads 0 and the horn hasn't gone off, then it's automatically a CC. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
THE HORN goes off AFTER the shot leaves the hand. It seems pretty clear from the video. The rule is this: Quote:
|
So I guess we now need tenths on the shot clock! :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the clock reads 14 in this situation and it is reset, is it the same as if the clock reads 15 and nothing is done? Could those two situations be almost 1 second (.9) difference? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If it shows 15 is could be anwhere from 14.000000001 to 15.999999999 depending on the clock. Most game clocks (well, those without tenths) are the latter (so the horn sounds 1 second after it shows 0); most shot clocks are the former (so the horn sounds as soon as it shows 0). Next time you get a chance, try this. Set both clocks (say, 8:00 and 30). Start and stop almost immediately. Note that one has likley changed and one hasn't. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm. |