![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jan 16, 2013 at 01:45pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It will come back to bite you at some point. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
FWIW I asked two different interpreters and got two different answers so the rule is not as crystal clear as you think. Quote:
"Officials stop the game with 30 seconds left in the 4th quarter to tend to a clock issue. As both teams walk to the area in front of their bench you notice A1 has blood on his elbow. While officials are still tending to the clock issue A1's trainer stops bleeding and puts a bandage on the elbow." Are you going to make team B use their last timeout in this situation, or even if they have no timeouts, to allow their player to stay in the game? Pretty sure the HC is going to come unglued here as well (even more so than in your scenario). Last edited by VaTerp; Wed Jan 16, 2013 at 03:02pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Like I said, I asked an interpreter and an assignor/interpreter both these questions. The first agreed with what many of you are saying here. That 3-3-7 requires them the coach to use the TO regardless. The latter said to use common sense and allow the player to play if situation is properly addressed before we are ready to resume. As I said before, despite what some think, the rules book and case book do not address every single variable of every situation. Sometimes there is some grey area that requires officials to apply the rule intelligently and make a decision. I believe this is one of those situations and am confident I'm on solid ground should such a situation present itself to me on the court. You and others may disagree. That's fine. Maybe we'll see, maybe we won't. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And where would you have gotten such an idea? Perhaps from page 2 of this same thread: Quote:
Is this fair? You be the judge. Why is this any different than any other missed call? You might not see anything at all except the bandage after the fact. "See! Their player was bleeding, too!" This is no different than any other missed call. This rule has other issues. A1 is bleeding, but is contacted by B1, and now you see blood on both, so both have to call the timeout or leave the game. Is this fair?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Good game management starts by applying the rules which have no leeway correctly. This isn't a judgement call; you don't have a choice other than to "not notice" before B gets a chance to take care of it. But once you've noticed, you're bound by the rule. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 6 players in game "discovered while being violated" | CallMeMrRef | Basketball | 8 | Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:58am |
| Post game scorebook error discovered | HoopsRefJunior | Basketball | 10 | Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:53pm |
| Blood | WhistlesAndStripes | Football | 5 | Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:08am |
| Blood, blood, ref, she's bleeding! | rainmaker | Basketball | 27 | Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:21pm |