The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Fact Checkers Needed ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93463-fact-checkers-needed.html)

SAJ Thu Jan 10, 2013 02:06pm

I would make changes to any of the situations where there was a correct call made followed by an incorrect ball placement. One could misinterpret the ruling.

In other words, instead of using "and" use a "."

Zoochy Thu Jan 10, 2013 03:35pm

This question, "13) After the fifteen second warning horn sounds during a charged timeout, substitute A6 reports to the table and is seated on the “X”. Immediately after the official administers the throwin to A1, who makes the throwin pass to A2, who then take a few dribbles, the timer inadvertently sounds the horn to allow substitute A6 into the game. Many of the players seem to be confused by the horn, and A2 is about to violate by illegally dribbling the ball again after holding it upon hearing the horn, so the official decides to sound his whistle to get everything straightened out before any violation occurs. After getting everything straightened out, the head coach of Team A requests that substitute A6 be allowed to enter the game. The official does not allow substitute A6 to enter the game because he reported to the table after the fifteen second warning horn. Is the official correct?" was very similar to my post the other day about 'Sub or not to sub'.
I got it right. Partner did not like it.

As someone mentioned, maybe site the rule.

Freddy Sun Jan 13, 2013 02:41pm

Just the Facts-Check, Maam
 
A-o-k.

BillyMac Mon Jan 21, 2013 06:21pm

Thanks ...
 
Thanks to everybody who made some suggestions for improvement. Special thanks to those who sent me private messages, and emails.

I believe that my local interpreter wants to set up something similar to this:

http://www.district3hoops.com/rules/thisweek.php

I hope that IAABO Board 403, the Catawba River Basketball Officials Association (South Carolina), understands that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 22, 2013 03:58am

I recommend altering the ruling to #9.
The NFHS rules also prohibit a team member from participating in the pregame warm-up while wearing jewelry. Therefore, this should be included in your answer.

Change it to: "The official should state that the player will not be allowed to participate the pregame warm-up or in the game while she is wearing earrings."

BillyMac Tue Jan 22, 2013 07:43am

Got Citations ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 873523)
The NFHS rules also prohibit a team member from participating in the pregame warm-up while wearing jewelry.

You're right. I seem to remember that interpretation from several years ago. Got a citation?

Rich Fri Feb 01, 2013 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 873535)
You're right. I seem to remember that interpretation from several years ago. Got a citation?

Did anyone find a citation? I'd like to use these as part of a meeting this month.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 01, 2013 02:33pm

2001-02 Interps:
SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A4 that he/she must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. A4 responds that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A4 and A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5)

2011-12 Interps:
SITUATION 1: The officials are on the court prior to the game observing the team warm-ups. One official notices that a member of Team A is wearing a decorative feather in the hair. RULING: The official should inform the team member and/or coach that the feather shall be removed immediately. Upon compliance, the team member may continue to warm up with his or her teammates and may start the game without penalty. (3-5-4e)

3.5B

Rich Fri Feb 01, 2013 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 876403)
2001-02 Interps:
SITUATION 8: During the pre-game warm-up, the officials observe that A4 is wearing a ring with tape covering it. The officials notify A4 that he/she must remove the ring in order to participate in the pre-game warm-up and the game. A4 responds that the ring cannot physically be removed. RULING: The referee informs A4 and A’s head coach that A4 cannot participate while wearing a ring, even with the tape covering it. (3-5)

2011-12 Interps:
SITUATION 1: The officials are on the court prior to the game observing the team warm-ups. One official notices that a member of Team A is wearing a decorative feather in the hair. RULING: The official should inform the team member and/or coach that the feather shall be removed immediately. Upon compliance, the team member may continue to warm up with his or her teammates and may start the game without penalty. (3-5-4e)

3.5B

Thanks, Bob. I would've looked through them at some point.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1