The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Simultaneous fouls during try. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93461-simultaneous-fouls-during-try.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Jan 09, 2013 09:37am

Simultaneous fouls during try.
 
A1 drives to the basket and begins the shooting motion. B1 fouls A1 during the act of shooting. AT THE SAME TIME, A2 fouls B2 while trying to get rebounding position. The ball enters the basket.

The basket is scored. B1 and A2 are charged with personal fouls. How is the game resumed?

1) A1 attempts one free throw (with players lined up along the lane); or

2) No free throw is awarded due to the simultaneous fouls. Throw in for Team B anywhere along the endline.

This happened in an NCAA game, so I would like an NCAA opinion; although I'd love to hear if anyone thinks there's a different ruling for NFHS.

Scrapper1 Wed Jan 09, 2013 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zyerobinson (Post 871121)
By NFHS standards, if A2 fouls B2 before the ball is airborne, the play is dead

Good point. Same would be true for NCAA. Let's assume the ball is released on the try when the two fouls occur. (I got a call this morning asking about this play, so I didn't personally see it. I can't honestly say where the ball was.)

PG_Ref Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 871122)
Good point. Same would be true for NCAA. Let's assume the ball is released on the try when the two fouls occur. (I got a call this morning asking about this play, so I didn't personally see it. I can't honestly say where the ball was.)

If the ball is already released, if it goes in count the basket, A1 shoots 1, with players lined up, unless B is in the bonus. If it doesn't go in, A1 shoots 2 (or 3), with players lined up, unless B is in the bonus.

letemplay Wed Jan 09, 2013 03:04pm

And if B is in bonus, then A takes shots with lane empty, then lane filled on other end for B's 1+1 or 2? If B is NOT in bonus, is there no other penalty to A in this case (other than a foul charged)? Guess if A1 had 3 ft's coming, made 2, missed third and A2 was able to get rebound and extend the possesion, that's just the way it goes.

Adam Wed Jan 09, 2013 03:16pm

Simultaneous fouls. No free throws, throw in at POI. B gets an endline throw in if the basket is made (which it was in the OP), AP arrow if the shot misses.

If the fouls occurred prior to the release, then the basket does not count, no free throws, ball to A as POI.

NFHS

Scrapper1 Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:27pm

So nobody else has any thoughts? Adam definitely nailed it?

JRutledge Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:30pm

That is the rule after all. I have only had one of these in my career and the rule was different.

Peace

maven Thu Jan 10, 2013 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 871282)
So nobody else has any thoughts? Adam definitely nailed it?

Oh sure, throw your buddy under the bus! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1