The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Almost blarge (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93453-almost-blarge.html)

zm1283 Tue Jan 08, 2013 09:45pm

Almost blarge
 
6:59 in first half of Purdue/Ohio State game. L had a block and C had PC. C all but signalled the PC and they went with the block. L reached across the lane just like in the high school video from recently.

zm1283 Tue Jan 08, 2013 09:56pm

They also just had a spot throw-in violation and the administering official gave the traveling signal.

JugglingReferee Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:10pm

To me, those are still a blarge. I'm sure that the coach that would have benefited from the charge knew what the C was about to call. And the coach rightfully should say something to the crew.

I'd like to see video to compare it to the HS call you mentioned.

zm1283 Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 871027)
To me, those are still a blarge. I'm sure that the coach that would have benefited from the charge knew what the C was about to call. And the coach rightfully should say something to the crew.

I'd like to see video to compare it to the HS call you mentioned.

I think it was a blarge too. The C turned his body and brought his right arm up to point the other direction but didn't extend it.

I also think the L got it wrong and it was a PC foul.

If someone can get the video it would be much appreciated.

JetMetFan Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:52am

If APG doesn't beat me to it I'll try to post when I get home from work later this morning.

I had to laugh when I watched it. The C had that "gee, I hope no one noticed me" body language when he pulled back on the PC call.

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 09, 2013 04:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 871055)
If APG doesn't beat me to it I'll try to post when I get home from work later this morning.

I had to laugh when I watched it. The C had that "gee, I hope no one noticed me" body language when he pulled back on the PC call.

That's what I'm talking about. At that level, I don't think they fool anyone.

JetMetFan Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:53am

Here's the play...
 
...talk amongst yourselves.

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/daY2108_7ik" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:18pm

Steratore had no business having whistle on that play. He a whistle on an OOB later that wasn't his line and the called had to be reversed.

rockyroad Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 871171)
Steratore had no business having whistle on that play. He a whistle on an OOB later that wasn't his line and the called had to be reversed.

Agreed...for some reason the L reaches across on plays like this quite often in NCAA-M games. I really don't get it.

ballgame99 Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:46pm

I ask this because I don't have any 3 man experience; on this play, what should the L be looking at if he's NOT supposed to be looking at this contact? Doesn't he have to come up with a whistle here and maybe defer to the C?

At what point (if any) does this call become the L's? Once it gets into the lane?

Rich Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 871171)
Steratore had no business having whistle on that play. He a whistle on an OOB later that wasn't his line and the called had to be reversed.

On top of that, I think it's an IC. Just goes to show what happens when you reach.

Rich Wed Jan 09, 2013 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 871182)
I ask this because I don't have any 3 man experience; on this play, what should the L be looking at if he's NOT supposed to be looking at this contact? Doesn't he have to come up with a whistle here and maybe defer to the C?

At what point (if any) does this call become the L's? Once it gets into the lane?

Come up with a fist, not with two hands banging the hips.

rockyroad Wed Jan 09, 2013 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 871182)
I ask this because I don't have any 3 man experience; on this play, what should the L be looking at if he's NOT supposed to be looking at this contact? Doesn't he have to come up with a whistle here and maybe defer to the C?

At what point (if any) does this call become the L's? Once it gets into the lane?

He has three to four other players running into the key to be watching as they position for rebounds or try to contest the shot. He should wait and let the C have this call as it is clearly his...if the C doesn't have a whistle, then go get it, but let the C have first crack at it.

icallfouls Wed Jan 09, 2013 01:20pm

Silly L....IC for you....Sincerely, John Adams

zm1283 Wed Jan 09, 2013 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 871171)
Steratore had no business having whistle on that play. He a whistle on an OOB later that wasn't his line and the called had to be reversed.

And if it's the same one I'm thinking of, they got it wrong too. They conferred and gave it to Purdue. The replay showed Purdue's player caused it to go OOB.

zm1283 Wed Jan 09, 2013 01:22pm

After seeing it, what are everyone's thoughts about whether it's a blarge or not? The C was clearly going to call a PC foul, no doubt about it. Does the fact that he didn't finish the mechanic change anything?

After seeing it again, I think it's a blarge.

rockyroad Wed Jan 09, 2013 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 871192)
After seeing it, what are everyone's thoughts about whether it's a blarge or not? The C was clearly going to call a PC foul, no doubt about it. Does the fact that he didn't finish the mechanic change anything?

After seeing it again, I think it's a blarge.

This will probably lead into the "when is a call actually called" argument again...

IMO, since the C did not actually signal anything (yes, he started to), I do not think it was a blarge.

Tio Wed Jan 09, 2013 02:08pm

I think you have to administer the blarge. The C is pointing the other way and the L signals block. It is hard to explain your way out of it based on what the tape shows.

From a mechanics standpoint... this is exactly why we preach "slow to show from the outside." Everyone should really be slow to show but I understand why the lead tends to get excited on bang/bang plays.

Additionally when in transition, we should discuss court coverage in pregame. IMO - the lead DOES NOT have first crack at a play outside the far lane line. First shot goes to the C.

After looking at the play, I think a blocking foul is the correct call though.

Welpe Wed Jan 09, 2013 02:20pm

I think it's a blarge too. The C is just about to finish hammering it down when he pulls his arm down like he had to suddenly scratch an itch.

Sure can't find a block in that play.

jeschmit Wed Jan 09, 2013 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871202)
After looking at the play, I think a blocking foul is the correct call though.

Can I ask you what the defender did wrong there?

Tio Wed Jan 09, 2013 02:43pm

If you look at the "top view" near the end of the clip (23 seconds or so), the offensive player makes a move to go around the defender (offense's left) and the defender actually stops, reverses direction and jumps to his right. He does not beat the offensive player to the spot and I have a block.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 09, 2013 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871214)
If you look at the "top view" near the end of the clip (23 seconds or so), the offensive player makes a move to go around the defender (offense's left) and the defender actually stops, reverses direction and jumps to his right. He does not beat the offensive player to the spot and I have a block.

This is the only part I disagree with. Bang-bang, but the defender's feet were both on the ground at that new-ish spot before the shooter's foot leaves the floor, IMO.

HawkeyeCubP Wed Jan 09, 2013 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 871174)
Agreed...for some reason the L reaches across on plays like this quite often in NCAA-M games. I really don't get it.

True. That.

VaTerp Wed Jan 09, 2013 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 871190)
And if it's the same one I'm thinking of, they got it wrong too. They conferred and gave it to Purdue. The replay showed Purdue's player caused it to go OOB.

They did get it wrong but Steratore actually had it right initially. If I remember correctly it was an odd play where the lead came across with his hand up, seemingly asking for help. Steratore emphatically pointed the other way then the L indicates possession would stay on this end of the floor.

They got together and end up going with the Ls call but replays showed that was wrong. Whole thing seemed odd the way they handled it.

As for this play, Steratore absolutely needs to give the C the first crack at this.

JetMetFan Wed Jan 09, 2013 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 871216)
This is the only part I disagree with. Bang-bang, but the defender's feet were both on the ground at that new-ish spot before the shooter's foot leaves the floor, IMO.

I have a PC. The defender maintained LGP. He was moving backwards at the point of contact and A1 had not left the floor on his try attempt.

Tio Wed Jan 09, 2013 06:10pm

That is the beauty of this! To each is entitled his own opinion.

That being said, the fact that he has to jump back and is does not beat the offensive player to the spot seals the deal. But, if you watch the real-time play it is close. The top-view at the end of the clip provides the best angle.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 09, 2013 06:49pm

I'm not so sure he ever had 2 feet down while in the path and facing the offense. At the moment he had 2 feet down, he wasn't facing the opponent but was turned sideways. He stepped back to turn and face the opponent but that foot didn't make it to the floor before contact.

It is extremely close, however.

Raymond Wed Jan 09, 2013 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 871190)
And if it's the same one I'm thinking of, they got it wronIfg too. They conferred and gave it to Purdue. The replay showed Purdue's player caused it to go OOB.

If the Lead had asked for help or had Steratore let the Lead make his call first then brought him the info I believe they would have ended up getting it right.

These 2 plays illustrate 2 situations that should be part of our pregames.

JetMetFan Wed Jan 09, 2013 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 871244)
I'm not so sure he ever had 2 feet down while in the path and facing the offense. At the moment he had 2 feet down, he wasn't facing the opponent but was turned sideways. He stepped back to turn and face the opponent but that foot didn't make it to the floor before contact.

It is extremely close, however.

Fair point. So the question could be do these qualify as two feet and facing. They're all roughly the same moment, just from different angles.

http://i49.tinypic.com/2btqvs.jpg

http://i45.tinypic.com/cmdf7.jpg

http://i45.tinypic.com/21d2b9j.jpg

Camron Rust Wed Jan 09, 2013 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 871253)
Fair point. So the question could be do these qualify as two feet and facing. They're all roughly the same moment, just from different angles.

...and in the path...if you're not in the path, you're not even guarding, much less having legal guarding position.

Assuming you consider it in the path, the question that would answer that would be whether you would have called a block or a charge if the defender was just reaching that position simultaneous with contact. I don't think I've ever seen a charge called when a defender arrives and takes contact while still turned like that and takes the contact from the direction where the opponent is...he would have run into the side of his shoulder.

Unrelated, those angles show that the L has the most open view of that play while the C had to deal with #1 crossing his line of sight.

JetMetFan Wed Jan 09, 2013 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 871258)
...and in the path...if you're not in the path, you're not even guarding, much less having legal guarding position.

The defender would appear to be in the path since he's between A1 and the goal. The only way he's not in the path is if A1 wasn't heading to the goal.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 871258)
Unrelated, those angles show that the L has the most open view of that play while the C had to deal with #1 crossing his line of sight.

I would argue there's no way for the L to know this unless C has the chance to make a call on the play but doesn't. As the video shows, C was coming out with a call but L reached out of his area to take the play. To me, this is the same situation as the Montverde/Simeon play posted in the other string. Let the guy who is supposed to call the play call it. Unless the NCAAM CCA manual differs from the NCAAW CCA manual on this, the C has the primary call on this because the play took place on his side of the floor.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 871259)
The defender would appear to be in the path since he's between A1 and the goal. The only way he's not in the path is if A1 wasn't heading to the goal.

The path is the direction the player is heading...which may or may not be directly to the basket. At that point, what direction was the player moving in? He was going to the right of the defender then cut back to go around the left side. The stills don't show the timing of that.

Raymond Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 871258)
...

Unrelated, those angles show that the L has the most open view of that play while the C had to deal with #1 crossing his line of sight.

The Lead had at least one body in his vision path. And the contact occurred outside the paint. The Lead needs to have a late whistle, not the primary whistle.

jeschmit Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 871259)
The defender would appear to be in the path since he's between A1 and the goal. The only way he's not in the path is if A1 wasn't heading to the goal.



I would argue there's no way for the L to know this unless C has the chance to make a call on the play but doesn't. As the video shows, C was coming out with a call but L reached out of his area to take the play. To me, this is the same situation as the Montverde/Simeon play posted in the other string. Let the guy who is supposed to call the play call it. Unless the NCAAM CCA manual differs from the NCAAW CCA manual on this, the C has the primary call on this because the play took place on his side of the floor.

This is the C's call... In both NCAA-M and NCAA-W. The contact isn't even taken in the lane. Lead stretched, and when you make a call out of your area, you are more likely to be wrong than right.

Rich Thu Jan 10, 2013 09:57am

This is just my opinion, but I think those who would call this a block expect too much from defenders.

Tio Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:16am

This is a block. The defender overruns the angle then backtracks to try and take the charge and DOES NOT beat the offense to the spot. The offensive player makes a move to avoid the contact. Agree with Camron 100% that the defender doesn't get into the path in time.

If you don't see this when reviewing the top angle (0:23 seconds) we will have to agree to disagree on the outcome.

Raymond Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871324)
This is a block. The defender overruns the angle then backtracks to try and take the charge and DOES NOT beat the offense to the spot. The offensive player makes a move to avoid the contact. Agree with Camron 100% that the defender doesn't get into the path in time.

If you don't see this when reviewing the top angle (0:23 seconds) we will have to agree to disagree on the outcome.

A1 is not an airborne shooter and B1 beats him to the spot, so I have a PC.

Rich Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871324)
This is a block. The defender overruns the angle then backtracks to try and take the charge and DOES NOT beat the offense to the spot. The offensive player makes a move to avoid the contact. Agree with Camron 100% that the defender doesn't get into the path in time.

If you don't see this when reviewing the top angle (0:23 seconds) we will have to agree to disagree on the outcome.

Then we will disagree. No skin off my nose.

Welpe Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871324)
This is a block. The defender ... DOES NOT beat the offense to the spot.

With the contact squarely in the chest (I understand that's not the rule), it is hard for me to see it that way.

JugglingReferee Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871318)
This is just my opinion, but I think those who would call this a block expect too much from defenders.

Precisely.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 10, 2013 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 871343)
With the contact squarely in the chest (I understand that's not the rule), it is hard for me to see it that way.

Taking contact in the chest is not relevant if the defender never got 2 feet down while facing the opponent....and that is the point I'm making. I'm not sure he did.

And, while I've been arguing the point of view supporting a block, I'd probably have a charge in the game....close enough to legal for me that I'd not be able to tell otherwise in real time.

rockyroad Thu Jan 10, 2013 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871333)
Then we will disagree. No skin off my nose.

If there is skin off your nose, I can give you some of mine as I happen to agree with you...and will add that I think your comment about expecting too much from the defender is spot on, and is one of the big problems I see with officiating in my area (it's probably not a problem in that one certain area of Illinois, though).

Tio Thu Jan 10, 2013 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 871318)
This is just my opinion, but I think those who would call this a block expect too much from defenders.

Only that they beat the offense to the spot to get a charge.

rockyroad Thu Jan 10, 2013 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871372)
Only that they beat the offense to the spot to get a charge.

Is that required by rule?

Rich Thu Jan 10, 2013 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871372)
Only that they beat the offense to the spot to get a charge.

The picture you reference is well before the contact. Since it's not an airborne shooter, I'm just looking for feet down facing the ball handler before contact. And IMO, this is satisfied.

I thought we agreed to disagree.

Tio Thu Jan 10, 2013 03:49pm

Basketball at its fundamental roots is all about the offense beating the defense to more advantageous position to score. It is the spirit for which every rule was written.

Look, it is a close play. The real learning on this is the court positioning and communication between the C & L.

This thread can be closed as far as I'm concerned.

rockyroad Thu Jan 10, 2013 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 871380)
Basketball at its fundamental roots is all about the offense beating the defense to more advantageous position to score Without doing certain things. It is the spirit for which every rule was written.


Fixed it for you...

maven Thu Jan 10, 2013 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 871354)
If there is skin off your nose, I can give you some of mine as I happen to agree with you...and will add that I think your comment about expecting too much from the defender is spot on, and is one of the big problems I see with officiating in my area (it's probably not a problem in that one certain area of Illinois, though).

I agree with both points here: that officials who require defenders to be standing still in a spot long before contact are making defense too difficult, and that such a requirement seems to be imposed by many HS officials.

Some folks I have worked with seem to call a block on virtually all contact, and they seem to justify doing so on the ground that they get less flak for it. That's not good officiating, IMO, and makes defense too hard.

Some people are worried about the "pendulum" swinging the other way, with too many PC calls, making offense too hard. I don't see that happening in my area.

rockyroad Thu Jan 10, 2013 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 871386)
I agree with both points here: that officials who require defenders to be standing still in a spot long before contact are making defense too difficult, and that such a requirement seems to be imposed by many HS officials.

Some folks I have worked with seem to call a block on virtually all contact, and they seem to justify doing so on the ground that they get less flak for it. That's not good officiating, IMO, and makes defense too hard.

Some people are worried about the "pendulum" swinging the other way, with too many PC calls, making offense too hard. I don't see that happening in my area.

Agreed.

zm1283 Thu Jan 10, 2013 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 871386)
I agree with both points here: that officials who require defenders to be standing still in a spot long before contact are making defense too difficult, and that such a requirement seems to be imposed by many HS officials.

Some folks I have worked with seem to call a block on virtually all contact, and they seem to justify doing so on the ground that they get less flak for it. That's not good officiating, IMO, and makes defense too hard.

Some people are worried about the "pendulum" swinging the other way, with too many PC calls, making offense too hard. I don't see that happening in my area.

+100. Couldn't have said it better.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1