The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A foul or not to foul? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93444-foul-not-foul.html)

Sharpshooternes Tue Jan 08, 2013 04:37am

A foul or not to foul?
 
A1 fouls B1. B1 is awarded ball out of bounds. They inbound the ball and are foulled by A2. Partner realizes just as I am calling the foul that we should have been in one and one after the original foul. So in this CE scenario, what is the proper ruling. I think that we should award B1 the merited FT's, the foul shall not be charged to A2 and time consumed shall remain consumed (ie no adjustment to the clock should be made.) Is this correct?

Now lets say we have the same scenario except there isn't a foul by A2 but a basket scored by B2 after the inbound pass after the original foul, then what?

JetMetFan Tue Jan 08, 2013 05:14am

Umm...in most scenarios A1 is an offensive player so B1 wouldn't be shooting since it would have been a TC foul.

But since I'm guessing that wasn't your intent ;)...B1 would shoot 1-and-1 with no one on the lane then the next Team B player who was fouled would shoot 1-and-1 with people on the lane. The foul against A2 counts.

In your second scenario, you have until the ball is at the disposal of Team A following B2's field goal to correct the error. If you catch it in time, the goal by B2 would count, you would shoot B1's 1-and-1 with no one on the lane and then you would go to the POI, which would be Team A allowed to run the end line after B2's field goal.

Sharpshooternes Tue Jan 08, 2013 05:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 870826)
Umm...in most scenarios A1 is an offensive player so B1 wouldn't be shooting since it would have been a TC foul.

But since I'm guess that wasn't your intent ;)...B1 would shoot 1-and-1 with no one on the lane then the next Team B player who was fouled would shoot 1-and-1 with people on the lane. The foul against A2 counts.

In your second scenario, you have until the ball is at the disposal of Team A following B2's field goal to correct the error. If you catch it in time, the goal by B2 would count, you would shoot B1's 1-and-1 with no one on the lane and then you would go to the POI, which would be Team A allowed to run the end line after B2's field goal.

Sounds good. The only thing I did wrong was didn't let the second b shooter have his 1 and 1. :o

RookieDude Tue Jan 08, 2013 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 870829)
Sounds good. The only thing I did wrong was didn't let the second b shooter have his 1 and 1. :o

...and you didn't charge a foul to A2. (probably why you didn't allow the "second b shooter" to have his 1 and 1.) ;)

bob jenkins Tue Jan 08, 2013 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 870836)
...and you didn't charge a foul to A2. (probably why you didn't allow the "second b shooter" to have his 1 and 1.) ;)

And how did you resume play?

deecee Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 870841)
And how did you resume play?

By blowing the whistle?:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1