The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another Backcourt situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93375-another-backcourt-situation.html)

Rob1968 Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:17pm

Another Backcourt situation
 
A1 dribbling, advancing from backcourt to frontcourt, has both feet in frontcourt, last dribble in backcourt; then the ball comes up to his hand, and then hits his leg, and then the floor in backcourt. A1 reaches across the midcourt line, and continues the dribble.
Do we understand the "both feet and the ball in the frontcourt," when advancing from backcourt to frontcourt concept to mean that the ball has to hit the court, to satisfy that requirement, or does 4-4-2 make the play a backcourt violation?

HawkeyeCubP Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 869448)
A1 dribbling, advancing from backcourt to frontcourt, has both feet in frontcourt, last dribble in backcourt; then the ball comes up to his hand, and then hits his leg, and then the floor in backcourt. A1 reaches across the midcourt line, and continues the dribble.
Do we understand the "both feet and the ball in the frontcourt," when advancing from backcourt to frontcourt concept to mean that the ball has to hit the court, to satisfy that requirement, or does 4-4-2 make the play a backcourt violation?

If A1 hasn't ended the dribble, I'd say that the "three points" criteria still stands here, and I wouldn't have a backcourt violation.

just another ref Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:04am

The contact with the leg does not end the dribble.

No violation.

JugglingReferee Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 869448)
A1 dribbling, advancing from backcourt to frontcourt, has both feet in frontcourt, last dribble in backcourt; then the ball comes up to his hand, and then hits his leg, and then the floor in backcourt. A1 reaches across the midcourt line, and continues the dribble.
Do we understand the "both feet and the ball in the frontcourt," when advancing from backcourt to frontcourt concept to mean that the ball has to hit the court, to satisfy that requirement, or does 4-4-2 make the play a backcourt violation?

I believe this is also stated, "could an interrupted dribble end the '3-points rule of thumb'?"

I would say no.

Camron Rust Wed Jan 02, 2013 01:39am

Agree...no violation. The dribble has not ended so it is still "during" a dribble.

maven Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:27am

And if the dribble HAD ended, it STILL wouldn't be BC: the dribble ended before the ball had FC status, so you'd have an illegal dribble before you had BC.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1