The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   First time ever basket interference call, was I correct? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93360-first-time-ever-basket-interference-call-i-correct.html)

jkumpire Sat Dec 29, 2012 09:42am

First time ever basket interference call, was I correct?
 
Hope all is well folks, first post in a very long time here....

Working a JV tournament yesterday of all things and A1 hits A2 in stride for a wide open layup. A2 goes to dunk the ball but misses it. Ball goes up in the air off the back rim then he grabs the rim and pulls it down. As the ball goes through the hoop I'm calling basket interference on A2, with appropriate static from JV coaches who never see a kid dunk on their level :eek:

I am 100% sure I'm right here, but it's the first time I can remember a kid missing a dunk and the ball going in after he grabs the rim. Pleas enlighten me as to the correctness of my call.

Thank you.

JetMetFan Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 868964)
Hope all is well folks, first post in a very long time here....

Working a JV tournament yesterday of all things and A1 hits A2 in stride for a wide open layup. A2 goes to dunk the ball but misses it. Ball goes up in the air off the back rim then he grabs the rim and pulls it down. As the ball goes through the hoop I'm calling basket interference on A2, with appropriate static from JV coaches who never see a kid dunk on their level :eek:

I am 100% sure I'm right here, but it's the first time I can remember a kid missing a dunk and the ball going in after he grabs the rim. Pleas enlighten me as to the correctness of my call.

Thank you.

Hey JK...

Go through the criteria from Rule 4-6:

Quote:

Basket interference occurs when a player:
*Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.
*Touches the ball while any part of the ball is within the imaginary cylinder which has the basket ring as its lower base.
*Touches the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below.
*Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.
From your description it doesn't sound as though you had BI. What you could have had was a T on A2 for grasping the ring but that would depend on whether you thought he was protecting himself from injury.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 868971)
Hey JK...

Go through the criteria from Rule 4-6:



From your description it doesn't sound as though you had BI. What you could have had was a T on A2 for grasping the ring but that would depend on whether you thought he was protecting himself from injury.

As I read the play, this part was violated:
Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket

VaTerp Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 868964)

I am 100% sure I'm right here, but it's the first time I can remember a kid missing a dunk and the ball going in after he grabs the rim. Pleas enlighten me as to the correctness of my call.

Thank you.

If you are 100% sure you are right why are you asking?

This is a HTBT situation. If a player attempts to dunk and loses the ball above the rim in the process as they grab the rim then I'm inclined to have nothing. I've seen this play before.

If the player clearly releases the ball then subsequently grabs the rim while the ball is on or above the cylinder then I would have basket interference.

Without seeing the play its difficult to comment on whether you ruled correctly or not.

BillyMac Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:16pm

Who You Gonna Call ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 868981)
If the player ... grabs the rim while the ball is .. above the cylinder then I would have basket interference.

Are you sure that this is basket interference?

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg

A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 868979)
As I read the play, this part was violated:
Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket

Agreed. The rim is pulled down and the ball enters the basket, basket interference. Good call!

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 868981)
If you are 100% sure you are right why are you asking?

This is a HTBT situation. If a player attempts to dunk and loses the ball above the rim in the process as they grab the rim then I'm inclined to have nothing. I've seen this play before.

If the player clearly releases the ball then subsequently grabs the rim while the ball is on or above the cylinder then I would have basket interference.

Without seeing the play its difficult to comment on whether you ruled correctly or not.

He's not asking what you're "inclined" to call. He's asking if he ruled correctly on the play based on his description. The answer is yes.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 29, 2012 01:35pm

I agree with Bktballref. There is a case book play on this as well stating that it is offensive BI.

maven Sat Dec 29, 2012 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 868988)
I agree with Bktballref. There is a case book play on this as well stating that it is offensive BI.

Me too, and thanks to JetMetFan for posting the BI criteria to facilitate the discussion.

BillyMac Sat Dec 29, 2012 03:12pm

This One ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 868988)
I agree with Bktballref. There is a case book play on this as well stating that it is offensive BI.

9.11.2 SITUATION B: A1 throws the ball into the basket from above, but from
outside the cylinder. A1’s hand loses contact with the ball before the ball enters
the cylinder. However, on the follow-through, A1’s hand enters the cylinder and
again contacts the ball. RULING: Violation. It is not a violation for a player to have
a hand within the cylinder above the basket provided it is not touching the ball.
The rules do allow a player to carry the ball into the cylinder above the ring or
place the ball into the basket itself. It is basket interference; however, when a player
touches the ball or the basket when the ball is in or on the basket, or touches
the ball while any portion of the ball is touching the cylinder directly above the
basket and the player did not carry the ball into the cylinder or basket. (4-6)

just another ref Sat Dec 29, 2012 03:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 868988)
I agree with Bktballref. There is a case book play on this as well stating that it is offensive BI.

Thought I was familiar with this case play, but I can't seem to locate it.

Where is it?

bob jenkins Sat Dec 29, 2012 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 868992)
Thanks, guys. I didn't factor in the part in the OP that said the ball went in, meaning it still had to be in the cylinder. Nice call, JK!

Contacting the rim whil the ball is in the cylinder is nothing (assuming the grasp itself was legal).

Contacting the rim while the ball is on or in the basket is BI.

maven Sat Dec 29, 2012 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 868997)
Contacting the rim while the ball is in the cylinder is nothing (assuming the grasp itself was legal).

I have had to pull out the book to convince (veteran) partners that this is nothing. They were thinking of contacting the ball while it is in the cylinder and extended it to contacting anything....

JetMetFan Sat Dec 29, 2012 08:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 868997)
Contacting the rim whil the ball is in the cylinder is nothing (assuming the grasp itself was legal).

Contacting the rim while the ball is on or in the basket is BI.

Good Lord...one of these days I'll remember to trust myself when I write.

That being the case...no BI. The OP doesn't say the rim made contact with the ball as it (the rim) returned to its normal position nor does it say A2 touched the ball while it was in the cylinder. A2 was allowed to be in contact with the ball on the initial shot because he was attempting a dunk.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 869003)
That being the case...no BI. The OP doesn't say the rim made contact with the ball as it (the rim) returned to its normal position nor does it say A2 touched the ball while it was in the cylinder. A2 was allowed to be in contact with the ball on the initial shot because he was attempting a dunk.

A2 has pulled the rim down. When the ball enters the basket before the rim returns to it's proper position, that's BI.

just another ref Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 869010)
A2 has pulled the rim down. When the ball enters the basket before the rim returns to it's proper position, that's BI.

Even if it doesn't touch the rim?

In the OP, it doesn't say whether it has returned when the ball enters or not.

Adam Sun Dec 30, 2012 02:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 869014)
Even if it doesn't touch the rim?

In the OP, it doesn't say whether it has returned when the ball enters or not.

It says he's holding the rim while the ball goes through.

just another ref Sun Dec 30, 2012 02:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 869022)
It says he's holding the rim while the ball goes through.

Actually it doesn't.

Adam Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 869024)
Actually it doesn't.

Well, you're right. I read into it.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 30, 2012 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 869039)
Well, you're right. I read into it.

While it doesn't explicitly say it, the list of events as described say he grabs the rim, pulls it down, then the ball goes trough. I think it is pretty safe to read that as he hadn't let go yet....BI.

Adam Sun Dec 30, 2012 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 869054)
While it doesn't explicitly say it, the list of events as described say he grabs the rim, pulls it down, then the ball goes trough. I think it is pretty safe to read that as he hadn't let go yet....BI.

I agree, reading that into the OP isn't unreasonable. But only the OP can answer for sure.

jkumpire Sun Dec 30, 2012 08:10pm

Gentlemen, my apologies
 
Please forgive me for my inadequate description of the play. Yes the player was hanging on the rim and it hadn't snapped back into position when the ball went through.

As an official it is so interesting to read through threads and recall how you reacted in a similar play, what you looked for and how your knowledge of the rule determined your call based on what your response to what you see. I remember seeing the ball go in the net before it was snapped back into position, and that's when I called BI.

I should have more confidence in myself than to ask about such a simple question. At least I learned something. Thank you for your time, and again my apologies.

BillyMac Mon Dec 31, 2012 07:19am

Still Need More Information ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 869147)
The player was hanging on the rim and it hadn't snapped back into position when the ball went through.

Did the ring contact the ball, or did the ball go straight "through" without contacting the ring?

4-6-4: Basket Interference: Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.

BktBallRef Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 869199)
Did the ring contact the ball, or did the ball go straight "through" without contacting the ring?

4-6-4: Basket Interference: Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position.

It doesn't matter.

4-6-1: Basket interference: Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

BillyMac Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:32am

Always Listen To BktBallRef ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire (Post 869147)
Hanging on the rim ... when the ball went through.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 869208)
It doesn't matter.

4-6-1: Basket interference: Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

You're right. In contact with basket (ring) when the ball goes through (in the basket) is definitely basket interference. I somehow, mistakenly, pictured the ball in the cylinder, not in the basket, as the ring sprang back into position.

maven Mon Dec 31, 2012 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 869054)
While it doesn't explicitly say it, the list of events as described say he grabs the rim, pulls it down, then the ball goes trough. I think it is pretty safe to read that as he hadn't let go yet....BI.

The whole thread makes sense only if the ball went through while the player was still touching it. The only charitable interpretation of the OP is to assume this.

MD Longhorn Mon Dec 31, 2012 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 868981)
If the player clearly releases the ball then subsequently grabs the rim while the ball is on or above the cylinder then I would have basket interference.

I agree with most of what you said, but THIS (and this alone) is not (yet) basket interference. Only if the basket is still slightly own when the ball comes through would you have BI here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1