The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Intentional Foul on Made Basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93290-intentional-foul-made-basket.html)

IAUMP Wed Dec 19, 2012 08:31am

Intentional Foul on Made Basket

I was watching a Boys Varsity game last night and there was an interesting call that made the crew huddle for a couple of minutes. A1 stole the ball for a break away layup. During the shot B1 committed an intentional foul by pushing A1 in the torso, no play on the ball just two hands/arms in the A1s side. A1 made the basket. The officials awarded the basket, 2 free throws and the ball to A on the baseline. I think the discussion was if the should award 2 or 3 free throws. Since I am in my first year of basketball, I don't know which is correct and would like your opinions.

grunewar Wed Dec 19, 2012 08:32am

Whether the basket goes in or not, you get 2 shots and the ball is in-bounded nearest to where the foul occurred - in this case, on the end-line.

Sounds like it was administered correctly.

JeroenB Wed Dec 19, 2012 08:35am

Why would it be 3 free throws if the foul isn't on a threepoint attempt? Shouldn't the question be if it is 1 or 2 free throws?

OKREF Wed Dec 19, 2012 08:38am

4-19-3

Two shots. If the shot was a missed 3 point attempt you get 3 free throws.

grunewar Wed Dec 19, 2012 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JeroenB (Post 867691)
Shouldn't the question be if it is 1 or 2 free throws?

I would say yes.

If the official calls the foul on the try it's one FT.

If, by getting together, it is determined, that it was INT, then it's two FT's and the ball.

If the official went straight to INT, then there is no real need to meet and discuss other than to ensure they administer it properly (clear the lane and where the ball goes, etc.).

letemplay Wed Dec 19, 2012 09:39am

Clarification