The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tip to yourself (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93261-tip-yourself.html)

PP Mon Dec 17, 2012 09:20am

Tip to yourself
 
Player A is dribbling the ball in the front court. Player B pokes it away. The ball is roll owing towards player A's basket. Player B attempts to grab the ball but cannot so he rolls it two times while running then picks it up and does a layup. Is this play legal? Can you tip the ball to yourself consecutively?

Freddy Mon Dec 17, 2012 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PP (Post 867233)
Player A is dribbling the ball in the front court. Player B pokes it away. The ball is roll owing towards player A's basket. Player B attempts to grab the ball but cannot so he rolls it two times while running then picks it up and does a layup. Is this play legal? Can you tip the ball to yourself consecutively?

Using the words of your signature at the bottom of your post, some of your "basketball terms" in the question are not "understood" by me. :confused:

If possible, please rephrase your question a little more clearly and you can be sure I and others will be happy to study the situation. :)

Adam Mon Dec 17, 2012 09:36am

Looks legal to me, two points for team A.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 17, 2012 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PP (Post 867233)
Player A is dribbling the ball in the front court. Player B pokes it away. The ball is roll owing towards player A's basket. Player B attempts to grab the ball but cannot so he rolls it two times while running then picks it up and does a layup. Is this play legal? Can you tip the ball to yourself consecutively?

Was the "roll" a dribble? A fumble? Would you have granted Team B a TO if requested during this act?

bob jenkins Mon Dec 17, 2012 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 867241)
Looks legal to me, two points for team A.

I assumed he was using FIBA notations (which, of couse means that my question about granting a TO might not be relevant -- replace it with "If B had pushed A out of that way during this, would you have a TC foul?)

Twinfan Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PP (Post 867233)
Player A is dribbling the ball in the front court. Player B pokes it away. The ball is roll owing towards player A's basket. Player B attempts to grab the ball but cannot so he rolls it two times while running then picks it up and does a layup. Is this play legal? Can you tip the ball to yourself consecutively?

You did not specify your rule set. In Ont you may be using FIBA rules. 13.1 reads as follows:
During the game, the ball is played with the hand(s) only and may be passed, thrown, tapped, rolled or dribbled in any direction, subject to the restrictions of these rules.

So legal play as described unless Player B travels after picking up the ball or some other violation occurs. You are using the term "tip" but you are describing a player rolling the ball.

letemplay Mon Dec 17, 2012 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 867241)
Looks legal to me, two points for team A.

For Team A?? Guess when B had his head down rollin along he forgot which was his goal.

Adam Mon Dec 17, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 867285)
For Team A?? Guess when B had his head down rollin along he forgot which was his goal.

OP said they were heading toward team A's basket. I didn't think of FIBA rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1