![]() |
Player touches ball to floor while ball is in both hands
Can a player who receives the ball, whether he has or has not established a pivot yet, stoop down to touch the ball to the floor with both hands on the ball? And can that player then begin a dribble?
|
Yes
|
Thank you. Can a player do that multiple times? I've seen it called as a travel, or double dribble, which doesn't seem to make sense, but I could see maybe a dead ball call? Are the rules different for HS, college and NBA on this one?
|
Thanks just saw the other thread on this, good to know.
|
Yes, they can do it multiple times...I'm not sure what you're trying to say as far as a dead ball call. The rule is not different under high school, NCAA, or NBA rules.
|
Quote:
If you have seen it called illegal, then you've seen an official who thinks that ugly or unusual must be illegal. That's not a sound officiating philosophy: no rule prohibits the action you describe. |
NFHS Case Book...Rule 4-15 Comment
4.15
COMMENT: It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble. A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. It is a dribble when a player stands still and bounces the ball. It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46am. |