The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul during FT (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93123-foul-during-ft.html)

Triad zebra Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:14pm

Foul during FT
 
A1 shooting 1-1. While ball is in flight on first throw A2 commits foul on B2. I believe we immediately cancel the throw because of A'2s foul and give ball to team B for a spot throw in.
Same play but, A1 is shooting 2. Do we clear lane for A1 2nd attempt and then give ball to B?
Does someone have the case play, I was unable to find it.

johnsonboys03 Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:23pm

case play 6.7 situation b.
ruling if the foul occurred after the ball was in flight , the points counts if the throw was successful and no substitute throw is awarded if not successful. If A1 had not released the free throw attempt before A2 fouled B1, the ball became dead when the team control foul occurred and A1 is permitted an unhindered free throw. The foul by A2 results in the ball being awared to team B at the oob spot nearest to where A2 foulded B1 unless the free throw attempt by A1 is successful in which case B will throw in from oob anywhere along the end line where th e free throw was scored

Adam Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 865085)
A1 shooting 1-1. While ball is in flight on first throw A2 commits foul on B2. I believe we immediately cancel the throw because of A'2s foul and give ball to team B for a spot throw in.
Same play but, A1 is shooting 2. Do we clear lane for A1 2nd attempt and then give ball to B?
Does someone have the case play, I was unable to find it.

Why would you cancel the first ft?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 865085)
A1 shooting 1-1. While ball is in flight on first throw A2 commits foul on B2. I believe we immediately cancel the throw because of A'2s foul and give ball to team B for a spot throw in.

Why would you immediately cancel the throw?

Quote:

Same play but, A1 is shooting 2. Do we clear lane for A1 2nd attempt and then give ball to B?
Does someone have the case play, I was unable to find it.
If the ball can't remain live after the second FT, do we clear the lane or have players on the lane?

johnsonboys03 Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 865091)
Why would you immediately cancel the throw?



If the ball can't remain live after the second FT, do we clear the lane or have players on the lane?

6.7.b

bob jenkins Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 865093)
6.7.b

I know how to fish (here). I was trying to teach Triad how to fish.

johnsonboys03 Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 865094)
I know how to fish (here). I was trying to teach Triad how to fish.

oh lol... my bad

Nevadaref Wed Dec 05, 2012 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 865090)
Why would you cancel the first ft?

Perhaps he believes that the foul requires the player to have committed a lane violation.

Triad zebra Wed Dec 05, 2012 07:57pm

My partner called the foul and we DID clear the lane for the second shot. As soon as I administered the 2nd shot I felt a OH S@&. We played on and nothing was ever said. ( I guess I Inadvertantly got it right). After the game I explained that I'm pretty sure I screwed us up. My thinking was that the foul HAD to include a violation by A therefore canceling A1's throw.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 05, 2012 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Triad zebra (Post 865085)
A1 shooting 1-1. While ball is in flight on first throw A2 commits foul on B2. I believe we immediately cancel the throw because of A'2s foul and give ball to team B for a spot throw in.
Same play but, A1 is shooting 2. Do we clear lane for A1 2nd attempt and then give ball to B?
Does someone have the case play, I was unable to find it.

Here are a two for you, please search harder in the future! ;)


6.7 SITUATION B:
After A1 starts the free-throwing motion, A2 commits a foul
by pushing B1 along the lane.

RULING: If the foul occurred after the ball was in
flight, the point counts if the throw was successful and no substitute throw is
awarded if not successful. If A1 had not released the free-throw attempt before
A2 fouled B1, the ball became dead when the team-control foul occurred and A1
is permitted an unhindered free throw. The foul by A2 results in the ball being
awarded to Team B at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where A2 fouled B1,
unless the free-throw attempt by A1 is successful in which case B will throw-in
from out of bounds anywhere along the end line where the free throw was scored.

(4-19-7, 9; 7-5-7)

4.19.8 SITUATION D:

A1 has possession of the ball and is about to attempt the
first of a one-and-one free-throw situation when A4 and B4 are whistled for a
double foul.

RULING: A4 and B4 are charged with personal fouls and play shall
resume from the point of interruption. A1 receives the ball to attempt the oneand-
one free throw with the lane spaces properly occupied. (4-36-2b; 7-5-3b)




Adam Wed Dec 05, 2012 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 865187)
Perhaps he believes that the foul requires the player to have committed a lane violation.

Well that would just be wrong. :)

Nevadaref Wed Dec 05, 2012 08:38pm

And one more:

6.7 SITUATION E:
Prior to the bonus and after A1 starts the free-throwing
motion: B5 fouls A5.
RULING: The “continuous motion” rule applies and A1 may
release the ball and if the throw is successful, the point counts. Award Team A the

ball out-of-bounds at the spot nearest to where B5 fouled A5. (4-19-12)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1