![]() |
Test results
Finally got them back. It seems that the only one that I missed was very similar to a situation we discussed here very recently, one in which I said I refused to consider the possibility of a personal foul during technical free throws. Turns out I should have considered it.
Team A is assessed with a “technical foul”. Immediately after the ball is bounced to B1 at the free-throw line, A2 commits a “flagrant foul” against B2. A2 is disqualified from the game. RULING: The officials will administer 2 free throws to Team B for the “technical foul” followed by 2 more free throws for the “flagrant personal foul”. No players will be allowed along the lane for any of the free throws. Since a “technical foul” was involved, Team B will be given the ball for a throw-in at midcourt on the sideline opposite the scorer’s table. |
Was this written by your state?
They got it wrong. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now who was it that wrote that other scenario... :) Big of you to post this. I will use it to help train some local officials. We are never too good to learn something. |
Quote:
|
While both of these scenarios fall under the "Things I'm confident I'll never see" label, the following occurs to me: At least if we're dealing with a flagrant, the offended team still keeps the ball. At most, the throw-in spot will vary by a few feet. But in the REALLY unlikely situation posted earlier where the T was followed by a personal foul on the airborne shooter, the retained possession by the offended team is pushed aside for no reason other than the sequence of events. I find that disturbing.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30pm. |