The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Change of Possession (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93041-change-possession.html)

weabruce Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:46am

Change of Possession
 
ball is controlled by opponents and a held ball is called. as the two players separate Player A shoves Player B and official calls Technical Foul on Player A. Possession arrow is pointing in favor of Team A. On-court officials ruled the following:

1. Possession arrow will not change.
2. Team shoots two foul shots for the technical foul and Team B has throw-in at halfcourt.

Is this correct? Should not the possession arrow have been changed and then the Technical Foul assessed?

Thanks

Raymond Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by weabruce (Post 863843)
ball is controlled by opponents and a held ball is called. as the two players separate Player A shoves Player B and official calls Technical Foul on Player A. Possession arrow is pointing in favor of Team A. On-court officials ruled the following:

1. Possession arrow will not change.
2. Team shoots two foul shots for the technical foul and Team B has throw-in at halfcourt.

Is this correct? Should not the possession arrow have been changed and then the Technical Foul assessed?

Thanks

Why do you think the possession arrow should change? Did Team A ever execute an AP throw-in?

If you have access to rule books have you looked up when the AP arrow is (re)set following a held ball?

bob jenkins Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by weabruce (Post 863843)
ball is controlled by opponents and a held ball is called. as the two players separate Player A shoves Player B and official calls Technical Foul on Player A. Possession arrow is pointing in favor of Team A. On-court officials ruled the following:

1. Possession arrow will not change.
2. Team shoots two foul shots for the technical foul and Team B has throw-in at halfcourt.

Is this correct? Should not the possession arrow have been changed and then the Technical Foul assessed?

Thanks

Are you an official or a fan? If the former, see BadNewsRef's response. If the latter, say so and we'll give you the answer.

weabruce Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:21am

Duh?
 
Thanks for asking the right questions as they triggered the other side of my brain.:confused:
Of course Team A does not lose the right of possession due to the Technical Foul. They were entitled to and did receive the next AP.
Funny how that did not click in the brain when writing the post.:D

JugglingReferee Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by weabruce (Post 863868)
Thanks for asking the right questions as they triggered the other side of my brain.:confused:
Of course Team A does not lose the right of possession due to the Technical Foul. They were entitled to and did receive the next AP.
Funny how that did not click in the brain when writing the post.:D

It's better to have brain hiccups here than on the court.

The AP arrow is reversed when the TI is legally touched in bounds or the TI team violates during the TI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1