The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   When "shall" means "must"?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92979-when-shall-means-must.html)

letemplay Tue Nov 20, 2012 09:43am

When "shall" means "must"??
 
Free throw lineup: 8-1-4c....first marked lane spaces... "SHALL be occupied by opponents of the free thrower" Does this mean it is a violation if both of these spaces are not taken? EX: A1 has two shots coming, B HC takes the few seconds on the first shot to huddle his team on sideline for quick instruction, then sending them out to the spaces for second shot. First shot is missed..A1 gets another for B lane violation?

bob jenkins Tue Nov 20, 2012 09:50am

"Shall" is most often used to be synonymous with "must" (it can also be the first person future tense of the verb "to be").

But, it's not a violation (since it's not following a time out). ;)

Tio Tue Nov 20, 2012 09:57am

Yes, it is a violation if the first marked lane space (the very first spot is always unoccupied now) is not occupied by the opponent of the shooter.

My advice would be to always make sure you have guys lined up correctly before administering the free throw.

BillyMac Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:02am

Twist And Shout ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 862883)
Yes, it is a violation if the first marked lane space (the very first spot is always unoccupied now) is not occupied by the opponent of the shooter.

Let's take it up a notch. It's also a violation is the "first" space is occupied by a teammate of the free throw shooter, actually, I believe that it's a double violation, one, because the teammate is there, and two, because the opponent isn't there.

Freddy Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:21am

Don't Think So...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 862883)
Yes, it is a violation if the first marked lane space (the very first spot is always unoccupied now) is not occupied by the opponent of the shooter.

Don't think 10.1.5C agrees with you. It's not a violation. It's a T, if merited.

10.1.5C: "...(after a foul is reported)...(b) two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required. RULING: ... In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is a delay, a team technical foul shall be charged to team B."

I blew this two years ago by giving a DoG warning instead of a T when the coach insisted on keeping his five players by him near his bench while we were preparing for the opposing team to shoot free throws on the other end.

OKREF Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:29am

You simply don't start the free throw until you make sure the defense is there.

letemplay Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:40am

When "simply" means "shoulda". Agreed, that's what you would have wanted, but in case of a screw-up, like not getting those guys there or if the coach just wants to talk to one of the two guys he's wants in the spots, do you wait on him? Or, if you are the administering official and you bounce the ball to the shooter and then realize something doesn't look right...while the shots on the way and then missed, you're wracking your brain to remember what to do.

tjones1 Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 862894)
When "simply" means "shoulda". Agreed, that's what you would have wanted, but in case of a screw-up, like not getting those guys there or if the coach just wants to talk to one of the two guys he's wants in the spots, do you wait on him? Or, if you are the administering official and you bounce the ball to the shooter and then realize something doesn't look right...while the shots on the way and then missed, you're wracking your brain to remember what to do.

If I'm administering the free throw, I always check to see if I have ten players, the first two spots are filled, and they are properly lined up.

There are 5 correctable errors... 4 involve free throws. Make sure you take your time.

BktBallRef Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 862894)
When "simply" means "shoulda". Agreed, that's what you would have wanted, but in case of a screw-up, like not getting those guys there or if the coach just wants to talk to one of the two guys he's wants in the spots, do you wait on him?

Hell no, you don't wait on him.

Doesn't he have 4 other players that can occupy those two spots?????

You give a reasonable opportunity to get two players in the spot. If they continue to delay, you whistle the T.

Quote:

Or, if you are the administering official and you bounce the ball to the shooter and then realize something doesn't look right...while the shots on the way and then missed, you're wracking your brain to remember what to do.
Well, then you've screwed up. I wouldn't call the T because the FT hasn't been delayed. But I probably would call a violaion if the FT is missed.

OKREF Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 862898)
Hell no, you don't wait on him.

Doesn't he have 4 other players that can occupy those two spots?????

You give a reasonable opportunity to get two players in the spot. If they continue to delay, you whistle the T.



Well, then you've screwed up. I wouldn't call the T because the FT hasn't been delayed. But I probably would call a violaion if the FT is missed.

I agree, however I am going to get the coach and tell him we need 2 guys on the blocks. Just seems that this situation can be prevented, if we want it to.

letemplay Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 862898)
Hell no, you don't wait on him.

Doesn't he have 4 other players that can occupy those two spots?????

You give a reasonable opportunity to get two players in the spot. If they continue to delay, you whistle the T.



Well, then you've screwed up. I wouldn't call the T because the FT hasn't been delayed. But I probably would call a violaion if the FT is missed.

that's what I was looking for, could a violation be called even if ref "screwed up" and didnt be sure both spots were taken by opponents of the shooter?

bob jenkins Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 862894)
When "simply" means "shoulda". Agreed, that's what you would have wanted, but in case of a screw-up, like not getting those guys there or if the coach just wants to talk to one of the two guys he's wants in the spots, do you wait on him? Or, if you are the administering official and you bounce the ball to the shooter and then realize something doesn't look right...while the shots on the way and then missed, you're wracking your brain to remember what to do.

Use good game management. "Coach, I need these two spots filled." "Coach, if I don't get two players here, it will be a T."

(It's never gone further than that.)

BillyMac Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:58pm

Resumption Of Play ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob Jenkins (Post 862903)
"If I don't get two players here, it will be a T."

Even if it's not after an intermission, or a timeout? If it is not after a timeout, don't we just use the resumption of pay procedure, put the ball at the disposal of the free thrower, and then just let the chips fall where they may?

Adam Tue Nov 20, 2012 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 862914)
Even if it's not after an intermission, or a timeout? If it is not after a timeout, don't we just use the resumption of pay procedure, put the ball at the disposal of the free thrower, and then just let the chips fall where they may?

Not for this situation. There's no provision.

PG_Ref Tue Nov 20, 2012 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 862916)
Not for this situation. There's no provision.

Different procedure if after a time out ...

10.1.5 SITUATION A:

A1 is fouled by B1 during an unsuccessful try and is awarded two free throws. Team B requests and is granted a charged 60-second time-out. Team B disregards the 15-second warning signal and the signal ending the time-out and is still huddling with their coach at the end of the charged time-out.

RULING: The official shall administer the first free throw using the resumption-of-play procedure and a violation occurs if it is missed. If two B players are not in the required position when the official is ready to put the ball in play for the substitute throw, a delay of game technical foul will be assessed. If the first attempt is good, the same procedure is used for the second. (9-1-2; 10-1-5b)

Adam Tue Nov 20, 2012 01:56pm

Agreed, but Billy wanted to use it without a timeout.

PG_Ref Tue Nov 20, 2012 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 862920)
Agreed, but Billy wanted to use it without a timeout.

Ahhh ... I see. Then tell Billy to stop it.

letemplay Tue Nov 20, 2012 02:26pm

It seems 10.1.5c says the same, just no timeout is mentioned and neither is a violation.

Adam Tue Nov 20, 2012 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 862921)
Ahhh ... I see. Then tell Billy to stop it.

We've tried.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 20, 2012 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 862914)
Even if it's not after an intermission, or a timeout? If it is not after a timeout, don't we just use the resumption of pay procedure, put the ball at the disposal of the free thrower, and then just let the chips fall where they may?

After a TO (or intermission -- but I can't figure out how you'd have FTs with the lane filled after an intermission) -- use the resumption of play procedure if the lower spaces aren't filled.

Not after a TO -- lower spaces must be filled or it's a T.

(The same is true for the FT shooter.)

BillyMac Tue Nov 20, 2012 09:51pm

If At First You Don't Succeed ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 862925)
We've tried.

Shut up.

Adam Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 862950)
Shut up.

Ok, this made me actually laugh out L.

BillyMac Wed Nov 21, 2012 09:48am

Who Was That Masked Forum Member ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 862953)
Ok, this made me actually laugh out L.

Then my work here is done. Hi-yo Silver! Away!

letemplay Wed Nov 21, 2012 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 862927)
After a TO (or intermission -- but I can't figure out how you'd have FTs with the lane filled after an intermission) -- use the resumption of play procedure if the lower spaces aren't filled.

Not after a TO -- lower spaces must be filled or it's a T.

(The same is true for the FT shooter.)

In your second scenario (not after a TO) when would you assess the T? After the shooter is bounced the ball? After he/she takes the first shot? Is it also a violation, in so much that if he/she misses the first shot and THEN the T is called, that the first shot is re-taken, followed by the second, followed by the two shots for the T? Sounds like a healthly penalty for a ref screwup...realizing that we are not giving the T unless we've asked B players to get in the spots, or given a few seconds at least for them to get there.

Smitty Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 862980)
Sounds like a healthly penalty for a ref screwup...realizing that we are not giving the T unless we've asked B players to get in the spots, or given a few seconds at least for them to get there.

Pretty sure that is not even remotely what he is indicating. If you ask the coach to get 2 players in those spots and he refuses or ignores the request, then the T. For me, this would only happen if I've exhausted all reasonable attempts to get the coach to comply.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 862981)
Pretty sure that is not even remotely what he is indicating. If you ask the coach to get 2 players in those spots and he refuses or ignores the request, then the T. For me, this would only happen if I've exhausted all reasonable attempts to get the coach to comply.

Exactly. It's a T for delaying the game. So, it has to be called before the ball is given to the shooter (otherwise it isn't delaying the game). Since there isn't any FT attempt, there can't be any violation.

If you call, and report the T, and the coach *still* doesn't send two players to the lower blocks, then it's another T.

Your game has gone terribly wrong by this point.

letemplay Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 862981)
Pretty sure that is not even remotely what he is indicating. If you ask the coach to get 2 players in those spots and he refuses or ignores the request, then the T. For me, this would only happen if I've exhausted all reasonable attempts to get the coach to comply.

I get that and I realize all this is preventable, but what I'm really trying to find out is what penalty is there (if any) if it does happen? Suppose it's 2-man jv game with one very inexperienced official administering the free throw and the T (guy with some years exp) has turned away for a second to speak with A HC, only to look back at free throw area in time to see A1 getting ready to let the first shot go and notices B has none or only one of the lower spaces occupied. Team A HC thinks he's knows this rule and is up yelling for a violation....T complies and lets A1 have another (first) shot...much to the protest now of B HC. Right or wrong handling of play?

silverpie Wed Nov 21, 2012 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 862983)
If you call, and report the T, and the coach *still* doesn't send two players to the lower blocks, then it's another T.

Waitaminute. Doesn't the T now put you in a situation where the free throws are shot with the lane cleared?

bob jenkins Wed Nov 21, 2012 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by silverpie (Post 863030)
Waitaminute. Doesn't the T now put you in a situation where the free throws are shot with the lane cleared?

Yes. Good point.

letemplay Wed Nov 21, 2012 02:29pm

What a can of worms
 
Jeez...I'm beginning to regret being the OP on this, what I thought was, relatively insignificant play:rolleyes: As this holiday rolls closer, I'm just thankful that the finer game of basketball has so many debateable points. Happy Turkey Day...one and all:)

tjchamp Fri Nov 23, 2012 01:53pm

I really don't think you could give a T in this situation. 9-1-2 indicates "Teams shall properly occupy marked lane spaces according to number and space requirements as in 8-1-4.". The penalty for failure to comply is in 9-1-P2 -
2. If the violation is by the free-thrower's opponent only:
a. If the try is successful, the goal counts and the violation is disre*garded.
b. If the try is not successful, the ball becomes dead when the free throw ends, and a substitute throw shall be attempted by the same free thrower under conditions the same as for the free throw for which it is substituted.


Maybe you could give one for 10-1-5b (delaying game), but even that would be a stretch. They just keep getting a violation penalty until opponent makes both throws. Then they have to take the ball out of bounds. If they are not ready then, you really do have problems.

Raymond Fri Nov 23, 2012 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp (Post 863219)
I really don't think you could give a T in this situation. 9-1-2 indicates "Teams shall properly occupy marked lane spaces according to number and space requirements as in 8-1-4.". The penalty for failure to comply is in 9-1-P2 -
2. If the violation is by the free-thrower's opponent only:
a. If the try is successful, the goal counts and the violation is disre*garded.
b. If the try is not successful, the ball becomes dead when the free throw ends, and a substitute throw shall be attempted by the same free thrower under conditions the same as for the free throw for which it is substituted.


Maybe you could give one for 10-1-5b (delaying game), but even that would be a stretch. They just keep getting a violation penalty until opponent makes both throws. Then they have to take the ball out of bounds. If they are not ready then, you really do have problems.

10-1-5b is the exact rule that allows a T to be called. Corrensponding case plays verify this.

tjchamp Fri Nov 23, 2012 03:22pm

Yeah, as I re-read it, I think you are correct.

b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific situations.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1