The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Legal end of a dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92905-legal-end-dribble.html)

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 12, 2012 09:10pm

Legal end of a dribble?
 
A1, while dribbling, bats the ball into the air. A1 then runs several feet and catches the ball before it touches the ground.

Legal? If not, what's the violation? Thanks for any thoughts.

gslefeb Mon Nov 12, 2012 09:55pm

I answered that it was a violation. There is a case saying touching a second time without the ball touching the floor is a violation.

4.15.4 Sit D This case talks about touching it a second time - not catching. So not 100% the same play.

My thoughts:
1. Tapping over the head and touching a second time is a double dribble violation.

2. Tapping over the head and allowing the ball to strike the ground is legal.

3. Tapping over the head and running several feet and catching is a travel, as the original tap ended the dribble? Or does the catch count as a second touch, therefore it is a double dribble?

Adam Mon Nov 12, 2012 09:55pm

I'd say it's legal.

deecee Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:22pm

legal.

What if the player let the ball hit the floor and continued his dribble?

billyu2 Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:23pm

I'll go with illegal in the OP. 4-15-2 deecee, permitting the ball to land and continuing the dribble is legal.

Raymond Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:27pm

I have an illegal dribble as billy said.

deecee Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:05pm

yup, looks like my assumption was incorrect.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:40am

Illegal Dribble. The catch is a touch.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 13, 2012 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 861879)
Illegal Dribble. The catch is a touch.

That gets my vote.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 13, 2012 03:22pm

I agree with the ruling of an illegal dribble 100%. However, this question is on the IAABO Refresher test and several big-wigs in IAABO are saying this is simply ending the dribble. It would only be illegal if A1 touched the ball before it hit the floor and then continued his/her dribble.

Just sharing.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 13, 2012 03:30pm

Now that I'm thinking about it, I seem to remember a discussion of a case play like this play, where we argued about the ruling because the NFHS play ruled that it was a traveling violation.

Does anybody else remember that play? Nevada? Tony?

Camron Rust Tue Nov 13, 2012 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 861986)
Now that I'm thinking about it, I seem to remember a discussion of a case play like this play, where we argued about the ruling because the NFHS play ruled that it was a traveling violation.

Does anybody else remember that play? Nevada? Tony?

The NFHS has flipped on the exact violation as far as Traveling vs Illegal Dribble. It really could really be either one depending on how you look at it.

Scrapper1 Tue Nov 13, 2012 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 861996)
The NFHS has flipped on the exact violation as far as Traveling vs Illegal Dribble. It really could really be either one depending on how you look at it.

Right, but was there a case play released that described this exact play?

Camron Rust Tue Nov 13, 2012 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 861999)
Right, but was there a case play released that described this exact play?

Yes. At one time, it ruled traveling and at another time it ruled illegal dribble.

Nevadaref Tue Nov 13, 2012 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 861984)
I agree with the ruling of an illegal dribble 100%. However, this question is on the IAABO Refresher test and several big-wigs in IAABO are saying this is simply ending the dribble. It would only be illegal if A1 touched the ball before it hit the floor and then continued his/her dribble.

Just sharing.

The big wigs aren't correct and are doing a disservice to the game by allowing a player to gain an unfair advantage.

Batting the ball during a dribble, which clearly has not ended at this point and won't until the player catches the ball, and then moving to a new location and catching the ball before it strikes the floor is what used to be called an air dribble. That action is now illegal. The ball must contact the floor for the action to constitute a legal dribble.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 861986)
Now that I'm thinking about it, I seem to remember a discussion of a case play like this play, where we argued about the ruling because the NFHS play ruled that it was a traveling violation.

Does anybody else remember that play? Nevada? Tony?

Here is a link to the old thread: http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...bage-nfhs.html

See my posts at #1 and #36 for information pertinent to this current thread.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1