The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Steps on Layup (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92857-steps-layup.html)

rekent Tue Nov 06, 2012 02:06pm

Steps on Layup
 
I was asked by a friend just starting to learn the rules (NFHS) to ref about traveling on a layup. The question was where in the rulebook does it say the player gets to "travel for two steps" as they go up for a layup, because they could not find it. My response was it is not in the rulebook and that traveling is always traveling and as such is always a violation, there is no "legal" traveling. What appears to be the two steps is actually just a legal manipulation of the actions permitted in rule 4-44, specifically the pivot foot behavior in 4-44-3.

The 3 examples I gave are:

1) If A1 picks up his dribble with his front foot on the ground and back foot lifted, the front foot is the pivot foot. The back foot may be brought forward to become the new forward foot. The pivot foot may then be raised and may not contact the ground again without resulting in traveling. This creates the visual illusion of sorts, of two steps. At this point, A1 launches off his original non-pivot foot for the layup and all is legal.

2) If A1 picks up his dribble with both feet on the ground and the back foot is the first lifted, everything else is the same as sit. 1. If the front foot is the first lifted, everything is the same as sit. 3.

3) If A1 picks up his dribble with his back foot on the ground and front foot lifted, the back foot is the pivot foot. The front foot may come down, and the back be lifted (illusion of 1 step), but as soon as the original pivot foot comes down as the new forward foot for the second "step," it becomes a traveling violation.

Another official who was there agreed with my friend and said he was taught the player could "travel for two steps." And so, I turn to the experts to see if I learned this incorrectly. (Sorry for the wordy explanation, perhaps writing questions while writing contracts is not the brightest idea.)

bob jenkins Tue Nov 06, 2012 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 861235)
Another official who was there agreed with my friend and said he was taught the player could "travel for two steps."

Your friend needs to spend more time with you and less with this Another Official.

rekent Tue Nov 06, 2012 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 861236)
Your friend needs to spend more time with you and less with this Another Official.

Haha! Thanks a lot, makes me feel better to know I'm not an idiot and actually have some clue what I'm doing.

Camron Rust Tue Nov 06, 2012 02:41pm

In a lot of cases, it "looks like" 2 steps that but that has nothing to do with the rule.

A couple of points that matter in a few instances. The pivot foot doesn't exist as soon as you imply it does in your examples. The pivot foot doesn't exist until the other foot steps (not when it is in the air or is lifted).

Where this matters is in the case where a player with one foot on the ground camp jump from that foot and land on both. They never have a pivot foot at any time in that case. The first foot down can be lifted and returned to the floor legally (simultaneous with the other foot) and a dribble may still be started.

BktBallRef Tue Nov 06, 2012 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 861235)
I was asked by a friend just starting to learn the rules (NFHS) to ref about traveling on a layup. The question was where in the rulebook does it say the player gets to "travel for two steps" as they go up for a layup, because they could not find it. My response was it is not in the rulebook and that traveling is always traveling and as such is always a violation, there is no "legal" traveling. What appears to be the two steps is actually just a legal manipulation of the actions permitted in rule 4-44, specifically the pivot foot behavior in 4-44-3.

The 3 examples I gave are:

1) If A1 picks up his dribble with his front foot on the ground and back foot lifted, the front foot is the pivot foot. The back foot may be brought forward to become the new forward foot. The pivot foot may then be raised and may not contact the ground again without resulting in traveling. This creates the visual illusion of sorts, of two steps. At this point, A1 launches off his original non-pivot foot for the layup and all is legal.

2) If A1 picks up his dribble with both feet on the ground and the back foot is the first lifted, everything else is the same as sit. 1. If the front foot is the first lifted, everything is the same as sit. 3.

3) If A1 picks up his dribble with his back foot on the ground and front foot lifted, the back foot is the pivot foot. The front foot may come down, and the back be lifted (illusion of 1 step), but as soon as the original pivot foot comes down as the new forward foot for the second "step," it becomes a traveling violation.

Another official who was there agreed with my friend and said he was taught the player could "travel for two steps." And so, I turn to the experts to see if I learned this incorrectly. (Sorry for the wordy explanation, perhaps writing questions while writing contracts is not the brightest idea.)

You forgot a scenario.

4) A1 picks up the dribble with neither foot on the ground. He is now allowed to take one step with both feet.

hoopguy Wed Nov 07, 2012 09:20am

4) A1 picks up the dribble with neither foot on the ground. He is now allowed to take one step with both feet.

This never happens. Basketball players always have one foot on the ground when they pick up their dribble. No one picks up their dribble in the air. Decide which foot was the pivot foot when the player picks up his dribble and then decide if it was a travel. Basically, for a right handed layup, the player would pick up his dribble on his right foot and then jump off his left foot. If the player picks up his dribble on his left foot and then steps with his right and then jumps off his left, it is a travel. In this situation, I have seen refs signal to the coach and raise 3 fingers telling the coach his player took 3 steps. The coach was questioning the call and this was effective.

Some refs use the 'neither foot was on the ground' as an excuse for missing travel calls. Just admit you missed it and move on. Do not say that the player picked up his dribble with neither foot on the ground. We all miss travel calls. It is one of the toughest to get on layups while looking for contact and multiple players around and the potential legal jump stop.

I know others are going to vehemently disagree with this but try finding and posting video of a situation where the player picks up his dribble with neither foot on the ground.

Adam Wed Nov 07, 2012 09:31am

Yeah, I disagree. Most layups are performed that way.

Typically, the ball is gathered just after the last foot leaves the floor. Next foot down is the pivot.

If you're not seeing that, they're teaching it wrong or you're not seeing it right.

BillyMac Wed Nov 07, 2012 09:49am

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 861291)
If you're not seeing that, they're teaching it wrong or you're not seeing it right.

Hey, it wasn't until 1878 that it was determined that a galloping horse lifts all four feet completely off the ground. How long will it take until the layup issue in this thread is settled?

Rob1968 Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 861292)
Hey, it wasn't until 1878 that it was determined that a galloping horse lifts all four feet completely off the ground. How long will it take until the layup issue in this thread is settled?

Not very long . . . 4-44-2 a. "A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
(a.) If both feet are off the floor and the player lands: etc."

So, even the Rule Book understands that a player, running or dribbling, will at times, catch the ball with both feet off the floor.

jump stop Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:09am

99% of people associated with basketball can't state the rules for traveling. They can only tell it doesn't look right. Which is not good.

I played bball for years and in college and had no idea the actual rules for traveling "only that it looks like a travel "

I had to read the rules over and over for it to make sense. Who ever wrote them was very smart, at first I thought "this can't be right"

The hardest thing to grasp is : 1. catching a dribble, the dribble ends when you catch the ball (i.e. gather or control) 2) when one foot is on floor and you catch dribble the foot on the floor is not the pivot until the other foot touches in step ( does that make clear sense) 3) if you catch a dribble with one foot on floor you can jump off of that foot and land on 2 simultneously there is no pivot
Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:

a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot;
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both; neither foot can be the pivot foot.
b. When one foot is on the playing court:
1. That foot shall be the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a step;
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both; neither foot can then be the pivot foot
.

I think this video clearly covers these concepts and I would bet "rekent" is not totally clear on this.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/29Nvnsy3Ivw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
I think this video clearly covers these concepts

Camron Rust Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 861290)
4) A1 picks up the dribble with neither foot on the ground. He is now allowed to take one step with both feet.

This never happens. Basketball players always have one foot on the ground when they pick up their dribble.
....

I know others are going to vehemently disagree with this but try finding and posting video of a situation where the player picks up his dribble with neither foot on the ground.

It does happen. It may not be frequent, but it does happen. To just say it never happens and call a travel because you don't think it can happen is just being lazy.

I've seen some pretty nifty moves that were based on such action and they were 100% legal. Maybe it didn't "look right" but it was legal.

rekent Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jump stop (Post 861300)
Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and...

...

I think this video clearly covers these concepts and I would bet "rekent" is not totally clear on this.

That actually is exactly what I was thinking/call, and Art. 3 is what I base it on. I just failed to include the fact that the player may jump from the pivot foot and land on both feet simultaneously because my conversation was tailored specifically at classic layups in which the player is running through the shot rather than traveling in general.

I guess I did not articulate what was in my mind particularly well - my basketball hypothetical scenario writing probably needs some further development before I start mingling with the big dogs.

Adam Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 861309)
I guess I did not articulate what was in my mind particularly well - my basketball hypothetical scenario writing probably needs some further development before I start mingling with the big dogs.

Some learn by reading, some learn by mingling. Keep mingling, I have a hunch it'll help you learn. For me, considering scenarios that stretch the boundaries of a particular rule or set of rules helps me to apply those rules during a game.

BillyMac Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:30pm

Preaching To The Choir ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 861311)
Considering scenarios that stretch the boundaries of a particular rule or set of rules helps me to apply those rules during a game.

Amen.

rekent Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 861311)
...considering scenarios that stretch the boundaries of a particular rule or set of rules helps me to apply those rules during a game.

I absolutely agree as well. I forget the precise situation, but last spring a very odd-ball, once in forever type case was posted on the forum, and darned if I did not see almost the exact same thing a couple weeks later during a championship game. I just had to smile as I made my call, knowing I got it right after reading the scenario here when I might have otherwise blown the call.

APG Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 861290)

I know others are going to vehemently disagree with this but try finding and posting video of a situation where the player picks up his dribble with neither foot on the ground.

And I'm one of them...to say that it never happens in basketball is...well wrong IMO. You can see it happen during layups where the player is attempting it on the run. Also seen it plenty of times during jump stops.

BillyMac Wed Nov 07, 2012 01:01pm

Need Weak Side Help ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 861317)
To say that it never happens in basketball is, well wrong. You can see it happen layups where the player is attempting it on the run. Also seen it plenty of times during jump stops.

... especially in younger players when they try to shoot with their weak hand on the weak side, or even worse, when they shoot with their strong hand on the weak side. It usually looks really odd, but odd isn't always a traveling violation.

just another ref Wed Nov 07, 2012 06:53pm

Never say never, but I say that it is quite rare for a player to catch the ball ending a dribble with both feet off the ground. With the benefit of slow motion, I think a large majority of layups could be called a travel, but it is generally difficult to impossible to pinpoint the exact location of the feet when the dribble is ended, so, when in doubt,

let it go.

Having said that, tune in any college game, and you will see moves to the basket involving a spin or whatever, which are impossible to perform legally, yet go uncalled, I assume by design.

"If they're not gonna call it, they should change the rule." **

**Bob Knight

BillyMac Thu Nov 08, 2012 07:36am

Pick A Prize Off The Top Shelf ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 861342)
It is generally difficult to impossible to pinpoint the exact location of the feet when the dribble is ended, so, when in doubt, let it go.

Bingo.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 08, 2012 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 861342)
Having said that, tune in any college game, and you will see moves to the basket involving a spin or whatever, which are impossible to perform legally, yet go uncalled, I assume by design.

I wouldn't make that assumption.

Adam Thu Nov 08, 2012 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 861342)
Never say never, but I say that it is quite rare for a player to catch the ball ending a dribble with both feet off the ground. With the benefit of slow motion, I think a large majority of layups could be called a travel

I couldn't disagree more.

legend Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:08am

the best way for anyone to get experience with what may or may not be a travel should work Jr Hi. girls games. Not being sexist here, they just don't seem to devolpe their coordination as quickly as boys do. You will see proably all of the examples already discussed in this thread. It definatly helps you get a grasp on what your looking for.

BillyMac Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:45am

Hopefully Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Won't Read This Post ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by legend (Post 861373)
work Jr Hi. girls games.

... and praise the Lord that that NFHS came up with the alternating possession arrow, and did away with almost all jump balls. I think that the NFHS did it just because of middle school girls games.

legend Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 861379)
... and praise the Lord that that NFHS came up with the alternating possession arrow, and did away with almost all jump balls. I think that the NFHS did it just because of middle school girls games.


AMEN..Ha Ha Sounds like you also have done a few of these!

dsqrddgd909 Thu Nov 08, 2012 02:25pm

I have a girls middle school double header tonight. I'll try to post an estimate tomorrow of how many APs we had.

legend Fri Nov 09, 2012 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 861418)
I have a girls middle school double header tonight. I'll try to post an estimate tomorrow of how many APs we had.

I got the over / under at 15... I'll take the over in a double header.

dsqrddgd909 Fri Nov 09, 2012 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by legend (Post 861497)
I got the over / under at 15... I'll take the over in a double header.

How much do I owe you? Girls A - first game = 4. Girls B - second game =20. Total 24.

Altor Fri Nov 09, 2012 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 861505)
How much do I owe you? Girls A - first game = 4. Girls B - second game =20. Total 24.

You call entirely too many simultaneous goal tending/basket interference violations. :p

Adam Fri Nov 09, 2012 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 861509)
You call entirely too many simultaneous goal tending/basket interference violations. :p

+1

Nice job of bringing it back on topic. :D

legend Fri Nov 09, 2012 10:38pm

True story...I was working a jr. hi. girls game with a 2nd (or 3rd yr) ref. At the time I was around the 10 yr. mark so he ask me if he can be the "R" for the 2 games. I say sure, great time to learn pre-game routine etc. So we decide to meet with coaches and captians and he starts off good, talking about sportsmanship and the neccessary issues, then he starts to go through a long diatribe covering points of emphasis and sure enough he covers goal tending / basket interference. BOTH coaches laugh and I try my best to get through the rest of his meeting with them. Great times!

jeremy341a Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:47am

This is my first year of officiating and after the normal pregame my 1st partner tells the two JH Girls that were the speaking captains to go back and tell your team there will be no hanging on the rim tonight. They gave him some funny looks until he told them he was kidding. I thought it was a nice way to break the girls tension on the opening night game.

Smitty Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 861734)
This is my first year of officiating and after the normal pregame my 1st partner tells the two JH Girls that were the speaking captains to go back and tell your team there will be no hanging on the rim tonight. They gave him some funny looks until he told them he was kidding. I thought it was a nice way to break the girls tension on the opening night game.

And it will still be as hilarious the 100th time you hear someone say it...

BillyMac Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:34pm

Old Jokes, Old Jokers ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 861744)
And it will still be as hilarious the 100th time you hear someone say it...

I may be new to the female captains. Most captains are only captains for one year.

jeremy341a Mon Nov 12, 2012 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smitty (Post 861744)
And it will still be as hilarious the 100th time you hear someone say it...

I don't remeber saying it was hilarious but it was entertaining to see the looks on their faces.

Smitty Mon Nov 12, 2012 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 861774)
I don't remeber saying it was hilarious but it was entertaining to see the looks on their faces.

It was more meant as a tongue-in-cheek observation. The guy who says it (and it will never be me) always thinks it's hilarious. The players...rarely if ever will even react. Awkward chuckling at best. Unless you are a comedian, don't try and be funny with the players. They aren't listening to you anyway.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1