![]() |
Flagrant1 penalty
Shooter A1 is still airborne after attempting a three-point shot when she is fouled by B1. The foul is a flagrant 1 personal foul.
What is the penalty? Does the field goal count for 3 and then get 1 shot and the ball at POA? 2 shots and ball at POA? |
The penalty for a flagrant 1 personal foul is two shots and the ball at the spot out of bounds closest to where the foul occurred. The only time that isn't true is when a shooter is fouled on a missed three point try. This is assuming you're talking NCAA.
|
Yes, the shot is successful. So, count the 3 pointer, then she receives 2 shots and the ball at point closest to where the foul occured? Yes, NCAA.
|
if the shot is unsuccessful, they will be rewarded with 3 shots and then given the ball at the spot closest to where the penalty occurred?
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
PS - welcome to the Forum! Great that you jumped right on in!
|
That should help with the test. ;)
(And, the answers are the same in HS (for intentional) and NCAAM) |
Thank you..Yes, I am finding a lot of the wording on the test questions to make me think twice on my answers...
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Cool your jets
After testing period is over, we VA officials get a complete rundown of the results with rules references for incorrect answers. Its there for review, if you care to look.
|
i have been trying to find every question in the book, but there are a few that 1. I can't find and 2. are maybe over thinking. The wording doesn't help in some instances. I am making myself crazy!
|
Quote:
Help (although maybe not direct answers) is available. |
I think I am probably over thinking this one:
A1, while in possession of the ball, begins her try. During A1 try and before the ball is released, B2 illegally pushes through A2's screen to defend A1 and is whistled for a foul. A1 continues her try and the ball enters the basket. a.The goal is cancelled and A1 is awarded two free throws. b.The goal is scored and A2 is awarded a one-and-one bonus. c.The goal is cancelled and A2 is awarded a one-and-one bonus. d.The goal is scored and A1 is awarded one free throw. I have ruled out b & c because nowhere in the question does it state that team A is in the bonus. Also, while it states that B2 illegally pushes through the screen of A2, it also states she is defending A1 and called for foul- to me I think that she fouls A1 while in the act of shooting--- so the goal shall count and should get 1 free throw.... my thought process correct?? |
Quote:
Process of elimination leads me to answer (b) as the best choice. |
You're misreading it. B2 fouled A2. "B2 ILLEGALLY PUSHES through A2's screen".
Select the best answer. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I don't remember if a rules reference will be provided or not. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Ok, using the continuous motion rule, the goal counts and then a2 then shoots a 1-1.
thanks for walking me through this. Sometimes I read too far into the questions... |
This one was poorly written...by not stating whether the bonus is in effect. There is a similar case book play that includes the phrase "Both teams are in the bonus." I think the test writer made a mistake by not using that phrase here.
But since there is no option for a spot throw-in, you have to pick from the available options. The question is testing whether you understand "continuous motion" when the foul is away from the ball -- and what happens when the basket is good. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06am. |