![]() |
Who's calling 'palming' on this video
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/cRNFqs2-ufU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
would you call this?? |
not me.
|
Quote:
|
Not I
|
Not me either.
Peace |
Close, but not.
|
Only if I were ordered to so do.
|
Not A Popular Opinion, But I'm Being Honest ...
In my high school game, I'm probably calling palming (carrying). Shoot me if you guys want to, but that's probably what I'm doing.
|
Quote:
|
Nope
|
Let me ask the OP -- are you asking if we would call it or if we should call it?
(maybe we would call it, but we would be wrong / shouldn't call it. maybe we wouldn't call it, but we would be wrong / should call it.) |
Worth A Thousand Words ...
Quote:
|
I am not calling the palming/carry violation here.....because it's not a palming/carry violation.
|
Quote:
Peace |
My Judgment, My Opinion ...
Quote:
I know NFHS rules. Period. I don't know that the rule is the same at all levels, and even if the rule were exactly the same at all levels, how would I know that officials at all three levels interpret the rules exactly the same? My high school game. This is a carry. I believe that in this situation it's a judgment call, it's a carry, that's my call, and popular, or not, I'm sticking to it. Another high school official may call this differently, and I wouldn't have a major problem with an interpretation other than my own. Like Camron Rust posted earlier, "It's close". |
Not a chance. nice hesitation move. Only if he cups it and crosses that ball completely over to the other side would that be a carry.
|
Billy,
If you have not noticed, officials do not agree on this play no matter their level. So I think this constant focus on what we do at the HS level compared to other levels is silly to me. I call the exact same game at the HS level when it comes to fouls and violations as I do for the college level. The only difference is HS players usually cannot deal with the contact the same way and are not as artful in their committing violations. Peace |
Silly Billy ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I'd pass on it. Like someone else said if he hesitated a little longer than maybe I might have something, but in any case I'll pass.
|
Close, but I'd pass.
|
I've looked at life from both sides now..
For those who are thinking violation on this might first consider the behind-the-back dribble. Most times there is more "carrying" while executing a b-t-b dribble than ever occurs during a dribble in front of the body. And I've never seen a violation called for a b-t-b dribble.
|
Quote:
Now as far as you agreeing with BM...... you are now viewed in a new realm on this site !!!!!!!! As far as the play.....not a palm at the Dome (East Baltimore) or Berry Farms (Southeast DC), at least if you value your life !!!!!!! |
Quote:
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/fGFata3SZMc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> if that ain't a carry, nothing is. |
Quote:
|
I like the call made by the T in the 2nd video.
As for comparing them, I don't see them as being the same play. Not at all. So I'm happy that there are different calls. |
Quote:
|
Walking Dead Offcial ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Pick Your Poison ...
Quote:
(intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard. ART. 2 During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s). ART. 3 The dribble may be started by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted. ART. 4 The dribble ends when: a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands. c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands. d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control. e. The ball becomes dead. 9-5 A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. 4.15.4 SITUATION A: As dribbler A1 attempts to change directions to avoid guard B1, he/she allows the ball to come to rest in one hand in bringing the ball from the right to the left side of the body. A1 pushes the ball to the floor in an attempt to continue the dribble. RULING: When A1 palmed/carried the ball, the dribble ended and when he/she pushed the ball to the floor a violation occurred. (9-5) 4.15.4 SITUATION B: A1, while advancing the ball by dribbling, manages to keep a hand in contact with the ball until it reaches its maximum height. A1 maintains such contact as the ball descends, pushing it to the floor at the last moment; however, after six or seven bounces, A1’s hand is in contact with the ball and the palm of the hand on this particular dribble is skyward so that the ball is resting on top of the hand. RULING: The dribble has ended and a violation occurs if A1 dribbles again. The dribble ended when the ball came to rest in the palm of A1’s hand. (9-5) |
And none so those things happened in the OP video...
|
Quote:
I also think that high school officials often try to call any little infraction without really taking a look at the bigger picture of the game. Not saying that is you, but you did point out what you would do in a HS game as if the other levels would do or would be instructed differently. Just pointing out that this is not true. Peace |
I would call it if I thought the action was a violation and, in this case presented by the OP, if the violation gained the attacker an advantage over the defender. As most guys have said, there seems to be a marginal case to be made that the move was a violation. However, I'm a bit suspicious that the angle of the video might not be giving us enough information. It looks possible to me that at the top of the dribble the attacker slightly repositioned his hand so that the ball was momentarily supported by his two bottom fingers. At that point, he seems to beat the defender with a sudden change of direction.
If I were on the floor and the attacker made the described hesitation move but was also able to manipulate the ball sideways by supporting the ball momentarily in order to beat the defender, I would call it. If he changed the ball's direction without supporting the weight of the ball, no call. For me, this one is "had to be there" and it will be all about the angle that you have on viewing the path of the ball. |
Second Look ...
Quote:
In some cases, if the opportunity presents itself, I may say to the player's coach, usually an assistant coach, during a timeout, "I don't like 32's crossover move. It may be a carry. I'm going to try to get a good look at it", so that if I decide to call the violation, the coach is prepared for the call. I know that some of you guys don't like talking to coaches, and I've been criticized for doing so in the past by local observers, but at this point in my career, I'm not going to change, and most of the coaches seem to appreciate my open communication with them. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30am. |