![]() |
Protested the Game
Just finished doing our Washington State Clinic on line. NFHS does not allow protests. Our State allows protests, for misapplied or misinterpreted rules, and we are advised... DO NOT TELL A COACH THAT THEY CANNOT PROTEST.
I once told a Coach, that was very adamant about filing a protest, that he "could file a protest with the State, but the state probably wouldn't render a judgement in his favor...for a couple of reasons." Can you think of why I did not write the protest in the book and what the "couple" of reasons were to cause the State not to judge in the Coach's favor concerning this "protest"? (Kind of a trick question)...Hint: Think outside of the "box" or "court" so to speak.;) |
...on second thought I will just state the reasons instead of all the drama.
After the game was completed...the Coach came up to our "locker room" and stated that he thought we missed the last second shot his player took and made at the end of the game. It was close...but, the C opposite table on our crew of 3 made the correct call...the player shot the lay-up at the buzzer with the ball leaving his hand just after the horn and light came on the backboard. (It was later confirmed as a correct call by an ex-official that was there and had access to the video) I told the Coach that 1) He was too late for me (I was R) to write it in the book as a protest...since we had left the confines of the court...and 2) It was a judgement call, not a misapplication or misinterpretation of a rule. ...working nights, just looking for something to write about to stay awake.;) |
I'd be interested to know how many successful protests are lodged.
[opinion] Sounds like a recipe for disaster, though. [/opinion] |
Quote:
|
In Missouri the state allows protests, but the coach has 10 minutes to basically prove he is right once he decides to protest. He can use any official NFHS materials, and only misapplied rules can be protested.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Arizona does not "officially" recognize protests, but they will listen to them.
Officials are advised to handle a valid (rule misinterpretation) protest in the usual way...ie, write the information in the scorebook, etc. As far as I know, the only thing that even came close to being recognized was a situation in a state semi-final a few years ago. It was a one point ball game with less than 10 seconds left. Team A, who was to inbound the ball, called a timeout. When the ball was put back in play, Team B had six players on the floor. The officials allowed the ball to be inbounded and the remainder of the game to be played with the six B players on the floor. Team A missed their last second shot and later demanded that a T be assessed and the game resumed from the end of the timeout. The state denied the request. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22pm. |