The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Multiple free throw violations (part 2) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92770-multiple-free-throw-violations-part-2-a.html)

rfp Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:05pm

Multiple free throw violations (part 2)
 
A-1 shooting free-throw.
B-1 disconcerts.
A-1 violates.
Ball goes in.

9-1 Penalty 4c says if free thrower violation follows disconcertion, shoot again. But since ball went in, seems like you'd not be penalizing the disconcertion if you make the thrower shoot again. If you hold your whistle due to the ball going in after the disconcertion, you're ignoring A-1's violation.

Don't count the basket due to the violation on A-1 but shoot again due to the disconcertion?

bob jenkins Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 860220)
A-1 shooting free-throw.
B-1 disconcerts.
A-1 violates.
Ball goes in.

9-1 Penalty 4c says if free thrower violation follows disconcertion, shoot again. But since ball went in, seems like you'd not be penalizing the disconcertion if you make the thrower shoot again. If you hold your whistle due to the ball going in after the disconcertion, you're ignoring A-1's violation.

Don't count the basket due to the violation on A-1 but shoot again due to the disconcertion?

It happened in that order? How did A1 violate?

Anyway, enforce the disconcertion only and award a re-throw.

rockyroad Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860225)
It happened in that order? How did A1 violate?

Anyway, enforce the disconcertion only and award a re-throw.

Agreed...

And it is most certainly NOT a double violation.

BillyMac Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:43pm

Just Some Guesses ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860225)
It happened in that order? How did A1 violate?

Missed the ring? Stepped on the line?

rfp Fri Oct 26, 2012 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860225)
It happened in that order? How did A1 violate?

Anyway, enforce the disconcertion only and award a re-throw.

Yes, that's the order. I don't think it matters whether A-1 stepped on the line or shot an airball, but that's the violation.

So the fact that the ball went in doesn't matter?

BillyMac Fri Oct 26, 2012 01:06pm

Always ??? Never ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 860230)
So the fact that the ball went in doesn't matter?

I believe that if the shooter violates, followed by the ball going in the basket, that the basket will never count.

I usually subscribe to the idea of never saying never, and never saying always, but I think that I can always say never here.

Maybe some Forum members much wiser than me can come up with some exceptions.

Adam Fri Oct 26, 2012 01:08pm

The only way this happens is if A1 steps on the line. I see no possible way for the disconcertion to actually cause that, so I've got no problem making A1 reshoot.

PG_Ref Fri Oct 26, 2012 01:24pm

Caseplay 9.1.3 Situation H: While A1 is attempting a final free throw, (a) B1 enters the lane too soon followed by A2, both of whom are in marked lane spaces; or (b) B1, in a marked lane space enters the lane too soon, then shooter A1 steps on the free-throw line while releaseing the throw. RULING: In (a), the violation by A2 is ignored and, if the try is successful, the goal shall count and the violation by B1, shall be ignored. If the try is unsuccessful, the ball shall become dead when the free throw ends and a substitute free throw shall be attempted by A1 under the same conditions as those for the original free throw. In (b), a double violation is called and the ball is put in play using the alternating-possession procedure.
COMMENT: Anytime the defense violates first, followed by a violation by the free throw shooter, the officials should consider the possibility of disconcertion. (9-1 Penalty) ... So yes, if the disconcertion caused the violation.

Adam Fri Oct 26, 2012 01:41pm

There you go. Double violation. Go to POI.

bob jenkins Fri Oct 26, 2012 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 860227)
Missed the ring? Stepped on the line?

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 860230)
Yes, that's the order. I don't think it matters whether A-1 stepped on the line or shot an airball, but that's the violation.

So the fact that the ball went in doesn't matter?

If A1 "shot an airball" but "the ball went in" then we have bigger issues than deciding on the correct FT enforcement.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 26, 2012 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860247)
If A1 "shot an airball" but "the ball went in" then we have bigger issues than deciding on the correct FT enforcement.


lol....:p

BillyMac Fri Oct 26, 2012 02:10pm

Nothing But Net ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860247)
If A1 "shot an airball" but "the ball went in" then we have bigger issues than deciding on the correct FT enforcement.

"Missed the ring" means nothing but net. Didn't you ever play the free throw version of HORSE?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ITkAIDKkZUE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

BillyMac Fri Oct 26, 2012 02:12pm

Color Me Confused ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 860246)
There you go. Double violation. Go to POI.

With disconcertion?

bob jenkins Fri Oct 26, 2012 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 860246)
There you go. Double violation. Go to POI.

FED 9-1 PENALTY 4c. If a violation by a free thrower follows disconcertion by an opponent, a substitute free throw shall be awarded.

BillyMac Fri Oct 26, 2012 02:23pm

Double Violation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 860226)
It is most certainly not a double violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 860246)
Double violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jerkins (Post 860254)
FED 9-1 PENALTY 4c. If a violation by a free thrower follows disconcert ion by an opponent, a substitute free throw shall be awarded.

So it's still considered a double violation, but with a different penalty than the normal, average, "garden variety", double violation? Interesting. I never thought of it in that manner. I've been "schooled".

rockyroad Fri Oct 26, 2012 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 860255)
So it's still considered a double violation, but with a different penalty than the normal, average, "garden variety", double violation? Interesting. I never thought of it in that manner. I've been "schooled".

It is not a double violation..that would result in some consequence other than the shooter getting a substitute throw.

bob jenkins Fri Oct 26, 2012 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 860259)
It is not a double violation..that would result in some consequence other than the shooter getting a substitute throw.

Since there's no definition in the book for "double violation" you both might be right.

rockyroad Fri Oct 26, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860260)
Since there's no definition in the book for "double violation" you both might be right.

Smarty pants.

Fine...simultaneous violation.

Although double violations are talked about in the case book.

rfp Fri Oct 26, 2012 03:11pm

Oops.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860247)
If A1 "shot an airball" but "the ball went in" then we have bigger issues than deciding on the correct FT enforcement.

I guess which violation does matter after all in my sitch! :o

So, yes, A-1 steps on the line and violates. The disconcertion is what was throwing me, since usually if the balls goes in you would ignore the disconcertion. But since A-1 violated you can't count the basket. So you have a simultaneous violation that's treated differently than it usually is, as BillyMac points out. So, it's an unusual case.

Thanks!

bob jenkins Fri Oct 26, 2012 03:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rfp (Post 860277)
I guess which violation does matter after all in my sitch! :o

So, yes, A-1 steps on the line and violates. The disconcertion is what was throwing me, since usually if the balls goes in you would ignore the disconcertion. But since A-1 violated you can't count the basket. So you have a simultaneous violation that's treated differently than it usually is, as BillyMac points out. So, it's an unusual case.

Thanks!

It's not a simultaneous violation -- that's penalty 3.

You had penalty 4.

Adam Fri Oct 26, 2012 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 860254)
FED 9-1 PENALTY 4c. If a violation by a free thrower follows disconcertion by an opponent, a substitute free throw shall be awarded.

<s>9.1.3H, quoted above, says otherwise.</s>

Never mind, I see the difference now.

P90X is affecting my brain.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1