![]() |
Jump Ball Dysfunction
If both jumpers make legal attempts to tap the jump ball but miss contacting the ball on its way down and the ball drops to the floor untouched, I can understand how that would merit a "Do Over." Right?
However, what if both players whiff on their attempts to tap the ball and the ball strikes either one of them before it hits the floor? My understanding is that this does not merit a whistle and a rejump. Certainly not an elegant way to start the game or the overtime, but it's neither a violation or a cause for a "Do Over". Is that correct? Reason I'm asking is that, while watching tape today, I'm noticing rejumps being ordered when the second scenerio occurs. Any input? |
I would rejump. You sure like to overthink things...
|
I've seen that, too, and I agree there's no rule reason for it.
|
Depends of if "being touched by at least one of the jumpers" is the same as the ball touching one of the jumpers.
Active touch vs. passive touch. |
I'm Sorry. Just Disregard My Posts from Now On
Quote:
You're right. Usually I just don't care and only do this to get the paycheck while doing whatever I want the way I want regardless what anyone or anything says. :rolleyes: |
Quote:
|
Where Can I Get A Soapbox ???
Pretty difficult to have a dysfunctional coin flip.
(With some exceptions: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phil_Luckett ) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm. |