The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   interesting play (video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92763-interesting-play-video.html)

ballgame99 Thu Oct 25, 2012 03:04pm

interesting play (video)
 
I thought this was an interesting video. This is called a foul on the shot, but look at the push by the trailing offensive player that causes the contact. Since that push occurs before the shot is released, it should be no shot and foul on the offense?

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/LYBmRGABNqE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

bob jenkins Thu Oct 25, 2012 03:11pm

IF you call a foul on the white trailer, then you are correct as to the applicatin.

Raymond Thu Oct 25, 2012 03:33pm

IMO, W23 did indeed push B3. However since that push went undetected/uncalled there is definitely no way you can ignore B3's contact on shooter.

JetMetFan Thu Oct 25, 2012 05:53pm

Two thoughts:

First, the new L would've been able to see it had he made it to his position in time. For whatever reason it didn't look as though he was moving as fast as he could and then he got stuck in the no-man's land of "should I go to the end line or should I stop and look outside-in on this." Either way, he should've run straight to close down once he got to the end line since the ball was coming up the center of the court. Standing out in the A position by the arc doesn't do much on a play under the goal and he was straight-lined as the play moved to the top of the circle.

Second, I'm going back on forth on whether the C could've have seen this and I think it's possible. It appears as though he had a high enough angle when B3 contacted the shooter that he could've seen the push. I'm not saying it would've been easy but given that A1's primary defender went past him as he took off it's not as though the C was dealing with a block-charge situation.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 25, 2012 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 860130)
Two thoughts:

First, the new L would've been able to see it had he made it to his position in time. For whatever reason it didn't look as though he was moving as fast as he could and then he got stuck in the no-man's land of "should I go to the end line or should I stop and look outside-in on this." Either way, he should've run straight to close down once he got to the end line since the ball was coming up the center of the court. Standing out in the A position by the arc doesn't do much on a play under the goal and he was straight-lined as the play moved to the top of the circle.

Second, I'm going back on forth on whether the C could've have seen this and I think it's possible. It appears as though he had a high enough angle when B3 contacted the shooter that he could've seen the push. I'm not saying it would've been easy but given that A1's primary defender went past him as he took off it's not as though the C was dealing with a block-charge situation.

I don't think the lead could see this from any position if the lead is covering what he should be. At the moment when the push occurred the first defender was also cutting across the front of the shooter. That is most likely spot for a foul and would be the spot where the lead should be looking. From any position (A, B, or C) the lead probably wouldn't have the angle to see both that play and the trailing push.

The C, on the other had, would have had the angle to see the push and and the shot. The L didn't need the C's help to cover the initial play and the C would have not had a good look at that play anyway. The C would have been the only one that could have (and should have) called the push.

bob jenkins Fri Oct 26, 2012 07:33am

Even if L could have seen it, it's not likley that he would have been (or should have been) looking there. He has the shooter (did he travel?) the first defender (did he hit the arm on the way by?) and any potential contact by the second defender -- he's not going to be looking for a push on the second defneder by the trail offense.

JugglingReferee Fri Oct 26, 2012 08:20am

The C needs to get this.

The player going to the hoop is all L, and the C needs to be aware of that and officiate the next player/matchup that will cause an issue.

deecee Fri Oct 26, 2012 12:02pm

In this case the L would be responsible for the initial ball handler and any contact that may have there.

the C would be the best judge for any contact on the shooter here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1