![]() |
NCAA POI Question
I had a conversation with a fellow official today, and we couldn't come to a conclusion on this:
Can you have a POI with NCAA rules that results in you placing the ball at the division line? We were mostly thinking of technical fouls (admin or not). Obviously, you could have POI at the division line when the ball is located there when you need to use the POI. We were thinking in regards to a play that causes the ball to be placed at the division line due to the technical foul... Any help (rules or case citations)? |
Technical foul before the game has started.
|
Is that really POI though (the game hasn't been interrupted yet as it never started)?
What kind of a technical? Contact? Administrative? Verbal? Citation? |
Quote:
|
Flagrant technical foul.
|
From the rulebook...
4-53. Point of Interruption
Art. 2. Play shall be resumed after any appropriate penalty is administered or for any of the reasons listed in 4-53.1.a through .e by one of the following methods: b) A throw-in to the offended team (men) at the division line for a single contact dead ball technical or a single flagrant 2 technical and (women) a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred for a contact dead ball technical foul, an administrative technical for an excessive timeout or a single flagrant 2 technical foul. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am. |