![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I think the next question is whether the semantics matter. Sometimes they do, sometimes they don't. Here, I would lean towards saying they do.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Setting a screen with elbows high and wide is not a legal position, so any contact on those elbows is illegal. This is similar to a defensive player who takes a stationary position with one foot on an out-of-bounds boundary line. The position is not legal, so any contact that occurs is illegal contact caused by the defender. |
Quote:
The case play that some like to cite to support your claim involves a player actively guarding the opponent...meaning the player was moving to maintain LGP but loses it by stepping OOB. It doesn't support your claim at all. |
Ball handler and elbows
9-13-2. . . A player may extend arm(s) or elbow(s) to hold the ball under the chin or against the body.
So, A1 holds the ball as described, above, and B2, guarding A2 runs into A1's elbow. What do we have? (I've seen this, numerous times, and even with severe contact to the head of B2.) What judgement factors do you use regarding such contact? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Most of the time, a player only chins the ball when a defensive player is tring to swat at it. So, the chances of having a different defensive player run into the elbow are pretty slim, I would think. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Maybe even taking a misunderstanding of the college rule. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05am. |