The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in: Did I miss something? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92382-throw-did-i-miss-something.html)

The R Wed Sep 12, 2012 07:51am

Throw-in: Did I miss something?
 
OP. A1 is OOB following a made basket with full court pressure from team B. A1 attempts a long throw from under the backboard that clips the bottom side(not the back) of the backboard padding. The ball then ricochets inbounds.

From New Lead my partner signals a violation and declares team B ball.

During the next timeout he informs me that during a throw-in the only legal part of the backboard the ball may strike is the front. I told him I would have to look that one up as I had never heard of that rule.

So here is the fruit of my research. This case play does not specifically reference the "bottom" of the backboard however it does say face and sides.

2012-2013
Case book Page 72 9.2.2
Throw-in violations
Thrower A1: (c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2.
Ruling: The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.


Am I understand that he was wrong?

Adam Wed Sep 12, 2012 07:57am

Your partner was wrong twice.
1. Making this call when he's not the administering official.
2. Thinking this is a violation.

The only part of the backboard that's ever OOB is the back side. There are six sides to the backboard, only one is OOB.

Tell him to come here and argue it if he doesn't believe you.

asdf Wed Sep 12, 2012 08:26am

Wow,

The least he could have done is given you a ruling based on a myth. This one isn't even close.

Next time you see him listed as a partner, pull a hammy. ;)

Raymond Wed Sep 12, 2012 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The R (Post 854206)
OP. A1 is OOB following a made basket with full court pressure from team B. A1 attempts a long throw from under the backboard that clips the bottom side(not the back) of the backboard padding. The ball then ricochets inbounds.

From New Lead my partner signals a violation and declares team B ball.

During the next timeout he informs me that during a throw-in the only legal part of the backboard the ball may strike is the front. I told him I would have to look that one up as I had never heard of that rule.

So here is the fruit of my research. This case play does not specifically reference the "bottom" of the backboard however it does say face and sides.

2012-2013
Case book Page 72 9.2.2
Throw-in violations
Thrower A1: (c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2.
Ruling: The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.


Am I understand that he was wrong?

And what rules reference did your partner show you to demonstrate he was correct?

justacoach Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 854212)
And what rules reference did your partner show you to demonstrate he was correct?

I've often wondered how much sleep these a$$clowns miss while concocting these bogus interps.:eek:

JetMetFan Thu Sep 13, 2012 04:56pm

Wow. That's really all I can say. Wow.

A longtime official in my area likes to say some people turn the rue book into long division. This guy went all the way to Calculus.

letemplay Fri Sep 14, 2012 09:58am

Taking this sitch one step further
 
What if you are able to convince your partner the error of his ways (at the time of the play) ? What to do now? Give the ball back for another non-restricted throw in?

Adam Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 854438)
What if you are able to convince your partner the error of his ways (at the time of the play) ? What to do now? Give the ball back for another non-restricted throw in?

Depends on when he blew the whistle.

APG Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 854438)
What if you are able to convince your partner the error of his ways (at the time of the play) ? What to do now? Give the ball back for another non-restricted throw in?

Point of interruption

BktBallRef Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 854208)
The only part of the backboard that's ever OOB is the back side. There are six sides to the backboard, only one is OOB.


7 sides. :)

Adam Fri Sep 14, 2012 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 854478)
7 sides. :)

The Inside?

APG Fri Sep 14, 2012 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 854478)
7 sides. :)

What backboard are you playing with? :confused:

Adam Fri Sep 14, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 854509)
What backboard are you playing with? :confused:

They use a pentagon in North Carolina.

Rich Fri Sep 14, 2012 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 854478)
7 sides. :)

Number of layers of hell?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1