The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAAW Question... Can't find it in the book (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92070-ncaaw-question-cant-find-book.html)

jeschmit Wed Jul 18, 2012 08:10pm

NCAAW Question... Can't find it in the book
 
At camp this past weekend I had a situation come up. The only thing I wanted to find in the rule book, and of course I cannot find it for the life of me. Maybe someone out there can!

In NCAAW, if there is a contact dead ball technical foul, does the player who was hit/pushed/contacted shoot the free throws, or can anyone on the offended team shoot them? Where can I find that in the rule book specifically?

Thanks!

APG Wed Jul 18, 2012 08:15pm

Rule 8, Section 2

Art. 4. Technical fouls—The free throws awarded because of any technical foul may be attempted by any player or eligible team member on the offended team, who shall be designated by the head coach or captain of the offended team; however, the same player shall shoot both free throws.

jeschmit Wed Jul 18, 2012 08:21pm

Ok, that's what I thought as well... I had a partner try to tell me otherwise while we were on the court. Sadly, we went his way.

...At least the clinicians didn't notice! ;)

JetMetFan Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeschmit (Post 849449)
Ok, that's what I thought as well... I had a partner try to tell me otherwise while we were on the court. Sadly, we went his way.

...At least the clinicians didn't notice! ;)

You're lucky...

Do you know whether the partner in question is on a college staff?

jeschmit Thu Jul 19, 2012 06:17am

He was already on staff... and he was the veteran guy.

That's definitely something I need to work on; not allowing the veterans to push their lack of rules knowledge when I know something isn't right. I just always seem to trust them when something like this comes up :o

Raymond Thu Jul 19, 2012 07:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeschmit (Post 849472)
He was already on staff... and he was the veteran guy.

That's definitely something I need to work on; not allowing the veterans to push their lack of rules knowledge when I know something isn't right. I just always seem to trust them when something like this comes up :o

Had a similar situation this past weekend in camp. I insisted that the vet just trust me and go with my interp. And of course the vet never thanked me or acknowledged me when in the post-game comments the evaluator asked us about the play and then said "good, we got it right".

The_Rookie Thu Jul 19, 2012 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 849477)
Had a similar situation this past weekend in camp. I insisted that the vet just trust me and go with my interp. And of course the vet never thanked me or acknowledged me when in the post-game comments the evaluator asked us about the play and then said "good, we got it right".

Here I thought it was the coaches that were a PITA to us...Sad to see a fellow official act that way!:rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1