The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Checking for Correct Throw-in Spot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91932-checking-correct-throw-spot.html)

golfdesigner Tue Jul 03, 2012 07:28pm

Checking for Correct Throw-in Spot
 
Situation:
A1 to inbound ball following a violation at endline outside lane opposite table under A's basket. B44 fouls A23 before A1 releases the ball on the throw-in. We are not in the bonus. B44's foul is near division line table-side (opposite side of floor from the original throw-in spot).
Where should A's throw-in following reporting the foul? Rule references would be helpful.
Thanks
Happy Birthday America!!

rockyroad Tue Jul 03, 2012 08:25pm

Part of the penalty for committing a non-shooting foul is that the offended team gets a throw-in from the oob spot nearest where the foul took place. So the throw-in would be from near the division line, table-side.

rsl Tue Jul 03, 2012 10:59pm

Not exactly the OP, but very close.

7.5.7 SITUATION C: Team B has scored a field goal and A1 has the ball along
the end line for a throw-in. Team A is not in the bonus. Prior to the ball being
thrown inbounds by A1: (a) B1 fouls A2 inbounds near A1; (b) B1 fouls A2 at the
division line; (c) B1 fouls A2 beyond the division line; or (d) A2 requests a timeout.
RULING: In (a) and (d), Team A may throw-in from anywhere out of bounds
along the end line following the foul reporting and the time-out. In (b) and (c), the
ball will be given to Team A for a throw-in from the spot out of bounds nearest to
where the foul occurred.

BillyMac Wed Jul 04, 2012 08:34am

The Rocket Ship Diagram © 2009, Back In The Saddle ...
 
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7137/7...40b397d7_m.jpg

Adam Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by golfdesigner (Post 848104)
Situation:
A1 to inbound ball following a violation at endline outside lane opposite table under A's basket. B44 fouls A23 before A1 releases the ball on the throw-in. We are not in the bonus. B44's foul is near division line table-side (opposite side of floor from the original throw-in spot).
Where should A's throw-in following reporting the foul? Rule references would be helpful.
Thanks
Happy Birthday America!!

Where would you put the ball on play if A23 had fouled B44 instead?

mj Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848133)
Where would you put the ball on play if A23 had fouled B44 instead?

7-5-4a Designated spot closest to the foul after a team-control foul.

Adam Wed Jul 04, 2012 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mj (Post 848135)
7-5-4a Designated spot closest to the foul after a team-control foul.

I should have ended with, "that should answer your question."

CK Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by golfdesigner (Post 848104)
Situation:
A1 to inbound ball following a violation at endline outside lane opposite table under A's basket. B44 fouls A23 before A1 releases the ball on the throw-in. We are not in the bonus. B44's foul is near division line table-side (opposite side of floor from the original throw-in spot).
Where should A's throw-in following reporting the foul? Rule references would be helpful.
Thanks
Happy Birthday America!!

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 848109)
Part of the penalty for committing a non-shooting foul is that the offended team gets a throw-in from the oob spot nearest where the foul took place. So the throw-in would be from near the division line, table-side.

In a close game with little time left or at any time in a game , just more so in the prior rather than the latter, it seems that team A is penalized more by being moved further out from their own basket. Or maybe you can just call this smart defense.

tref Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CK (Post 848683)
In a close game with little time left or at any time in a game , just more so in the prior rather than the latter, it seems that team A is penalized more by being moved further out from their own basket. Or maybe you can just call this smart defense.

Or an INT/FF1 if the defender is obvious about what they are trying to accomplish by fouling prior to the throw-in ending.

Adam Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CK (Post 848683)
In a close game with little time left or at any time in a game , just more so in the prior rather than the latter, it seems that team A is penalized more by being moved further out from their own basket. Or maybe you can just call this smart defense.

Ball location isn't nearly the advantage in basketball that it is in football. Granted, some teams may have a tough throw-in play from under the basket, but any foul at the division line during such a throw-in is likely going to involve a throw towards the division line, indicating they weren't exactly using their genius throw-in play to begin with.

Obviously, the OP is a bit different in that it was before the TI pass was released. As tref noted, this may well be an intentional foul; or even possibly contact you want to pass on depending on whether it affects the play.

CK Tue Jul 10, 2012 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 848690)
Ball location isn't nearly the advantage in basketball that it is in football. Granted, some teams may have a tough throw-in play from under the basket, but any foul at the division line during such a throw-in is likely going to involve a throw towards the division line, indicating they weren't exactly using their genius throw-in play to begin with.

Obviously, the OP is a bit different in that it was before the TI pass was released. As tref noted, this may well be an intentional foul; or even possibly contact you want to pass on depending on whether it affects the play.

Agreed. I will pass on a call like this unless Int/FF1. I have seen and been with partners who have called this a common foul.

Adam Tue Jul 10, 2012 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CK (Post 848696)
Agreed. I will pass on a call like this unless Int/FF1. I have seen and been with partners who have called this a common foul.

I'll say there may be some cases where a CF is the proper call. This contact could be what prevents A1 from releasing the TI pass if he sees A2 can't get open. But for the most part, you don't get away from the ball fouls that far from the basket.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1