The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Nit Picking Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91845-nit-picking-question.html)

Adam Sun Jun 24, 2012 07:01pm

Nit Picking Question
 
I don't work many games with restraining lines, but I have a question for those who do.

Do you automatically use it on all throw-ins, or only the throw-ins where the defense is pressuring the thrower?

Scuba_ref Sun Jun 24, 2012 07:05pm

Only in situations where the player doesn't have three feet or so to back up. Other than that it is on the thrower-in to create space by backing up.

Adam Sun Jun 24, 2012 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scuba_ref (Post 847179)
Only in situations where the player doesn't have three feet or so to back up. Other than that it is on the thrower-in to create space by backing up.

No where was there three feet to back up; that's why they had a restraining line painted all the way around the court. My question is, do you automatically use it, or only when there's pressure?

SNIPERBBB Sun Jun 24, 2012 07:42pm

I would treat it the way your association treats the play where an inbounder steps onto the court with no pressure before releasing the ball.

Camron Rust Sun Jun 24, 2012 07:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 847184)
I would treat it the way your association treats the play where an inbounder steps onto the court with no pressure before releasing the ball.

What?

SNIPERBBB Sun Jun 24, 2012 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 847185)
What?

Referring to this play:

9.2.5 SITUATION A:

Thrower A1 inadvertently steps onto the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team.

RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b).

COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

rockyroad Sun Jun 24, 2012 08:23pm

Snaqs, use it on all throw-ins. That way when there is "pressure" you don't have to stop and inform everyone or anything.

Adam Sun Jun 24, 2012 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 847187)
Snaqs, use it on all throw-ins. That way when there is "pressure" you don't have to stop and inform everyone or anything.

Thanks, that's what I was thinking.

Adam Sun Jun 24, 2012 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 847184)
I would treat it the way your association treats the play where an inbounder steps onto the court with no pressure before releasing the ball.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 847185)
What?

I think what Camron meant was, how are these related?

Scuba_ref Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 847181)
No where was there three feet to back up; that's why they had a restraining line painted all the way around the court. My question is, do you automatically use it, or only when there's pressure?

My bad, I didn't realize you were referring to an actual physical line on the floor. We don't have any of those in our service area and only have to enforce it in certain situations with an imaginary line that we draw in the air. If it is painted on the floor then I would absolutely use it for every throw in.

Adam Sun Jun 24, 2012 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scuba_ref (Post 847197)
My bad, I didn't realize you were referring to an actual physical line on the floor. We don't have any of those in our service area and only have to enforce it in certain situations with an imaginary line that we draw in the air. If it is painted on the floor then I would absolutely use it for every throw in.

Sorry, I wasn't nearly as clear as I intended to be.

Camron Rust Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 847186)
Referring to this play:

9.2.5 SITUATION A:

Thrower A1 inadvertently steps onto the court inbounds. A1 immediately steps back into normal out-of-bounds throw-in position. The contact with the court was during a situation (a) with; or (b) without defensive pressure on the throw-in team.

RULING: A violation in both (a) and (b).

COMMENT: Whether or not there was defensive pressure or whether or not stepping on the court was inadvertent, it is a violation and no judgment is required in making the call.

Nice play, but what does it have to do with a temporary restraining line? All it is saying is a violation if a violation whether the defense causes it or not.

26 Year Gap Mon Jun 25, 2012 01:40pm

It is similar to the lines on shorter courts used for 10 second counts in that it disappears AFTER the throw-in is completed. The forward line disappears once it is cleared by the offensive team and the rea line becomes the BC line. Players cannot receive or steal an inbound pass in that zone. This is one of those exceptions to your standard pre-game meeting.;)

Adam Mon Jun 25, 2012 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 847253)
It is similar to the lines on shorter courts used for 10 second counts in that it disappears AFTER the throw-in is completed. The forward line disappears once it is cleared by the offensive team and the rea line becomes the BC line. Players cannot receive or steal an inbound pass in that zone. This is one of those exceptions to your standard pre-game meeting.;)

That would triple the length!

26 Year Gap Mon Jun 25, 2012 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 847255)
That would triple the length!

But it would shorten the length of the game because you wouldn't need to keep covering the same ground on inbound plays.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1