The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Memphis vs. Clippers Goal Tending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91116-memphis-vs-clippers-goal-tending.html)

Toren Thu May 10, 2012 12:21pm

Memphis vs. Clippers Goal Tending
 
APG is it possible to get a viewing of a goaltending call at about .11 seconds or .10 left in the third period. I believe CP3 stole the ball is driving and OJ Mayo blocks a potential lay up.

The C official comes in late and counts the basket as a GT.

Watching it live last night, I couldn't tell if the call was good or not, I remember I liked the way the C sold it though. But I also remember thinking he came from a long way away to count it.

APG Thu May 10, 2012 03:18pm

The official in the slot that made the call was Scott Foster. Anyhow, here's the play.


<iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/umM_9CjYv_Q" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="360" width="640"></iframe>

twocentsworth Thu May 10, 2012 03:39pm

as you would expect (at least 95% of the time for those NBA officials working the playoffs)....correct call.

tref Thu May 10, 2012 03:39pm

I liked it, in my experiences when a player lays the ball up right at/over the rim, its coming down.

Should've dunked it :eek:

APG Thu May 10, 2012 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 841181)
I liked it, in my experiences when a player lays the ball up right at/over the rim, its coming down.

Should've dunked it :eek:

That and it appears as though O.J. Mayo touched the ball while it was in the cylinder.

Camron Rust Thu May 10, 2012 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 841181)
I liked it, in my experiences when a player lays the ball up right at/over the rim, its coming down.

As APG implies, the direction of the ball doesn't matter once any part of the ball is over the rim. It is BI if it is going up or down. It is BI if it has hit the backboard or rim or neither. Being over the rim makes the ball untouchable (and it doesn't even have to be a try).

APG Thu May 10, 2012 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 841194)
As APG implies, the direction of the ball doesn't matter once any part of the ball is over the rim. It is BI if it is going up or down. It is BI if it has hit the backboard or rim or neither. Being over the rim makes the ball untouchable (and it doesn't even have to be a try).

Small note, this is goaltending violation either way under NBA rules...if the defense commmits what we'd call BI under NFHS/NCAA rules, it's still called a goaltend. BI is committed by the offense. Not really a huge point. ;)

Camron Rust Thu May 10, 2012 06:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 841209)
Small note, this is goaltending violation either way under NBA rules...if the defense commmits what we'd call BI under NFHS/NCAA rules, it's still called a goaltend. BI is committed by the offense. Not really a huge point. ;)

Thanks for the NBA vs. NCAA/NFHS distinction.

Toren Thu May 10, 2012 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 841209)
Small note, this is goaltending violation either way under NBA rules...if the defense commmits what we'd call BI under NFHS/NCAA rules, it's still called a goaltend. BI is committed by the offense. Not really a huge point. ;)

Thanks for posting the video.

Also thanks for the distinction....what's scary is the commentators got it right. I was thinking it was BI because it was above the cylinder.

APG Thu May 10, 2012 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 841228)
Thanks for posting the video.

Also thanks for the distinction....what's scary is the commentators got it right. I was thinking it was BI because it was above the cylinder.

When you have two distinct signals for BI and goaltending like the NBA does, it makes it makes it easier for fans and commentators to know the difference. You only see officials signal basket interference when the offense has committed, and goaltending signal whenever the defense has committed a violation.

JugglingReferee Fri May 11, 2012 09:07am

What a great call to make while on the sprint on a quick turnover.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1