The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 06:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Celtics play

APG, can you get the block charge from today's game at 6:58 in the 2nd?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 07:54pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Then please see if you can get Labron's drive to the basket with 5:18 left in the 3rd. It looked to me like he traveled (even under NBE rules) twice, once at the beginning of the drive and then again after he gathered the ball. The Celtics were complaining, too. Thanks.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 03:35am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890


__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 06:49am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Eeek.

I've got a PC and two travels, even by NBE standards.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 07:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 285
I see a PC and an easy travel call that my rec league middle school "officials" would spot 99% of the time.

There were some other questionable calls as well, I think in the 4th quarter Pierce took a what should have been a charge from Lebron that went as a no call. I can't recall the others.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 49
That travel is just horrible, even by NBA standards...
__________________
Dutch basketball ref
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 07:38am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,402
PC, but I'm not 100% sure on the travel at the end of Lebron's drive. Remember that the NBA changed their traveling rule to allow 2 steps after establishing a pivot foot. That means (I think) that you can establish a pivot foot, step with the other foot (thus lifting the pivot) and then step again (placing the pivot back on the floor) and this is legal.

And I think that's what Lebron did at the end of that drive. It's hard to see exactly when he gathers the ball, but I think he only steps twice after gathering.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by ref3808 View Post
I see a PC and an easy travel call that my rec league middle school "officials" would spot 99% of the time.
Lets complete that thought...
Wreck league middle school officials also spot travels that didnt occur.

That being said, looks like a tough ICC on the first play. How many times do we see defenders taking block/charge plays in the b/c??

And I dont see a travel off the pass, but after the gather he does take 3.



The day ANY of us has a perfect game we should retire. Leave on a "high note" like George Costanza.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 08:59am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
PC, but I'm not 100% sure on the travel at the end of Lebron's drive. Remember that the NBA changed their traveling rule to allow 2 steps after establishing a pivot foot. That means (I think) that you can establish a pivot foot, step with the other foot (thus lifting the pivot) and then step again (placing the pivot back on the floor) and this is legal.

And I think that's what Lebron did at the end of that drive. It's hard to see exactly when he gathers the ball, but I think he only steps twice after gathering.
Since the right foot was last to touch, and therefore would be the step to possibly rule as a travel, the question becomes is the left on the ground when he gathered the ball.

I think it is. In fact, I think he has two hands on the ball when the left is still touching the floor.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 09:02am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
The only was that there is no travel at the beginning of LeBron's possession, is if the NBE dribble step allotment is identical to the shot allotment.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 09:44am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,891
Wasn't he fouled? If he is fouled before he travels and it looks like that based on that would be the only contact that would negate any travel. They did not show the angle from the official's point of view so I am wondering how much of a foul it was, but it appears a foul was called in real time on the right arm while LeBron is in the act of shooting. It may have actually been a travel first, but it appears the call was about a foul as a result. What would have been a better question is should the basket could on a foul where the player "travels" after being fouled?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Wasn't he fouled? If he is fouled before he travels and it looks like that based on that would be the only contact that would negate any travel. They did not show the angle from the official's point of view so I am wondering how much of a foul it was, but it appears a foul was called in real time on the right arm while LeBron is in the act of shooting. It may have actually been a travel first, but it appears the call was about a foul as a result. What would have been a better question is should the basket could on a foul where the player "travels" after being fouled?

Peace

Yes, travel did not occur until after the hit on the arm. I tend to believe that if you did/do not call the travel why negate the foul called. Thus, count the basket.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 10:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
Yes, travel did not occur until after the hit on the arm. I tend to believe that if you did/do not call the travel why negate the foul called. Thus, count the basket.
If a player in the act of shooting gets fouled and then travels before releasing the shot then you should wipe the basket and award 2 free-throws.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
I'll agree with most on the travel, but disagree with most on the PC.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 11, 2012, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
If a player in the act of shooting gets fouled and then travels before releasing the shot then you should wipe the basket and award 2 free-throws.
BNR,

I understand that. I knew you would come along to make sure I knew it..
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Celtics/Hornets Scrapper1 Basketball 5 Fri Dec 30, 2011 02:01pm
Celtics vs Magic AKOFL Basketball 1 Thu May 07, 2009 09:50am
Bulls vs Celtics bas2456 Basketball 53 Mon May 04, 2009 11:45am
Lakers/Celtics jimpiano Basketball 28 Sun Jun 22, 2008 07:03pm
Rockets & Celtics Splute Basketball 15 Tue Feb 27, 2007 03:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1