The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Call on the court = PC. What do you have? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/90457-call-court-pc-what-do-you-have.html)

JetMetFan Fri Apr 06, 2012 07:58am

Call on the court = PC. What do you have?
 
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/d-PXhOUuQDE?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

StlCards Fri Apr 06, 2012 08:06am

Looks like a block to me.

truerookie Fri Apr 06, 2012 08:31am

Block!!

Toren Fri Apr 06, 2012 09:06am

I'm alright with either PC or block here. It's a bang bang 50/50 play.

This crew could have supported each other better, that L had a chance in this play to hold up a fist for a double and in the other play it's the same L, she almost signaled charge when the C called a Block.

Jeremy Hohn Fri Apr 06, 2012 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 836058)
I'm alright with either PC or block here. It's a bang bang 50/50 play.

This crew could have supported each other better, that L had a chance in this play to hold up a fist for a double and in the other play it's the same L, she almost signaled charge when the C called a PC.

many times in pregame we discuss in Women's games that a play originating from C side is C's call all the way due to the larger coverage requirements for the lead in the Women's game.

I don't have a problem with Cameron leaving that to the C in that situation. As far as the call goes? Either way. Little movement from the Defensive player sideways, but the contact was clearly taken in the center of the torso.

ballgame99 Fri Apr 06, 2012 09:14am

Its hard to tell with some college officials, but did the L even have a whistle here?

I like the PC, defender was in position for a while, and made a slight slide at the end to maintain LGP.

Adam Fri Apr 06, 2012 09:28am

PC, again, the defender is moving back and to her right after having established LGP. This one is even more solid than the other one, as the shooter never goes airborne prior to contact.

Easy PC.

I'll add that after this PC, I would have liked to see the crew go with a PC on the other play as well.

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 836058)
This crew could have supported each other better, that L had a chance in this play to hold up a fist for a double and in the other play it's the same L, she almost signaled charge when the C called a PC.

Why should the L have a whistle here? The play isnt in the paint.
This play happens at the end of the 1st half, the other play is at the end of the game. The Ls discipline is better in this play than on the one she was going to punch.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 836065)
Its hard to tell with some college officials, but did the L even have a whistle here?

I like the PC, defender was in position for a while, and made a slight slide at the end to maintain LGP.

Its more hard to tell with some HS officials. Why should the L call across the paint when the C has the drive to the rack?
Your last sentence makes no sense... unless you meant to say "made a slight slide at the end to ATTEMPT to maintain LGP.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 836069)
PC, again, the defender is moving back and to her right after having established LGP. This one is even more solid than the other one, as the shooter never goes airborne prior to contact.

Easy PC.

I'll add that after this PC, I would have liked to see the crew go with a PC on the other play as well.

The defenders legs are shoulder width apart when the contact occurs?

Adam Fri Apr 06, 2012 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836071)
Why should the L have a whistle here? The play isnt in the paint.
This play happens at the end of the 1st half, the other play is at the end of the game. The Ls discipline is better in this play than on the one she was going to punch.



Its more hard to tell with some HS officials. Why should the L call across the paint when the C has the drive to the rack?
Your last sentence makes no sense... unless you meant to say "made a slight slide at the end to ATTEMPT to maintain LGP.



The defenders legs are shoulder width apart when the contact occurs?

No, she was still sliding; it's impossible to slide and keep your legs shoulder width apart; but sliding is specifically allowed and this contact is pretty square on the torso (not the only part that matters, but it's the defining factor here, IMO.)

And the foot that's not within her frame is her trail foot; her body caught up with her lead foot, IOW.

ballgame99 Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836071)
Its more hard to tell with some HS officials. Why should the L call across the paint when the C has the drive to the rack?
Your last sentence makes no sense... unless you meant to say "made a slight slide at the end to ATTEMPT to maintain LGP.

I just know around here if there is a whistle, there is a fist/hand in the air. I don't always see that with college guys.

I don't have a lot of experience in 3 man, so you answered my question, I take it this was C's call all the way.

And I'm saying she would not have maintained LGP if she had left her feet where they were and just leaned over, then it would be a clear block. I felt like she slide her feet over enough to maintain LGP.

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:03am

Defenders are either doing the splits or they are moving to maintain LGP, cant do both & get the p/c.

Adam Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836075)
Defenders are either doing the splits or they are moving to maintain LGP, cant do both & get the p/c.

I disagree that she was doing the splits. These are normal movements associated with sliding to maintain position. If having her leg extended briefly in the process negates her LGP, then you may as well remove the rule that allows the defender to be moving at the point of contact.

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:13am

Fair enough, I'm just saying that the defender wasnt legal with her legs that wide when the contact occurs. She was a step late & sliding to her right was the cause of the crash.

Toren Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836071)
Why should the L have a whistle here? The play isnt in the paint.

A delayed whistle to support the call. No signal, just fist up. I think it gives the call more validity.

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:39am

Totally agree... if the play were in the paint.

Toren Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836085)
Totally agree... if the play were in the paint.

So what happens when the C completely chokes on his whistle and everyone in the gym thinks there should have been a call? Coach says Tref, why didn't you have a whistle?

Welpe Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:49am

Contact in the torso, defender got there in time. Put me down for a PC on this one too.

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 836089)
So what happens when the C completely chokes on his whistle and everyone in the gym thinks there should have been a call? Coach says Tref, why didn't you have a whistle?

Whoa ~~ If you're going to change up the play then I'm going to need some notice. I was speaking on the play at hand.
A coach isn't going to say that because if the play happens as you describe, I will have a late whistle.

Toren Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836091)
Whoa ~~ If you're going to change up the play then I'm going to need some notice. I was speaking on the play at hand.
A coach isn't going to say that because if the play happens as you describe, I will have a late whistle.

Let's say this exact same play, but no whistle from the C. I won't change it completely :D

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 836092)
Let's say this exact same play, but no whistle from the C. I won't change it completely :D

Ok then the L needs to apply the 3 B's & call the obvious.

Camron Rust Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:51am

Block...defender was never in the shooter's path....was still moving into it at the time of contact.

JRutledge Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:26pm

PC foul for me. The defender got in the path before the shooter went airborne and got run over.

Peace

JugglingReferee Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:49pm

PC. Correct call on the court.

canuckrefguy Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:56pm

Block.

Bad Zebra Fri Apr 06, 2012 01:12pm

I'm in PC camp here. Defender appeared to have LGP...slide was legal. SLow mo shows it to be more marginal but what ices it for me is Doris Burke disagreeing with the call on the floor.

fullor30 Fri Apr 06, 2012 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by camron rust (Post 836109)
block...defender was never in the shooter's path....was still moving into it at the time of contact.

+1+1+1

Jeremy Hohn Fri Apr 06, 2012 02:21pm

Guys, I'm telling you if you put a whistle on this play from where lead is outside the paint opposite, you will get baked at a camp. Let C take it.

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn (Post 836137)
Guys, I'm telling you if you put a whistle on this play from where lead is outside the paint opposite, you will get baked at a camp. Let C take it.

"You did well, I'd like to get you on my staff, come back next year."

What it really means: "You dont have game discipline yet. Thanks for the check & write me one next summer too."

BLydic Fri Apr 06, 2012 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836080)
Fair enough, I'm just saying that the defender wasnt legal with her legs that wide when the contact occurs. She was a step late & sliding to her right was the cause of the crash.

I see what you are saying about the width of the defender, but I don't understand how can a defender be a step late and take the brunt of the contact in the torso. It wasn't the lower level contact that knocked her down.

I'm liking the PC call made.

JRutledge Fri Apr 06, 2012 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn (Post 836137)
Guys, I'm telling you if you put a whistle on this play from where lead is outside the paint opposite, you will get baked at a camp. Let C take it.

The contact took place in the lane BTW. And that would depend on what camp you are going to. Men's basketball has asked for the Lead to make these calls and we even have been said to defer to the Lead on these plays. I am not going to camps where officials are getting baked, they are getting praised for the Lead to make these calls and certainly with the contact in the lane.

Peace

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 06, 2012 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 836065)
Defender was in position for a while, and made a slight slide at the end to give up LGP.

FIFY.

Block, easy.

Camron Rust Fri Apr 06, 2012 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836143)
The contact took place in the lane BTW.
Peace

The contact was not in the lane. Both the defender and the shooter were fully outside the lane on the C's side at point of contact.

(you might consider the defender's heel to be on the lane line but that really isn't enough to say the contact took place in the lane)

tref Fri Apr 06, 2012 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 836152)
The contact was not in the lane. Both the defender and the shooter were fully outside the lane on the C's side at point of contact.

I thought JRut was using the RA principle (on the line is in the lane) :D

Camron Rust Fri Apr 06, 2012 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 836141)
I see what you are saying about the width of the defender, but I don't understand how can a defender be a step late and take the brunt of the contact in the torso. It wasn't the lower level contact that knocked her down.

I'm liking the PC call made.

The defender was still moving into the path...she never made it fully into the shooters line and the block was more of a glancing blow. Note the directions the players fall. The shooter deflects back to the outside relative to her path and the defender falls to the inside relative to the shooter's path. That tells me the defender never made it into the path.

JRutledge Fri Apr 06, 2012 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 836152)
The contact was not in the lane. Both the defender and the shooter were fully outside the lane on the C's side at point of contact.

(you might consider the defender's heel to be on the lane line but that really isn't enough to say the contact took place in the lane)

Well you need to go back and look at it, because the defender was in the lane, then moved to cut off the ball handler. The contact took place with the defender with a foot (left) on the floor in the lane. The defender was still coming forward and then her feet were eventually out of the lane, but landed on the floor completely in the lane. Now in Men's mechanics they want the Lead to watch that defender as they were coming over as secondary help to stop the drive. Maybe this is a Women's college thing, but that is a play they want the Lead to call or focus on as the competitive match-up is coming at them. It does not mean the C cannot make this call or make a call, but they do not want the Lead to just ignore this contact. To me outside the lane means the contact, player and everyone was outside the lane when the play took place. The play certainly originated outside the lane, but ended up there no matter how you want to split hairs. When both players are laying in the lane, it did not take place completely outside the lane either.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Apr 06, 2012 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836158)
To me outside the lane means the contact, player and everyone was outside the lane when the play took place. The play certainly originated outside the lane, but ended up there no matter how you want to split hairs. When both players are laying in the lane, it did not take place completely outside the lane either.

Peace

While I agree this is the lead's call to make (defender rotated from lead's primary), you should go back and look at that video again. Your description doesn't match the facts. The point of contact was outside the lane and the shooter never even contacted the lane or had any part of her body over the lane, at any time, much less was laying in the lane.

Either way, it is a block.

Camron Rust Fri Apr 06, 2012 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836114)
PC foul for me. The defender got in the path before the shooter went airborne and got run over.
Peace

You said PC earlier but then you describe a block...

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836158)
Well you need to go back and look at it, because the defender was in the lane, then moved to cut off the ball handler. The contact took place with the defender with a foot (left) on the floor in the lane. The defender was still coming forward and then her feet were eventually out of the lane, but landed on the floor completely in the lane.
Peace

Which one is it?

bainsey Fri Apr 06, 2012 04:21pm

Meanwhile, the myth-pushing analyst insists it's a block, "because (she's) coming from such a long way." Grrr...

JRutledge Fri Apr 06, 2012 04:22pm

Camron,

The second comment was about why the Lead would have that player and make a call, not necessarily what I believe the call should be. And yes the defender was coming forward which they can legally do until contact takes place.

Peace

JetMetFan Fri Apr 06, 2012 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836143)
that would depend on what camp you are going to. Men's basketball has asked for the Lead to make these calls and we even have been said to defer to the Lead on these plays.

JRut, to qualify Jeremy's earlier comment it's the NCAAW camps where you'd get killed for being the primary on this as the L.

If Notre Dame had been in a half-court offense and Diggins had beaten a defender then the contact took place where it did, NCAAW says the L can double it to help with the second defender but it's still the C's primary. Since this play started from midcourt it's on the C to take it to the hoop.

JRutledge Fri Apr 06, 2012 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 836168)
JRut, to qualify Jeremy's earlier comment it's the NCAAW camps where you'd get killed for being the primary on this as the L.

If Notre Dame had been in a half-court offense and Diggins had beaten a defender then the contact took place where it did, NCAAW says the L can double it to help with the second defender but it's still the C's primary. Since this play started from midcourt it's on the C to take it to the hoop.

It very much matters what kind of camp you are referring to as the HS and NCAAM's camps in my experience those camps would want the lead to not pass on this amount of contact where it took place. Now if the two players were totally on the other side of the lane, different story all together. Of course this is the C's primary and the play originated from the C's area.

Peace

BillyMac Fri Apr 06, 2012 06:35pm

That's What I Would Call ...
 
Player control foul.

HawkeyeCubP Fri Apr 06, 2012 09:44pm

Block in person (it was coming right at me), and block now.

7IronRef Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836143)
The contact took place in the lane BTW. And that would depend on what camp you are going to. Men's basketball has asked for the Lead to make these calls and we even have been said to defer to the Lead on these plays. I am not going to camps where officials are getting baked, they are getting praised for the Lead to make these calls and certainly with the contact in the lane.

Peace

By this very comment, contact in the lane, men's ball, this is the L's call = block. The defender came from the L's primary, was moving into the path of the offense, and the L had the best look.

I happen to know someone very close to the 3 officials on the game. It is my understanding that the L had a block, but the C (Jones) had a quick whistle on the play, and it was a good thing the L (Mattingly) didn't get a chance to make the call.

By the way, talk about ego's on the floor for that game!

HawkeyeCubP Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 836208)
By this very comment, contact in the lane, men's ball, this is the L's call = block. The defender came from the L's primary, was moving into the path of the offense, and the L had the best look.

I happen to know someone very close to the 3 officials on the game. It is my understanding that the L had a block, but the C (Jones) had a quick whistle on the play, and it was a good thing the L (Mattingly) didn't get a chance to make the call.

By the way, talk about ego's on the floor for that game!

The play in the OP is from the ND-Uconn semi-final. Mattingly and Jones were on the championship game. Are you talking about a play from that game?

7IronRef Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 836210)
The play in the OP is from the ND-Uconn semi-final. Mattingly and Jones were on the championship game. Are you talking about a play from that game?

Mattingly reference was in regard to the Cship, not the play in the OP. Got off on a bit of a tangent:eek:

Jeremy Hohn Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 836208)
B

By the way, talk about ego's on the floor for that game!

Unless you have meet the officials personally, which I have, be hesitant to label people based on what you see on the court. All of them have been very helpful and instructional to me when in front of them. IMO.

7IronRef Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn (Post 836214)
Unless you have meet the officials personally, which I have, be hesitant to label people based on what you see on the court. All of them have been very helpful and instructional to me when in front of them. IMO.

Met Jones and Kantner, terrific teachers and very supportive. On the floor is different attitude.

My source is pretty good, but cannot divulge.

JugglingReferee Sat Apr 07, 2012 05:24am

If you'd like something fun to watch, check this link out...

It's the two videos side by side!


UConn ND PC or not PC vs. UConn ND Block or no Block? by VJ JugglingReferee | YouTube Doubler | Mashup Helper

JugglingReferee Sat Apr 07, 2012 05:27am

If I was the lady in the nice red dress, I'd like to know how the plays are different. Are they that dissimilar that they warrant different calls?

JetMetFan Sat Apr 07, 2012 10:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn (Post 836214)
Unless you have meet the officials personally, which I have, be hesitant to label people based on what you see on the court. All of them have been very helpful and instructional to me when in front of them. IMO.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 836217)
Met Jones and Kantner, terrific teachers and very supportive. On the floor is different attitude.

My source is pretty good, but cannot divulge.

I was actually hoping to post some plays from the championship game. Unfortunately the video quality from ESPN360 wasn't the best.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1