The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The Lead or the Center could call this. The Trail could but they are probably too far as it seems like a quick change or transition.

Peace
I can agree the Lead or Center should/could call this. I would give Lead first crack at it since it was a secondary defender stepping up to take the contact..
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Pretty easy block from my video view, I'm calling it
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 354
Send a message via AIM to Jeremy Hohn Send a message via Yahoo to Jeremy Hohn
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie View Post
I can agree the Lead or Center should/could call this. I would give Lead first crack at it since it was a secondary defender stepping up to take the contact..

Lead wouldn't see the angle of the defender on this play. C has the open look. On plays like this in women's floor coverage, this is a C play to judge.
__________________
www.pbboa.org
www.gsoa.org
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn View Post
Lead wouldn't see the angle of the defender on this play. C has the open look. On plays like this in women's floor coverage, this is a C play to judge.
Is that exclusive or inclusive? The secondary defend steps into the dual coverage area from the Lead half of the court. Since open looks are being discussed. The C doesn't have a good look at the play. From her current position appears to be straight lined as it is being finished at the rim. I would have liked to see the Center take a couple of steps toward the endline. This would have opened the look up more.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn View Post
Lead wouldn't see the angle of the defender on this play. C has the open look. On plays like this in women's floor coverage, this is a C play to judge.
Agreed, the L can see the lateral movement, but not verticality. L should not make a call here, just like they shouldn't call rebounding fouls from behind. Same principle.
Although the C didnt position adjust, I thought the C had the best opportunity here as the T isnt in the screen shot.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 03:30pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hohn View Post
Lead wouldn't see the angle of the defender on this play. C has the open look. On plays like this in women's floor coverage, this is a C play to judge.
Maybe that is why they get so many plays wrong then IMO? It seems they are trying to fit a coverage area into a game that does not suit their game in the first place.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I'm ok with the no call - mostly because the block did not affect the shot at all - but I would be ok with block too, as the defender never stops moving forward. Definitely not a charge.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I'm ok with the no call - mostly because the block did not affect the shot at all - but I would be ok with block too, as the defender never stops moving forward. Definitely not a charge.
I think a block would've been called if the T got back & had the same look we have.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 04:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I'm ok with the no call - mostly because the block did not affect the shot at all - but I would be ok with block too, as the defender never stops moving forward. Definitely not a charge.
The contact still affected the movement both players. I think you have to call something there. Part of the reason they put that restricted area on the floor in the first place was to have these kinds of plays be called.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
this is a foul on the offensive player....

I will give a "pass" to the Lead on this one..(wink, wink, nod, nod)...it was hard for her to see the play as she was watching the flight of the ball!!!!!

she must be related to Ed Hightower.....
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 06:41pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,690
Lean On Me ...

Block. The defender moves forward.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Thumbs down Do you call three seconds from the T?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
I think a block would've been called if the T got back & had the same look we have.
Why in hell would the T have a whistle on this play?

The drive originates in the C's PCA.

The collision is in the middle of the lane.

There is no part of this play that the T has any business blowing.

It's the L or C's call all the way.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2012, 09:24pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
The C should'n't have been so happy with the spot their feet were planted after getting back to the starting area after the turnover when the drive started. The C should've been moving with the drive (some way to see an angle on this secondary defender play).

The T isn't at any kind of fault here. This was a turnover in transition with the ball not even getting to the division line. They were doing their job getting down court, and the drive happened immediately after the turnover.

The L, due to pinching and thinking about starting a rotation because of where the new offensive player is (and is looking like driving) - all correct things to think and do, IMO (maybe wait just a beat longer in case they do/did drive immediately), gets herself straightlined by bad luck here, and can't see (well) the defender moving toward the shooter.

This would've been a great C call. And I have a block.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2012, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
I agree with the no call, but there should have been a travel first.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2012, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Travel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar's Ghost View Post
I agree with the no call, but there should have been a travel first.
No travel there. She gathered the ball with both feet in the air then her right foot (pivot) came down and she took off from her left foot.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'll match your Billy Packer with two Doris Burkes Juulie Downs Basketball 11 Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:28am
I have finally agreed with McCarver aceholleran Baseball 18 Tue Aug 11, 2009 08:00pm
Opinion on interference call eppyjerk Softball 4 Sun Mar 30, 2008 04:05pm
Ball in play, but team's 6th man still on court. GregAlan Basketball 9 Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:27am
Is there such a call as back court? CoaachJF Basketball 6 Thu Feb 27, 2003 08:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1