The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ohio State v. Kansas (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/90363-ohio-state-v-kansas.html)

APG Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:17am

Ohio State v. Kansas
 
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/cBjy3tPTqTI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The travel call with less than a minute left.

icallfouls Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:01pm

Didn't like the call. There were bigger traveling calls in the game that didn't get called, then they call this.

Was hoping for an OSU win, but still thought it was an ICC.

canuckrefguy Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:23pm

You know what - I think he DID travel.

You know what else? Only one person out of of the 74,000 in the building saw it, or cared.

Proof that even the big dogs have whistles they want back after the dust has settled.

APG Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:44pm

Still not seeing the travel...at worst I have a legal jump stop.

truerookie Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:50pm

Its really hard to tell with with all the feet movement towards the basket. I would have rather had the C or T get that one.

Adam Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 835232)
Still not seeing the travel...at worst I have a legal jump stop.

At worst, I thought he jumped off the right and landed on his right; not a legal jump stop. My little screen doesn't do it justice, though. I'd love to see what the calling official thinks of this call after watching the replay. Curiously, is he the one who called the lane violation on Craft?

SAJ Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:03pm

looks like his footwork was right, right, then left....travel

APG Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 835234)
At worst, I thought he jumped off the right and landed on his right; not a legal jump stop. My little screen doesn't do it justice, though. I'd love to see what the calling official thinks of this call after watching the replay. Curiously, is he the one who called the lane violation on Craft?

First off, I have the player clearly gathering the ball while both feet are off the floor. But even if we were to say he gathered the ball while having the right foot on the floor, his feet his closely enough that I would have judged it to be simultaneously.

And that free throw violation was clear and obvious and I hope any competent official positioned at the C would call that.

Adam Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 835237)
First off, I have the player clearly gathering the ball while both feet are off the floor. But even if we were to say he gathered the ball while having the right foot on the floor, his feet his closely enough that I would have judged it to be simultaneously.

And that free throw violation was clear and obvious and I hope any competent official positioned at the C would call that.

My computer screen doesn't give me a good clear video (little netbook until we can get a new one), so I can't see which foot lands first (or if they're simultaneous), or if the ball is caught with one foot down or not. I'm merely giving some benefit to the calling official due to my own lack of clarity.

As for the violation. I agree completely. That was just a question of curiosity, nothing more. Not trying to imply it was some sort of phantom make-up call. Officials at that level don't do those; not if they ever want a shot at working another game at that level.

Adam Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:23pm

That said, there was a pretty blatant spin move travel that wasn't called earlier, and those missed calls tend to even out in the end.

Johnny Ringo Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:28pm

Is there a video posted of FT violation called against Craft?

He clearly broke the plane before ball got to rim, but doesn't he have to touch before ball hits rim?

APG Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 835242)
Is there a video posted of FT violation called against Craft?

He clearly broke the plane before ball got to rim, but doesn't he have to touch before ball hits rim?

Nope

NCAA
Rule 9
Art. 2. After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower:
c. The free-thrower shall not break the vertical plane of the free-throw line with either foot until the ball strikes the ring, flange or backboard or until the free throw ends.

For completeness sake

NFHS
Rule 9
ART. 3 . . . After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower:
e. The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the edge of the free-throw line which is farther from the basket or the free throw semicircle line.

NBA
Rule 9
b. The free throw shooter may not step over the plane of the free throw line until the ball touches the basket ring, backboard or the free throw ends.
PENALTY:
This is a violation by the shooter on all free throw attempts and no point can be scored.

Adam Sun Apr 01, 2012 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 835242)
Is there a video posted of FT violation called against Craft?

He clearly broke the plane before ball got to rim, but doesn't he have to touch before ball hits rim?

Nope, the restrictions along the lane include not breaking the plane of the lane line with the foot. He may not have known that (I'm assuming that's why he was complaining so long).

brainbrian Sun Apr 01, 2012 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 835242)
Is there a video posted of FT violation called against Craft?

There is a video at: VIDEO: Aaron Craft's Lane Violation Leads To Confusing Ending - SBNation.com

If you pause the video at the right spot you can clearly see Craft across the line well before the ball hits the rim.

I do wonder if Ohio St was confused at the end or had given up at that point. They didn't seem to put much pressure on Kansas to get a quick steal or a 5 second count. I believe they were out of time-outs at that point though to set anything up.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:55pm

I am going to preface my remarks with a:

ROCK CHOCK JAYHAWK!! GO Kayyy UUUUU!!

That said, I want to know why the L made this call when he had a bunch of players in front of him and the KU player came down the C's side of the court.

MTD, Sr.

canuckrefguy Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 835314)
I am going to preface my remarks with a:

ROCK CHOCK JAYHAWK!! GO Kayyy UUUUU!!

That said, I want to know why the L made this call when he had a bunch of players in front of him and the KU player came down the C's side of the court.

MTD, Sr.

I think Luckie could see fine, given the angle he appears to be at. Unfortunately it was a hair-splitter, ticky-tack call. Fortunately, it did not turn out to be "the" call.

BTW - Kentucky by 15. Sorry.

doubleringer Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 835233)
Its really hard to tell with with all the feet movement towards the basket. I would have rather had the C or T get that one.

I'm with you on this one again. Why is the lead going across the paint and calling play that happened borderline outside of the lane and up on hte 3rd block?

tref Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:16pm

Wow!
If he did travel, its so slight it probably falls under "right call, wrong time."
If he didnt travel, now its "wrong call, terrible time."
Either way this is a GI.

Why does he come 17' off the endline though? :D

katie118 Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:30pm

It was clear that his right foot touched the ground a little before he released the shot, so traveling was the right call.

Traveling is usually not called in this situation because the step and the release are so close and its hard for the refs to watch the shooter's foot and hands at the same time

katie118 Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 835387)

Why does he come 17' off the endline though? :D

I was wondering that too. I guess he knew it was a big call and he wanted to look important

tref Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by katie118 (Post 835391)
I was wondering that too. I guess he knew it was a big call and he wanted to look important

Oh is that what it was.
I thought they were switching on violations or something :D

APG Mon Apr 02, 2012 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by katie118 (Post 835390)
It was clear that his right foot touched the ground a little before he released the shot, so traveling was the right call.

Traveling is usually not called in this situation because the step and the release are so close and its hard for the refs to watch the shooter's foot and hands at the same time

I guess I'm not seeing what you're seeing. :confused: Not sure how you can say it was clear but to each their own.

truerookie Mon Apr 02, 2012 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 835445)
I guess I'm not seeing what you're seeing. :confused: Not sure how you can say it was clear but to each their own.

I agree, I looked at that play another 20 times and could not see what was stated. Too many feet...

tref Mon Apr 02, 2012 04:59pm

^^ Especially from the L.

Toren Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:45pm

I got nothing on this play.

I thought travel was 2 1/2 times around on the forearms, this looked like 35 times :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1