![]() |
Two for the new guys...and even some old guys :)
These are pretty clear cut but I wanted to put them up as teaching moments, especially for less-experienced officials.
This one shows why we should hold true to our PCA and trust our partners: <iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/L70U6BbiBaU?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> With this one, based on the criteria in 5-8-2 (NOTE) should the play have been stopped? <iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/p7mG4jNgdVw?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
First play is just bad all around. L should of rotated on the trap.
Second play...possible severity of the injury I have no problem stopping. Btw its 5-8-2 |
I'd love the C's angle on the first play. I'm not convinced the T got it wrong, though.
|
Quote:
|
Two......
or end a sentence with a preposition.;)
of course, I'm not one to talk as many times as I have been corrected on the forum........ where is mister grammar guy anyhow? |
The first play I have a PC foul or nothing. And likely nothing as no one got knocked over and the defense did their job.
The second play I guess it really depends on how much of an injury this was, but unless I see this kid bleeding, I probably would wait until the basket was attacked or stopped being attacked. Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
First play, that's a play on...it certainly wasn't a block IMO. As for the second play, the official had rules justification if he truly thought the player was seriously injured. I personally wouldn't have stopped play in the situation, but better safe than sorry I suppose. |
These games are being played at Georgetown Prep in Bethesda, MD, which is just outside of DC. That is IAABO Board 12 territory. I don't know if that is who is supplying the officials for the event or if the tourney has brought in other people. Anyone know?
|
wasted motion
On the second play, did anyone notice the slot official tread water about 3 counts while he provided a totally unwarranted 'foul tip' mechanic?
|
First play...block. The defender was sliding sideways but never made it into the shooter's path....almost, but not quite. The T got it right, even if it wasn't his call to make (he should have let the C have it or the L...and the L should have been over there).
Second play....let the initial attack complete. If they shoot it or pull it back out, blow the whistle. No need to stop it immediately as the player is in no danger of getting more injured. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Agree on the second play - unless the kid lands directly on his head or something. |
Quote:
As I said earlier, I know he didn't have anything going on in front of him, meaning he can expand his vision, but he shouldn't be the first - and only - whistle on that play. Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
2nd clip: it's a safety thing. Stopping the game is rarely, if not never, a bad call. My call would have been to allow an immediate attack to the basket. |
Quote:
Peace |
The first play, whether the call is correct or not isnt the issue, at least give the primary official a crack at it!
No blood, no bone = no stopage Just because he blew his chance at a highlight play, we stop the potential highlight on the other end?? |
Quote:
|
The first play is a no call.......another example of someone trying to be a superstar....justt stay off the play. Someone did mention in a earlier post that their should have been a rotation which I agree with 100%.....
|
Play 1: definitely need a rotation, play starts with a trap in the corner opposite the L and he's just chilling opposite. Then the ball goes to the elbow and he's still chilling opposite. And then we have the trail making the call long distance.
Wow, this was a pretty lousy play from the officials stand point. Play 2: Both the L and the C use the deflected ball nonverbal mechanic. I didn't like the timing of the mechanic, at that point it was way too early and nobody seemed to question it. And someone definitely could have come in late with a whistle. I also would have stayed away from blowing the play dead until the fast break ended. With that being said, the official who did blow it dead, didn't seem to think the kid was in any real danger since it takes forever for the staff to get to him. There was no urgency whatsoever. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am. |